We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourgeous, charming, relaxing and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hotel Mamma Santina is a beautiful and charming hotel with wonderful rooms, an excellent restaurant and perfect service.

I visited in the spring during a slow time. I emailed a few days ahead of time and they wrote back very promptly. They gave me their rates, and then immediately offered an upgraded room at the rate normally given for their most basic rooms since they had these extra rooms available. When we arrived, they had us sit down for some sparkling water and coffee and then announced that they were going to give us the best room in the hotel since it was free, still at their lowest rate.

Our room was fantastic. It was very private and lovely, with a huge terrace overlooking the town and the sea. The room had french doors leading onto the terrace that we could leave open at night because the terrace had a locking gate, a beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed, a writing desk and spacious closet. The terrace was just amazing, with a hammock and lounge chairs and a small table with chairs for eating and drinking. We loved our room and terrace so much that we stayed an extra night on Salina just so we could enjoy them longer.

Food is the main reason that I travel and I've eaten in great restaurants throughout Italy. At first I was skeptical about eating in the hotel (just because often, hotel restaurants are nothing special) so we headed out for lunch right after checking in. But then it started to rain so we turned around and came back to the hotel for lunch. We didn't realize it until later, but their lunch time hours were technically just about over. However, without mentioning this they proceeded to serve us a long and memorable feast. The food was right up there among the best we ate on our entire trip through Sicily. They source local products from Salina and genuinely care about introducing guests to local dishes. The antipasto included an assortment of local items as well as great renditions of standard items like caponata. The squid ink pasta (which they informed us is always made with squid caught that same day or the day before as a rule) was so spectacular that I actually felt a little depressed - because I realized that I have never tasted this dish as it is meant to be and might never again. We had a grilled fish that was superbly fresh and perfectly cooked. We drank a local white wine that was very special. Because it was a slow time on Salina and we had some other rainy evenings, we ended up eating in the hotel for dinner twice in addition to this lunch. And each time we were excited.

The staff is so helpful and friendly, giving suggestions on things to do, checking ferry schedules for you and always happy to get anything for you. At the same time they were never overbearing. They all seem to speak multiple languages. When it was time to leave we told them we'd like to leave our luggage with them after check-out so we could do some last minute shopping, then we would return to get it and go to the ferry. They had a better idea - they would bring all of our things to the ferry for us at the appointed time so that we wouldn't have to walk back to the hotel.

This hotel offers the service of a 5 star hotel (and our room was of 5 star quality) but instead of the generic feeling that high-end hotels often have, this place has a wonderfully unique, charming and happy atmosphere. This was our favorite hotel in Sicily and possibly anywhere else. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Guests,
I have to be honest, your review touched us deeply.
For us it was great to have had the chance to know you and to offer you a genuine sample of our hospitality. Even more, reading through your lines we are very happy to acknowledge that your stay has been up to your expectation and you will brought back home good memories of this island and our hotel. We really look forward to see you soon, and we hope you will join our facebook fan club, to keep in touch with us and Salina.
All the best
Alessio and all the staff in Mamma Santina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 352 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

From the moment we were met at the hydrofoil, our stay at this friendly small hotel was amazing. The manager and staff were so friendly and helpful. They helped us make the best of our time by suggesting and arranging a boat trip, zodiac rental and recommending hiking trails. We loved the hammock on the terrace in front of our room and relaxing by the pool. The hotel restaurant was a gem with delicious fresh seafood dishes so we ate all our meals there. We are already dreaming of another visit to Mamma Santinas.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crdj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in pre-season (May). We only found Mama Santina by accident and it is a true hidden gem. Easily the best hotel we stayed in throughout a three week holiday in Sicily and the Aeolian Islands.

Service was amazingly friendly throughout. Made us feel home away from home. The room was large, clean with a balcony looking out at the sea.

Food was also very good.

Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McJever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We arrived at the port on Salina in May after a ferry ride from Messina. Not a lot happening but a call to the hotel resulted in the quick arrival of the "limo" to pick us up. Actually just a battered small truck typical of the island transport. No is is not sophisticated, but it was soon apparent that everything worked and the hotel staff were eager to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms are mediteranean style - simple, sunny and comfortable. We loved the view from our window towards other Aeolian Islands.
If you feel energetic they will arrange any activities you like. Cars will be brought to the hotel for you to explore the island or you can just relax by the pool. The village is small but the quality of the shops is surprisingly good and the people are very friendly. We loved our evening walk down the main street greeting and even "talking" to some locals (we speak very little italian but still managed to communicate).
Limited restaraunts but we had no reason to dine away from the hotel. Food was wonderful, wine suggestions were spot on (and reasonably priced).
The location was great, hotel was lovely and the staff were charming and very helpful. As others have said - allow more time than you think to truly enjoy the island life.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a view to the other islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

At the end of the season when most places are jaded and ready to close in the Aeolian Isles this small hotel gave excellent service, helpful advice and convinced us that the charm of the Aeolians and Salina in particular is unique in the whole of Italy. When we arrived (last week of October) we were the only guests there but nothing was too much trouble.

When our friends flight was diverted due to Etna erupting and they missed their first night Mamma Santina refused to charge them as they thought they had suffered enough by missing a night on the island... fair play and not many hotels would do that.

Clean, and reasonably priced with superb views and a pretty good dinner makes this a great spot to base yourself for exploring the Aeolians.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room (9 I think) from its large terrace you can see Etna to right and Stromboli to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuscanyinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Pretty much the perfect way to round of 2 weeks in Sicily.Beautiful room, superb food and staff that couldnt have been more helpful.
Nothing too much trouble-A phone call from Alessio to local guide and the night time trip up Stromboli was sorted
Many thanks
See you again
Ewan and Mandy Hamnett

Room Tip: I would go for the upstairs room with a sea view unless swinging in a hammock all day is your prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyHamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Mamma Santina is a wonderful hotel to find peace and a moment of heaven. The fresh food, daily changing offers, the wine and the super friendly and professional staff makes life just wonderful. If you have been there once you want to return every year again... believe me... you'll miss it. Therefore just imagine the sun slowly going down and you're sitting there on the terrace with a glass of wine listening to the waiters voice in charming Italian explaining you all the different plates they have tonight.. you can taste the herbs and smell the fresh fish.... Go there and see... you'll never regret and return forever!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzi_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Principe di Salina Boutique Hotel
10.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,035 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050, Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range: $125 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing