We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Salina Hotel Borgo di Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our Daughter and future son inlaw chose this most romantic and wonderful run hotel in Salina to host some of their wedding guests. The staff acted as if one of their family members was getting married. The rooms were terrific. The facilities were welcoming and authenic. The staff help us host two wonderful welcoming parties with great wine and delcious food. The hotel has a charming eating area and bar. The breakfasts were always very special and loved by all of our guests. We actually filled the hotel and I heard nothing but praise and compliments from all of our guests from all over the world about what a special place it was and what a wonderful welcoming and friendly staff was always there to greet them Everyone agreed that they could not wait to return someday. I could not have been more pleased as the Father of the Bride. Dick Montgomery

Room Tip: Choose one of the second floor rooms with Huge patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

This past week we booked the entire hotel for a beautiful wedding on Salina in the Aeolian Islands. The hotel and its wonderful staff could not have been better and more accomodating. From the lovely full breakfast each morning to assuring that guests had all their needs taken care of...the La Salina hotel was just wonderful. They also supplied us with plenty of water for our wedding hike, helped us plan a private party on our patio for a few early bird guests and did laundry and pressing for anyone who needed it. Since most of our wedding guests came from the US, it was particularly wonderful to be in this small resort away from the crowds but close enough to good dining, hiking, shopping etc.We highly recommend this hotel..if you are thinking of enjoying the Aeolians islands!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on second floor...but all the rooms are very close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJM232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We recently stayed at Borgo di Mar and had the most amazing experience. We were traveling through Rome and Sicily and this hotel by far out paces all the other 4 star hotels we stayed at. The hotel is simple and beautiful- perfect for the tranquil island of Salina. We had no problems with our AC or shower as indicated in some of these reviews so my guess is that they fixed it. The setting couldn't be more gorgeous. The view from our room of Lipari was just breath taking and the perfect picture to wake up to every morning. And the breakfast was the best spread we ever had...all kinds of crossaints, fruit, cereal, yogurt, fresh coffee and cappucinos. Lastly, the water is right there so you can take a dip in the sea whenever you want and sunbathe right outside of your room which was pretty amazing.

The staff went out their way to accomdate us. They did our laundry, answered all of our questions, drove us to town and the ferry, and just made sure we were content. They are all very friendly and speak great english- which was nice for a change. We would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Salina and we can't wait to go back and visit. If you go please tell Dominico hello!

Room Tip: Ask for the room's with a big patio and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monty2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Friendly staff, the best spot of Salina Island, a chilling out terrass on the sea and charming rooms ! A place to stay with family or in couple. Fresh fruits&foods at the breakfast. Thanks Domenico, Vittoria and Teodoro for their kindness and careness. They make this trip cool and comfortable ! ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Amelie&Jean Michel, French couple, stayed there from the 15th to the 21st of August, 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Lingua is three K from the port though Dominico (the manager) arranged free transport to and from the ferry wharf. The view accross the water to Lipari and to Mount Etna in the distance is sensational. The room was spacious clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to be helpful even bringing hot freshly baked bread up to our room without us having requested it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This place is run by teenagers at 200 euro plus prices. Let me start by describing the location which is very good since it is right next to the sea. There is no beach as in most of the Eolian Islands so you mainly have rocks and a wooden structure that drops to the sea. That's basically the only up side of the hotel along with the breakfast which includes freshly made coffee and granite from "Il Gambero" a place not to be missed and very well run by the same people which makes me wonder..
The rooms are very very sparse. Maybe the idea is to be understated but I just think it is too little emphasis on details, the painting is falling, the shower floods, etc... The AC does not really work right (I have to say this is from american standards where the AC should be able to freeze a room, specially at this price) so I had to take out the encasing and tilt it so that it blew right onto our bed. Could anyone please advice the ltalian hotel association to consider getting softer mattresses, please?
Service is actually non-existent because it takes forever, it takes forever to pay the bill (it took them an hour to set up my bill) takes forever to handle any simple request because the employees are not trained. I almost had to tell the receptionist how to use the credit card terminal to charge my bill. Constant and complete chaos. I have to say however, that they are all personally very nice and warm.
Bottom line- This is not a four star hotel and for a little more you can stay in any of the swanky hotels in Malfa or in Capofaro rent a scooter and enjoy the same beach which is public. Next time I will do that.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiBruccolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Masca1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
3.2 mi away
Principe di Salina Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mamma Santina
Hotel Mamma Santina
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
352 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Salina Hotel Borgo di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Salina Hotel Borgo di Mare

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 4 | Lingua Salina, Isole Eolie, 98050, Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range: $88 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Salina Hotel Borgo di Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Salina Hotel Borgo di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Salina Hotel Borgo Di Mare Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing