We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Susa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I need to be completely fair: there is not a lot of choice in Susa, so the hotel might have lost a star due to this frustration.

It is the typical Italian hotel. With typical I mean an average hotel with a great entrance, average rooms with more or less well suited bathroom (the hair dryers did not work), more or less noicy.
The breakfast is OK.

So you can not do a lot of harm by choising it, but you won't do any good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've driven from the UK to Umbria many times. It's a long journey, which is best split over two days. And that's where the Hotel Napoleon proves its worth. It's clean, inexpensive and offers a great breakfast - all 10 in our latest party wanted to smuggle the pistachio cream out with them!

The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The air conditioning could be better but at this price, I was surprised to have air con at all.

They have a secure garage below the hotel - at 10 euros a night for a car (free for bikes) it's great value if you have a convertible or are nervous about security.

Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, there are plenty of places to eat within a 5 minute walk from the hotel in the lovely Italian Alpine town. I can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LoxiLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

2 friends and I stayed here for a night on our way across the Alps to Milan. The room was entirely clean and acceptable, despite a really low price. (Much lower than anything we would have gotten in Milan, a couple-hour drive away, and for 3 people.) The front desk people were very helpful when we asked our way to get to the Football Stadium in Milan. The hotel is in the centre of Susa, next to the post office, and several cafés and restaurants are close by. A good standard-style hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great value for money, friendly and helpful staff. Great variety and choice for breakfast. Our room was adequate although the aircon didn't work too well and smelt of smoke although it was non-smoking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was a ok, but a bit outdated. The bathroom seemed to be newly renovated though. The breakfast was ok. We stayed here for one night because we needed to stop over night after a long days drive in the alps. Otherwise I doubt that we would have stopped in Susa at all. There wasn't much to see.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

As most people we stayed here just as a stopove... didn't think much of Susa but then we didn't spend much time here. The hotel was grey and felt uncared for. The staff felt much the same! Our room was adequate. There doesn't seem to be much choice in the town and maybe that's why this one is suffering through lack of competition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the family room for one night and were very disappointed. It was drab and only marginally clean. Very old and battered furniture, beds and bathroom. We stayed in one or two other 3 star hotels which were much better. Not a great breakfast buffet and terrible coffee. Susa itself is a gem if you have time to stroll through the streets to see the Roman arch and amphitheater. We were lucky and walked to the amphitheater in the evening, by chance stumbling on a local group practicing for the June 24th parade in honor of St. John the Baptist - the band was playing and others were practicing the traditional flag waving/throwing - it was magical. As we were looking later at the Roman arch - dedicated in friendship to local Celtic tribes aligned with the Roman army - a man came out of his house and told us all about the arch, its decoration and writing. He didn't speak English, and we speak no Italian, but we all spoke French and we marvelled afterwards at how kind he was to take the time to tell us about the monument. We found this was typical of people on our trip - so many went our of their way with kindnesses.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Susa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Susa & Stazione
10.1 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#1 of 1 in Roure
127 reviews
8.1 mi away
Le Petit Fenestrelle
Le Petit Fenestrelle
#1 of 2 in Fenestrelle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Chez Toi
Hotel Chez Toi
#2 of 3 in Oulx
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fell Hotel
Fell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Susa
50 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Via del Sole
La Via del Sole
#1 of 5 in Susa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 44, 10059, Susa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Susa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Susa
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napoleon 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napoleon Hotel opened in 1970 and since than it's run with professionallity,enthusiasm and care by the Vanara family.During the years it has been widened, restructured and renewed many times and now it offers 62 modern rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with all comforts.Ambience are clean and elegant, atmosphere is simple and friendly, Napoleon Hotel, one of the best lodging properties in Susa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing