We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for one night only during an Island-hopping holiday and could easily have given up on the tour and just set up camp here. Staff were fantastically friendly. We arrived on an exceptionally hot day in June and looking a bit on the warm side were offered a drink whilst the check in was completed. Our room was cool, the pool a bonus and a real gem. The food is excellent and great value. Alessio was exceptionally attentive to our needs but then all the staff were. It is a "must stay" hotel for any Island hopper, though if you just want some peace and quiet and great views at the Volcanic line from Etna via Vulcano to Stromboli and over the the mainland, it's as good for that also.

Room Tip: It's all excellent and private. You don't need a view from your room because you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    58
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
144
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My first visit to Mamma Santina was in the late 90s. At that time the hotel was smaller and without all the facilities it has now and it was love at first sight. The staff, the food and the atmosphere were simply unique. Now after 15 years many things have changed but not the authenticity of the place and the magic feeling I experience every time I stay there. I could mention the great view, the nice rooms but I want to focus on the real asset of Mamma Santina: the staff. Mario and Adelaide, the owners, have the unique ability of letting you feel home and the rest of the team is simply devoted to make your stay unforgettable. Last but not least, even if you don‘t stay at the hotel, don‘t miss the restaurant. Mario is personally cooking following ancient recipes and only using the best ingredients Salina and its sea can offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1968Stefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel in June. The staff were wonderful. They went out of their way for us and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a lovely position with views looking out over Panarea and Stromboli.

The food in the restaurant was really delicious and they served lovely local wines.
I ordered some local fish one night (I can't remember what it was called but it was delicious). One of the waiters came over to ask me how it was because he'd been out earlier that day and caught it - it can't get much fresher than that!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your review. You came a long way to stay here with us and we are happy to know that you are happy with your choice.
We hope to see you soon, there are still a lot of things to do and see around here, who knows maybe next time we can organize a fish game trip for you and we will cook what you will catch.
Until next time we wish you all the best
alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Lovely hotel with a great view, nice rooms and very friendly staff. Alessio in particular was always very kind and helpful. We went there in May-June which is a great time to go to Salina, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The restaurant is top-notch, the mixed starters and the "pasticcio di zucchine" are truly some of the best dishes I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Ciao,

thank you very very much for your kind words, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you here next year, the pasticcio di zucchine will always be here for you and who knows, next time we might give away part of the recipe......... ;-)
all the best
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel. It has lovely views over Panaraea and Stromboli islands. The hotel is reasonably priced, very clean, well-located near the port but still quiet and has a very good restaurant. There is a lovely pool area. The staff were always very helpful and attentive - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelAnnabelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much to have chosen to stay in our hotel.
We are happy to know that you liked our little resort and you felt well treated.
We look foward to seeing you soon here. We promise nice new additions in the restaurant menu.
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Because of the time of year - May - getting to the island of Salina was not as straight forward as we had previously thought. However Alessio from Mamma Santini came up with a plan that worked well for us, despite a long day of travel from Positano. The extra effort was well worth it as everything about Mamma Santini, our room with a view over Stromboli, the excellent meals from the restaurant & the most friendly & helpful staff made for a relaxing & most pleasant stay.
Located up the hill from the ferry, the pickup & drop off service provided by MS was most appreciated. Mario's meals were excellent made with the freshest ingredients & the chocolate souffle dessert was to die for!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking Stromboli & Panarea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your review and to have chosen us for your stay.
Mario's love and passion for cooking always lead him to create new recipies, we promise you nice new additions to the menu for your next visit.
Mamma Santina will always be here to welcome you from spring to autumn, in the meantime, join our fan club on facebook, it will help us keeping in touch and feel this special place closer to you.
Waiting to seeing you again in Salina we wish you all the best
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howth, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We originally booked for 5 nights, but the magic of Salina and in particular Mamma Santina led us to stay for an extra night as we so enjoyed our stay! Let’s just say that leaving was hard. The hotel is truly lovely and the staff wonderful (Alessio, Sulvio and Florin) courteous, attentive and genuinely interested in ensuring an excellent stay. This is a hotel where service comes with a genuine smile, the food is lovely and the views from the restaurant terrace wonderful of Stromboli and Panarea. During our trip, we had a scooter and on day 1 had a minor mishap, which Alessio and Sulvio sorted out for us very quickly. By the end of our stay we were "scooting" around like locals, and got around to see this beautiful island. While the hills are steep, the views are outstanding and the village is beautiful. It is easily the best holiday I’ve ever had, and I think it may be come a regular fixture on my travel itinerary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear guests,

you left from just few days and we miss you already. It is great to read that your first visit in the Aeolian islands has gone well and we managed to contribute positively to the quality of your holiday.
I remember seeing you darting fast and furious with the scooter across the roads here (better than many locals indeed) and i agree with you, it is great fun!!! Still there are many things you haven't seen and done, enough for another holidays (or two).
We will always be here welcoming you open arms and we look forward to receiving soon your news.
Until your next visit we wish you all the best.
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#4 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Property: Hotel Mamma Santina
Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing