We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like extended family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Thanks to Alex and the team as you feel like a member of the extended family when you stay here. Alex went well out of his way to help us use our few days here. Breakfast was nice (thanks for making a gluten free cake and more importantly noticing we were late down to breakfast and keeping some for us). Our room had a small balcony overlooking Panerea and Stomboli , the pool area is small with a lovely pool (note there's only one place in the shade). We ate lunch there one day when we were too tired and hot to move and ate the best dinner we had on the Island. We can recommend Mama's pasta sauce with 11 herbs (gluten free pasta for me!). A lovely spot. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatePSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mamma Santina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed at Mamma Santina in early June. Lovely, relaxing, informal but totally professionally run hotel. The staff are delightful and it is clearly a family run hotel where service and friendliness matter to them all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time in hotel Mamma Santina on the beautiful island of Salina. The room was magnificent and comfortable. The views from our room and restaurant were breath taking (we could see the sea and the islands of Stromboli and Panarea from our room and restaurant). We really appreciate the atmosphere and the friendly staff. The food in the restaurant is really good, especially the fresh fish and pasta Mamma Santina. We will certainly come back to enjoy hotel Mamma Santina again.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea and the islands of Stromboli and Panarea, choose a room with a balcony...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I loved staying at mamma santina. It is in a great location, very close to the port and santa marina town, it is also in walking distance of lipari town and very close to the bus stop to visit other areas in salina. The rooms were huge and nicely decorated. The bathrooms were also very big and clean. There is an internet modem in every room which means the internet was very quick. There are spectacular views from the rooms and pool. The pool is lovely and much appreciated in the warm sicilian climate. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. They provided great advise about what to do in salina and were more then happy to help book anything we needed. The breakfast is delicious. Along with the standard cold meats and pastry buffet which is served in italy, they offered a selection of hot dishes cooked to order including baked or scrambled eggs and omlets (however i am sure they would prepare something else if the ingredients were there and you requested it- they are soooo accommodating). The staff are also very multilingual speaking at least 6 or 7 languages each.

Mamma santina has a great 'homey' feeling but also provides exceptional service and an overall loverly experience in salina.

Room Tip: We booked a garden room but were upgraded to a pool side room because they had availability. The poo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Everything about our stay at Mamma Santina was fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful. They were all multi-lingual speaking up to 6 languages fluently. They were really helpful with suggestions of what to do. The room and bathroom were enormous. Fabulous views. Beautiful pool. High speed Internet everywhere at the hotel. Breakfast was included and was really delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. They made omelettes scrambled eggs on request, great coffee. We ate at their restaurant each night and the food was really delicious, highly recommend the pasta mamma santina with 14 herbs a simple dish but the best in Italy so far. They drove us back down the hill to catch the ferry and were very apologetic they had not picked us up as that is included in the price but not made clear by booking. Com. Actually it is not very far from the ferry and well sign posted so easy to find. This is by far the best place I've stayed so far in Sicily.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 49byng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were on a walking holiday across Sicily and really I don't think we stayed in a bad hotel. But Mamma Santina stood out from all the rest. It has a hospitable, small scale feel to it. All the staff are very friendly and happy to chat in excellent English (and plenty of other languages I suspect) and the owner really couldn't be more helpful. The location is great looking out over the sea to the other islands, the rooms (or at least the one we stayed in) were nice and the lounging area was good for sitting around and reading a book. I didn't have time to use the pool but it looked really nice in its own sort of sunken garden. The food was simple but excellent - this is what Sicilian food does best. To top it all they also have a cute puppy that sank his (very tiny) teeth into my big toe! I had to sum it up in a few words I'd say relaxed, charming and very, very high standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear guests,

it was great to have you here and read that your short stay has been pleasant and contributed to the overall quality of your experience in our beautiful land.
With your words you managed to capture exactly the feeling we hope to pass on to all our guests and we are happy to acknowledge that the feeling at "home, away from home" atmospere has been perceived in the way you described.

We hope to see you soon (Romeo misses your toe very much, he is not the same since you left) and we promise to give Romeo something else to chew on during your stay (although we cannot guarantee he will agree to the change).

We wish you all the best and we really hope to see you soon (this time for a longer stay)

Good luck for everything

Romeo (the boss) and all the big family of Mamma Santina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Mamma Santina was highly recommended, so we arrived with quite high expectations. The truth is: all our expectations were exceeded! Lovely place, extremely attentive and friendly and knowledgeable staff, specially Silvio and Stefano who looked after us day to day. Alessio was a great help before we had even arrived. Mario the owner is charm impersonated and has the best smile north of Milazzo, and his cuisine was simply delicious.
The piece de resistance was, however, Romeo... The 3-months old foxterrier puppy... The perfect mascot for a place of happiness and peace.
In short: great food, top location, beautiful Stromboli view, pool, hammocks, kind and helpful thoughtful crew. We want to come back!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Rosenkohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear guests,

we are extremely happy to read that your high expectations have not been deluded and most of all that your stay has been pleasant.
We hope to see you soon, our team will be ready to welcoming you open arms.
All the best from all of us.
Romeo (the real hotel manager) and the big family of Mamma Santina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
229 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
209 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
406 reviews
10.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range: $73 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing