We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditional Italian style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel I Cinque Balconi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional Italian style hotel”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in Cinque Balconi for one night and thought it was great. The hotel itself is very stylish and manages to combine traditional Italian decor as well as being very modern and chic. The location is excellent, rooms our spacious, very clean and have beautiful traditional tiled floors. The only let down was the very small bathroom with an old shower and very hard beds (which seems very typical in Italy).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel i cinque balconi is a small (only 10 rooms) and esthetically furnished hotel. It has a beautiful garden with all fruit and vegetables. The rooms are spacious and provides everything you need.
The hotel is located in the middle of Santa Marina Salina, at the main street (cars are not aloud, so it is quiet). You can reach the port in about 10 minutes footwalk and the city beach in about 5 minutes.
We especially liked the young and motivated hotel crew.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

From the second we walked in the service and vibe of the place was perfect. The rooms were really spacious with great views. The breakfast was also delicious with that Italian style fresh cappuccino to top if off.

We will definitely be returning!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlfieW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed at this small hotel for 2 nights in September 2010 with my partner and 2 children. We had the garden suite, which was one room with a queen and 2 singles. The room was more suited to a couple but worked reasonably well for our group.

The hotel is really gorgeous, with a lovely garden, and our room was delightfully furnished (antique majolica tiles, antique furniture comfortable bed). The breakfast was very nice. There was wi fi in the lobby but not in the room. It is in the main street of Santa Marina so perfect for walking round the town and catching buses to other parts of Salina (which by the way were very efficient).

Our balcony was also charming, looking out over the garden and with a distant sea view.

Being a small hotel there is no restaurant or pool so if you are after a resort experience this is not the place for you, but as a boutique hotel it was perfect.

We were on Salina largely for family reasons but it is a fantastic place and I would very much like to return. It was very beautiful far less congested than many of the other places we visited, but there is a lot to do and see, particularly if you like outdoor activities. I am not sure how many English speaking tourists visit in the high season but there were not many when we were there. I found it a bit tricky to book from Australia as they didn't do credit card from afar, but was very glad I had persisted.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is a new boutique-hotel in Santa Marina Salina, the port of this little island north of Sicily. When we booked it this spring it was not on any of the hotelbooking sites, but you can e-mail the hotel directly.
It is made of two adjactent old houses in via Risorgimento, the main street of Santa Marina. It is renovated with such good taste. Look at their homepage-it doesn´t lie.
The street is small and closed for traffic at night so it is not noisy.
The hotel has nine rooms.We were upgraded to the best room, a private suite across the garden. Antonella, the lovely hotel-manager showed me the superior rooms with balconies towards the street- and they were just as beatiful. They have floors and bathroms of antique tiles, and are plesant but not overdecorated.Two have extra beds, perfect for a family.
The garden is full of lemon and fig-trees and smells of gardenia and herbs.
Antonella and her staff were so friendly and helpful, with good suggestions for dinner-retaurants. The best was La Cucinotta, a taverna close by in the same street.
We had a rental car that we parked in the beginning of the street.
By mistake we had arrived one day late, Antonella just said-don´t worry, and when checking out we didn´t have to pay for that night.
We can really recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something special.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mamma Santina
Hotel Mamma Santina
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Marina
Hotel Santa Marina
#5 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel I Cinque Balconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel I Cinque Balconi

Property: Hotel I Cinque Balconi
Address: Via Risorgimento 36, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel I Cinque Balconi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you wander around the historical centre of Santa Marina,along the main road,you cannot help but notice the fully renovated and charmingly restored I Cinque Balconi Hotel as it rises up before you. Its slightly retro atmosphere and splendid position make it a truly evocative place. Upon entering the magnificient front door one feels a peaceful sensation of a time "Past". Your eyes alight on the antique majolica tiles skilfully merged with comfort and technology. Exceptional attention and care for details,in order to create the greatest comfort possible. Pamper yourself amidst the restful perfumed citrus trees,enjoy the vien of the Aeolian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel I Cinque Balconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel I Cinque Balconi Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing