We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I don't think I'll be able to write a glowing enough review for this place - it was just wonderful!
On arrival, you immediately feel part of the family - there is no stuffiness about this hotel, it really does feel like you are visiting friends!
It is about an hour away from Malaga, and the drive up is along windy steep roads, but the hotel can arrange a taxi to pick you up from the airport. They will also arrange taxis for days out or evenings out - nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are so lovely and clean with excellent air conditioning - much needed in those temperatures! The food is wonderful - breakfast is included and then you can opt in for lunch and dinner (if you don't, you're mad!).
The hotel overlooks the town of Archez, and when we visited there was a festival so there was plenty of noise, fireworks and canons going off - but it all adds to the wonderful feel of the place!
If you're looking to be close to Malaga and the bars/clubs of beach life then this place isn't for you. If you're looking for a fab hotel, great pool, great food then it's ideal.

Best holiday in years. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kes1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

The most beautiful retreat with atmosphere and views
Rooms food and service excellent
Quiet for walking or need a car as in the hills

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineraecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Oh dear, our best kept secret hotel has made it to number 1 - so everybody will be going! My wife and I stayed for a walking holiday and there is really nothing to add to all the other reviews praising Sue and Gordon for their outstanding hospitality, food, walking and lovely finca rooms.
But remember the hotel is not in Malaga - far from it. It's in a lovely village about three-quarters of an hour from the airport into the mountains up a windy road and is very quiet and restful and the nightlife is what you and fellow guests make it. Lots of fun and laughter and making new friends around the lounge fire and in the local restaurants.

The walking is wonderful and carefully chosen for reasonably fit (and super-fit) people, being Level 1 and 2. While it's totally relaxing just to stay by the pool the real benefit is being part of an activity holiday - whether walking, painting or writing - and meeting like-minded people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Aboslutely lovely spot.
The Finca is a peaceful haven after a hard day's walking!
Lovely rooms, beautiful gardens, helpful and friendly hosts. We travelled with friends and were given 2 garden rooms so had our own terrace overlooking the valley and village of Archez - we felt as though we were the only ones there to enjoy the view and tranquility.
The meals at the Finca and those provided in the villages for dinner and tapas lunches were all superb.
Highly recommended for anyone wanting to do lots (of walking), or nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank turnelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We sayed at the Finca last week and had a wonderful experience. The hosts - Gordon and Sue Kind - could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and they have managed to create a "house party" atmosphere without losing any of the professionalism that you would expect from a small Hotel. The rooms are a delight with modern bathrooms outstanding. The food is varied, spanish, and delicious with the lunchtime buffet particularly memorable. Evening meals are only on alternate days but that actually ensures you explore the local restaurants of which there are plenty of a high standard and Gordon and Sue are always on hand to advise and sort out taxis.
Views from the Hotel are wonderful and there are some great walks in the area to suit all standards.
We will undoubtedly be back here regularly and already we are teeling friends to take a trip over to the Finca.

Mick and Wendy Noble

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I'm horrified to find I never posted a review following our stay in July 09(not2010) - however my hubby became seriously ill not long after soi guess I had other things on my mind!

This place is faultless. My only gripe would be havingto out to eat one evening - the food at the finca was outstanding. Honesty bar (v well stocked) was fab. Great pool, wonderful large room with a/c. It was a peaceful haven away from the world - one day I hope we'll return!

You'll never regret a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was my wife's thrid visit and my second. It was based on a Painting Holiday for her and a walking holiday for me. Sue and Gordon - your hosts - welcome you into their home which they created from a rundown Finca. It now seems authentic to its history and yet is filled with all modern conveniences - except the pool is not heated. But then the invigoration of a swim after a hot day's walking is a good start to the evening.
It is a most beautiful place.
Head of security is Basil - a friendly pet dog.
If you're are a keen cyclist then there are plenty of challenges around.
There are plenty of walks to suit all aptitudes but you do need to be happy going up and down a lot. There are good traverse walks along mountain access roads. Lots of delightful small villages to explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own character - ask Sue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridgeblue65to67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.2 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
282 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
11.3 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
84 reviews
9.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel Finca El Cerrillo Canillas De Albaida, Spain - Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing