We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ristorante magnifico!”

Ristorante La Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 10, 2018

We had a quiet lunch here during our summer holiday on the outer terrace which was al fresco dining of the best kind. Attentive waiter and friendly owner who was very courteous. Perfect Umbrian cuisine. We'd cooked the same 'prodotto tipici' in our self catering house but fancied a rest and let the chef take the strain, we we're not disappointed in the quality. The inside of the restaurant is carved out of the rock with an impressive wine cellar which really is a cave. The best place to eat near Cerreto or Borgo.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WalnutTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luigi d, Proprietario at Ristorante La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2019
Google Translation

Le comunico a malincuore che la nostra esperienza alla Cantina, mia e di mia moglie Christine, si è definitivamente conclusa, per continuare a Montefalco al ristorante Foresteria Alzatura.
La cantina.. una location magico che porteremo sempre con noi.
Grazie ancora per aver condiviso con noi il fascino di questo luogo.
Un augurio a chi verrà dopo di noi che siamo certi sapranno ricreare quella magica atmosfera che la Cantina merita.
Luigi e Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 505 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently celebrated his birthday at La Cantina upon recommendation from an Italian family we had met on our travels. We were so grateful for their advice! What a special dining experience in a beautiful part of Umbria. After a longer than expected drive, we nervously searched for the restaurant to find, to our delight, a cosy spot with a beautiful view. The service was impeccable and our meals were the best we have had during our month long visit to Tuscany. We will have lovely memories of our special lunch at La Cantina- grazie!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 526kellyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

La Cantina is a true gem. I have had the joy of dining here several times, with different friends, family and groups of people, and every time we have been treated to an incredible culinary experience. Chef Luigi is a true talent, and every dish he creates is a delicious celebration of ingredients. The restaurant itself is utterly charming and full of personality. Inside is cozy and intimate, and outside in the garden is beautiful, where we've loved spotting deer down the hill from the edge of the lawn before watching the sunset over several amazing courses paired with great local wines. Every dish we have enjoyed there has been incredible, so it's hard to list stand-outs, but the taglioni with duck and truffles, the slowcooked egg with truffles, the tiramisu "a modo Luigi" and the pistacchio white chocolate cheesecake have been particularly memorable.

It's hard to put into words what makes this place so special, but I really do believe it is the love with which owners Luigi and Cristina put into every detail, from the food to the wine list to the decor to the service. Everything is done with love and utter hospitality. You just have to go there yourself to understand! It holds a very special place in our hearts, and we can't wait to return. Grazie Luigi e Cristina, alla prossima!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lilibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

In a region not short on delicious food, I would highly recommend a trip to picturesque Cerreto to eat at La Cantina.

The first thing you'll notice is the wonderful atmosphere of the restaurant itself. Sophisticated but cozy, every detail suggests that a magical dining experience is imminent.

That suspicion is confirmed the moment the first dish arrives. Luigi, the chef, begins with Umbrian classics and adds his unique sense of flair and adventure to elevate each dish to new heights. The results are never pretentious but always beyond delicious. Special mention must go to the duck ragu and the cheesecake, two of the very best dishes I've had the pleasure of experiencing in Umbria.

The service is very friendly and helpful, and the value for money is nothing short of incredible. This is Michelin star-worthy food at Trattoria prices.

If you're thinking of a romantic dinner or even a night out away from Umbria's most touristy locations, it's well worth making the trip to Cerreto to sample La Cantina. You won't regret it!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

I had a meal in this restaurant twice and it was always amazing.Simple dishes cleverly revisited for a tasty explosion of flavors. I was pregnant the first time that I came, and It was a very hot summer, fortunately I found this restaurant in a perfect location, with interior rooms created from a cave with a cool temperature, a perfect "natural condition air". High suggested.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saracM6304BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Cantina also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Sellano, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Sellano, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing