We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mamma Santina & Salina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
“Mamma Santina & Salina”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Super hoteL. I have gone twice in a month to Salina just to have the opportunity to stay there: five-stars service, excellent food (very fresh food and superlative pasta), incredible view.... and fairly cheap. And what about the swimming pool? a psychedlic experience! I am so enthusisastic That i want to go back in two weeks for the third time this summer.

Room Tip: RRooms on the ground floor are very large with a incredibly large shower and have a cosy porch with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    58
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
148
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Last July we spent a whole week at the Hotel Mamma Santina and it was such an amazing experience! We could feel the hospitality even before getting there. Alessio, the manager, was of such a great help for us in booking transfers, boats and visits. When we got there, all the staff, including Silvio, Francesca and Rachella, was also tremendously friendly and kind. The owner and extraordinary cook, Mario, was all smiles and competence! For a whole week long, we had the best food in Sicily, no doubt about that! I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camargo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Mamma Santina and were spoiled from the first minute until the last one. The rooms, the pool, the restaurant & food are outstanding and are made even better through a wonderful team (thanks Mario, Alessio, Silvio, Francesca & Raquele!) that takes care of you and makes you feel like at home. We ate at Mamma Santina each and every single evening except one which we then regretted. The evenings and dinner at Mamma Santina's restaurant was what made each of our days the perfect day. This is a true gem and we will come back many times in the future. One last advise: rent a boat (Gommorizzo) and tour the Islands (Panarea, Lipari, Vulcano and finish at Pollara!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for a wonderful night, high season,so could not stay longer. Its gorgeous, the staff are always smiling and happy to accommodate all requests. This is especially important in the busiest week of the season when the town is hectic. Mario the owner is a wonderful host, kind, caring but also a great sense of humour. The breakfast is fabulous, gardens, rooms beautiful. Pool an extra attractive. Very centrally located. Love the Aeolins and Salina is my favourite island. 4th time here and will be back again

Don't want to leave Mamma Santina

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Mamma santina is a definitive great place to stay in Salina. More than an hôtel - the view, charming, well equiped and located - and a restaurant - large daily fresh typical menu cooked by a great chief - Being in Mamma Santina is like being at Home in your holidays House with friends, simply doing what you want when you want. The team leaded by Sylvio is managing all your request and answering your questions with modesty and a rare and huge professionalism. In fact far from the standardized and fashion places with no soul Mamma Santina is probably the Best place to discover Salina and Aeolian Island from "inside".
Special Thanks to Alex for managing our transfert From catania and Sylvio for our daily "Americano".

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SoSparkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is well situated above the main corso and features great views of the sea and surrounding islands. The restaurant is commendable and appears to be one of the more popular ones on the island. Our room was clean, spacious enough, and featured a huge terrace with comfortable furniture. The service was always helpful and friendly. My only issue with the place is that it felt over-priced. For the money we spent here we stayed in places on the mainland that were pretty high-end luxury hotels. For 240 euros a night, you'd hope the place could do better than a plastic shower and janky fixtures. That being said, it's a good place and unlikely to disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zack111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Customer,

thank you very much for your review, I am glad your stay has been overall pleasant.
I am sorry you felt the price of the room was bit high in comparison to its quality and to other hotels you staid in. The Aeolian islands are more expensive than sicily Mainland, they tariffs can change substantially from island to island and this difference is even more remarked if you compare them to other holidays destinations. When you arrived we gave you the opportunity to choose between two rooms of different category and price, I was under the impression you were satisfied with the choice you made (the plastic shower was a bath with hydromassage btw). I appreciate the level of service and the restaurant met your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.
All the best

Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Mamma Santina recently and we had a great experience there. We were amazed by the very personal service we received from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we got great suggestions to make the most of our stay on the island. The location of the hotel is ideal, very central but not right on the port. Our room was spacious, comfortable and we had a great big bathroom with a fabulous shower. We didn't dine at the restaurant as, usually, we like to try the local restaurants. Apparently, we missed out, as other residents informed us that dinner was excellent. It's really difficult to find a negative with this hotel and I hope to bring my family back to experience the welcome of the Mamma Santina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 147Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#4 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Property: Hotel Mamma Santina
Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing