We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Nearby Hotels
$59
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hospederia el Caravansar(Frigiliana)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Costamar(Torrox)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Complejo Laguna Beach(Costa del Sol)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Hotel Palacio Blanco(Velez-Malaga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
136
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal restaurantsfinca el cerrillosecond visitwalking holidayhonesty barpainting holidaymalaga airportcarob treeother guestsstunning viewsmany timesmulti levelevening meals areswimming poolexceeded our expectationsowners suebeautiful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 140 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It is not often that one comes by a real gem of a hotel that you really do not want to share with anyone; the Hotel Finca el Cerrillo is one such gem.
The hilly location near the white town of Canillas de Albaida with superb views wherever you turn, the garden with a surprise and delight round every corner and the attention of the owners Sue and Gordon Kind (who live on site) to detail is outstanding.
With about dozen beautifully designed double rooms spread round the gardens and courtyards there are pleanty of quiet places to go to enjoy the tranquility, wake up and smell the flowers!
There is an honesty bar and the hotel food is outstanding with additional visits organised to local restaurants to experience local gastronomy. Painting, walking and writing feature highly on the more active menue but relaxing is a hotel speciality with some guests returning four times in the same year; always a good sign that customers really do feel part of the "Finca" family. If you have friends go there with them, if you are alone go there anyway; you will make friends whatever. Experience this gem of a place just an hour's drive south of Malaga but do not tell anyone else!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was my third visit. My wife does a painting holiday whilst I go walking. No fault of the Finca but the weather throughout southern Spain was bad from 14th to 21st April. BUT... such was the excellence of the Finca as a holiday location I had 6 excellent walks with two other walkers and enjoyed the usual high standard of food, comfort and welcome.
This time the high point was Pico Lucero from where we had the most magnificnet views from this 1800m+ peak.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - just have diferent characteristics. We have been in Room 1 for 3 years!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I first stayed here back in June 2010, I was part of a writing holiday. I was blown away by the location, quality and everything about this place right from the word go. What can you say about your hosts, Sue and Gordon? Well lets put it this way, it's not like staying at a luxury hotel or some B&B. It's a million times better! It's like staying with friends and perhaps that what makes this place that extra bit special. You have a wonderful swimming pool on a terrace a little way down from the main Finca, which I'll come to in a bit. During the 2010 stay there were little hidden hide aways. Wonderful gardens with rich colours.

My next stay was last year, July 2011 again I came with the same writing group. If you'd seen it back in 2010 you would think, they can't make this any better, can they? Well somehow they pulled it off, they made something that was faultless even better. A couple of extra terraces here and there. Now the main restored Finca. This is just amazing. Sue and Gordon have put SO much effort into this hotel it's amazing. Each public room is full of character to the smallest detail. You want a drink, no problem you just help yourself, thanks to the honesty bar! Wonderful idea so much less hassle than looking for someone to serve you, brilliant idea. And thankfully everybody who uses it seems puts down what they have, otherwise it wouldn't work and spoil it for all the other guests. The rooms, I've always stayed in the same room, Room 1. A wonderful room, lots of space, very comfortable bed and air conditioned, as are all the rooms, I believe. The bathroom, very well laid out, lovely walk in shower, can't fault it at all. The meals... OH BOY!! Now we're talking, the meals when you eat at the Finca will just BLOW your mind, they're wonderful, excellent quality for 5-star hotel class food.

However! With an eveing meal you eat one night at the Finca, the next night at a local restaurant, the next at the Finca and the following night another local restaurant and so on. And eating at the local restaurants, is nowhere near as good as eating at the Finca, the quality of the meals is miles apart. I'm not a fan of eating at the local restaurants because it's a set menu, you can't just turn up and choose from the main menu. The Finca gets a menu from the restaurant and you choose what you have, they feed it through to the restaurant. It would be better if we had full choice of the menu as has been said by others in the group, especially when the prices of other items on the menu in the restaurants are no less expensive or complicated as those on the limited menu that is phoned through to the Finca.

Finca el Cerrillo is a wonderful, peaceful and extremely beauitful place to stay. You're likely to find that you're staying with friends than staying in any hotel. Sue and Gordon have done and continue to do a wonderful job at Finca el Cerrillo. The staff are also extremely friendly and very warm. I'm very much looking forward to my next visit...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We joined a walking group at the end of November 2011 and had a fantastic time .
We received a very warm welcome from the hosts Sue and Gordon,,room was spacious as was the bed !
The walks were varied and would could join a choice of 2.. so I was very happy to join the all day walks , whilst my partner was happy with the shorter walks . One day we would take our prepared packed lunch and on alternative days we would have our lunch / tapas at some wonderful scenic bar..
Meals in the evening were varied , either eating in or taxied to a local village ....meals were great and of good quality ..
The others in the group were all a lovely mix of people ,,,and I can see why people come here again and again ,, as much as 3/4 times a year ...
There is a pool and again wonderful cultivated gardens ,, some moorish in their delights and secret corners .. cant wait to go again

Room Tip: Room 7 was excellent and has a bath
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Just didn't think it was possible to relax so completely, so quickly. The atmosphere was completely calming, and to help you on your way there are so many quiet corners in which to curl up and read a book or fall asleep. Spectacular views, walks in the hills, absolutely delicious food and blissfully comfortable bed, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews