We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to improve” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mamma Santina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite having been recommended this hotel by a friend, I must say I was not impressed.
The hotel is nice and clean and I loved the fact that each room had the name of a fish, with a little tile painted outside the door and on the keyring.
It has a Moroccan feel about it with hammocks hanging outside the rooms.
But I felt that the service needs to improve. Yes, it is friendly and family led, but it needs to become more professional. Nobody is wearing a uniform, so you never know who to ask for something and I always had the impression I was disturbing them.
The reception area is tired looking and also the small gardens in between rooms, with cigarettes butts sticking out, that obviously nobody bothers to clean.
The location is OK, very close to the main street with bars and shops, but the beach is far.
The restaurant seems to attract a lot of people, it was always very busy. We had dinner there once and personally, I did not find it so amazing.
On the plus side, spacious room and free wifi in the reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for the review you decided to share, your feedback is very important to us.
I am sad to read that the expectations you had about us have not been completely met leaving you somehow disappointed. Mamma Santina was born as a family run business, with an informal and friendly approach; despite it has evolved since its beginnings we always strive to keep the same atmosphere that contributed to create its unique style. This is the reason why we don't wear uniforms, saying this we will take into considerations your comment looking into a way to be easily identified without appearing too formal. I am deeply sorry you felt uncomfortable in the way you have been assisted by our team, courtesy and friendly professionalism are points of pride for us (proved countless times by previous reviews), we reserve to our customers the outmost attention and cordiality and I am sad this has not been perceived in this way by you especially has we have been recommended by someone that has staid this year with us and was very happy with the quality of our customer service; we are on a continous improvement journey and your feedback will help us in delivering a better service.
Every day we do carry out periodic actions to keep the place clean and tidy, cigarettes butts and other things that shouldn't be left around in the first place, are removed during these operations. In between times we hope in our guests well behavior to respect the place in which they are staying. We will act more frequently in order to reduce this inconvenience.
I cannot comment on your feedback about the reception area style and cuisine, it is very subjective and we are aware that we cannot always please everyone’s taste.
We hope to see you again and to offer an overall better quality for your future stays.
All the best

Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    58
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
144
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

For a stay on the beautiful island of Salina, hotel Mamma Santina is a good choice. The staff does everything to make you feel at home and to make your stay perfect. We had a room on the first floor, so we had a splendid view on the seas and on Stromboli and it's regular eruptions. Breakfasts and dinners were very good. The hotel is expensive, but that's what you can expect when visiting the aeolian islands. Pay cash and they offer you 10% discount. We stayed four nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Nice shopping too, in the village of Santa Maria.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff (and Silvio in particular) are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. It has a great swimming pool and is 5 mins from the main drag in Santa Marina (which is comfortably the nicest place to base yourself on Salina). It's not cheap (but nowhere on the Aeolian islands is) but it offers good value. The food is great too - a must try is the Mupa (gilthead bream) cooked in 'crazy water'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is amazing, the staff are so friendly and welcoming, there were 7 of us staying here and we got a whole section to ourselves which was fantastic.
The rooms were cleaned daily, the breakfast is perfect, serving you with coffee, tea or drink of your choice.
Beautiful pool area, the whole place in general is perfect, it would have to be one of the best places I've ever stayed at.
Once arriving at the ferry port we were greeted and our bags were put in the car and they took them took them to our room and took them when we were leaving also. Would not hesitate to stay again! I would recommend this for everyone! Perfect location too!
Thank you :):):):)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We travelled for 2 and half weeks in Italy, and this was the best hotel we stayed at and we actually want to go back again next year! Before going on holiday, we got some really bad news, and coming to this beautiful hotel on an amazing island, helped us really to forget about all the bad and just completely relax and we had such a fun time here, its all we are talking about at the moment!

We had the most incredible room, the best they have, with a very large terrace with sun loungers and a hammock. The view was simply outstanding. I loved the Jacuzzi bath!

There is a pool, which is lovely, but make sure you also walk down to swim in the sea ( about 10 minute walk), take your goggles for all the fish! Hotel is well situated close to town centre ( 5 minute walk down) There is also a restaurant at the hotel, which we ate at on our first night, very good pasta. I enjoyed trying the desserts, which staff were more than happy to bring up to our private terrace.
Make sure to try the mojito cocktail as well, best I ever had!

The staff are all fantastic and really go out of their way to help you enjoy your time there. A big thank you to Alessio, Francesca and Silvio, as well as Mario and the others. A kiss for Maggie ( the dog)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomiO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in June and had such a lovely holiday. It was our first time to the island and Alessio and his team made every effort to accommodate us. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the sea, you could see Stromboli which was lovely.
The breakfast was very good each morning. All of the staff were so friendly and polite.
The pool area was also really nice.
We would definitely come back.
Highly recommend hiring scooters to see the island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Warm, colourful and relaxed, Mamma Santina was our home from home for the four nights we spent on Salina island. Our room was comfortable and eclectic, and the view of a smoking Stromboli from balcony and shower dramatic. The food was delicious (the pasta with shrimp sauce particularly memorable) and the warmth and friendliness of the staff entirely faultless. The island itself is a peaceful retreat, with quiet beaches, woodland walks, wild flowers, birds...... We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#4 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Property: Hotel Mamma Santina
Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing