We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect holiday”
Review of Posada la Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada la Plaza
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect holiday”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Gustavo is a friendly and extremely helpful host, the hotel gives you a perfect taste of traditional Spain with delicious food in the adjacent restaurant we saw the fresh ingredients being delivered daily we will most definitely stay here again it was an absolute delight

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Canillas is a pretty little village just outside Competa, and well worth a visit in its own right. We haven't stayed there, just dining whenever we are nearby. The restaurant has a menu with a little more flair than most (lamb brochette, quail) and good choice of wine. Sitting in the small square on a warm summer evening is quite something, although the cool weather saw us indoors last week. The chef is Argentinian, and the maitresse Slovakian, which may account for the style.

Room Tip: Ask Gustavo what he recommends - never let us down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just stayed in the village for a weeks holiday and decided to dine here, on reccomendation, on our last night. We have to say it is a hidden treasure as the food was outstanding and the setting in the square was tranquil. If anyone stays in Sayalonga or Competa please give this restaurant a visit as it is well worth the experience and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffP919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night after walking from Competa via the "Walk of the High Axarquia". It's beautifully situated in the main square of this small village. The rooms are nice and clean. The price I paid (€45) was a little high, especially since I didn't get breakfast (I had to catch the 9 am bus on a Sunday). The hotel is unmanned at night and the front door is locked - I always find this a little unnerving (see one of my other reviews) - but the "emergency key" was well marked. It was February and freezing cold (the fountain in front of the hotel froze at night!) and my single bed was made up with just one sheet!!! Fortunately, for my life and limbs, there were two blankets in the cupboard and I remade the bed myself (but I shouldn't have had to do this?). I ate in the restaurant opposite, which is also run by the hotel; the chorizo was nice but the rest of the meal was very average.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We found Posada La Plaza a perfect place to stay. Situated on a pretty little square in the lovely village of Canillas de Albaida. Gustavo the owner was friendly and helpful and our room overlooking the square was clean, comfortable and atmospheric. The view from the terrace was superb and sitting there with a drink from the honesty bar was a perfect way to end the day after a long hike.
Dinner was to be had at Gustavo´s restaurant opposite and it was delicious. As was the breakfast included in the very reasonable room rate.
We would highly recommend the village as a place to stay. So many of the other villages around this area were large and with a strong English flavour. This village retains its Spanish identity and the Posada la Plaza is a perfect place to enjoy this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a review only of the restaurant, not the hotel accommodation. Canillas de Albaida is a very attractive, somewhat remote, village in the Axarquia region NE of Malaga.

The square, which is pedestrianised, is dominated by the restaurant, the hotel, the ayuntamiento, and an attractive little church (not open very often but worth a look inside if you can). We sat outside in the square, and had a perfectly nice meal, pleasantly served. Prices were fair, including wine. The menu has a few nice little surprises for a village bar/restaurant - places of this kind tend to be very predictable and vary mainly on quality of food and cooking, and service: but here there were a few different dishes, some reflecting the non-Spanish staff, I suspect.

It's better than the three-star 'average' for Trip Advisor, hence the rating, but 'very good' is perhaps a stretch. From our base it was a 70-minute drive and therein lies the real question - was it worth that length of drive. Probably not as there are better restaurants in the Malaga Province. But if you are nearer, then it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

In the summer you sit in a lovely little square that is edged on one side with a tiny church, the hotel rooms on another and an amazing flower strewn house on the other. In the Winter you sit inside - ask for the top floor where there are stunning views from two full sized windows - one side to the square and the other 650m down over mountain villages to the blue sea. It is magnificent. The menu is interesting with a mixture of local specialities and more cosmopolitan dishes. The wine is excellent and we can never believe how low the bill is given the quality of what we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenpenSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
0.9 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
6.5 mi away
Hospederia el Caravansar
Hospederia el Caravansar
#3 of 4 in Frigiliana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Torre del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
#2 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Vista
La Vista
#2 of 12 in Competa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada la Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada la Plaza

Property: Posada la Plaza
Address: Plaza de Nuestra Senora de Rosario, 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canillas de Albaida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada la Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada la Plaza is situated at the central square of the small white village of Canillas de Albaida (900 inhabitants). It has a 9 rooms and a small spa zone. The surrounding area is great for lovers of Andalusian culture, the nature park Sierra Tejeda y Almijara is at walking distance for those who love outdoor activities and nature. Málaga city and airport are only an hour away, Granada 1,5hrs and several beaches at 30mins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Posada la Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Plaza Canillas De Albaida, Spain - Malaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing