We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
178
122
40
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
122
40
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la spezia no lift the hotel staff cinque terre second floor convento village travelers mins
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 352 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Great service and people, we were in the junior suite which was way above our expectations! Also the spa is small but very relaxing:)
The small town is quiet and lovely, it s best to have a motorbike to drive around and go to the beaches around La Spezia, Lerici and 5 terre.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Luca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2017

Dear Luca W,
thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really satisfied when our guests appreciate their stay. We hope to have you as our welcome guest again.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

The hotel is a good choice for Cinque Terre travelers. It is far away from the crowd. It is well-priced. And it is in a mountain village where you can also experience some local culture. Nothing special about the rooms or breakfast. Everything is clean and simple. It takes around 20-30 mins to arrive at the hotel from La Spezia. There is parking space reserved for the hotel. There is no lift so if you room is in the second floor, you need to carry your luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImgeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear ImgeKS,
thank you for your review.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Found after a recommendation from a friend, this little hotel is a great place to find a moment of peace in your trip.
Make sure you book early to get the rooms on the garden side as the rooms above the street are really noisy in the morning and unless you've planned to do so early morning trekking could be a pain.
Nice little restaurant below in the garden and breakfast on the terrace is the best way to wake up.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2016

Dear Rory M,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to have you as our welcome guest again to offer you a pleasant stay in our charming and tranquil village.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

We have been there just one night but unfortunately in front of the reception so we heard the staff chatting during our afternoon nap and during the night. Absolutely unacceptable! Furthermore 25eu/pers for the wellness is out of the market. The room is nice and the village very romantic

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
Thank caolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear Caolino,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the staff chatter, they apologize for their unacceptable behavior. As for the price of the wellness, we have calculated it according to the costs it implies. Glad to read you liked the room assigned and the romantic village of Vezzano Ligure 
Come to visit us again, maybe choosing one of our special offer including the spa.
Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2015

...and yet, you are not going to be let down. The Relais is a former convent (Al Convento). It is right in the center of town, which, in this case, is a really cool, quirky, castle-cum-hamlet on a hill. The staff is actually attentive, which is not a given in Italy. The hotel itself has been heavily remodeled from its convent days, such that the nuns who once lived here would not recognize it. The plaster walls are done so as to reveal touches of brick underneath, with an ersatz sense of character and age, and yet the building has real character due to its history and age.

The rooms are all unique, and named for famous British poets who have made Liguria famous. They are also bright, spacious, airy, and appointed in details that would appeal to either the traveler seeking for an almost-spa, or the romantic get-away couple. The breakfasts are rather complete, for continental standards, much more like the typical German hotels than the typical Mediterranean hotels. Coffee is awesome. And there are two excellent restaurants in stumbling distance to the front door. There is a wonderful mosaic in the garden and the restaurant on the ground floor is entirely worth your while.

The nearby restaurants are in the same central square- Locando Del Viandante, which is in the Relais, and the Osteria Della Pietre, right across the way in one of the castle basements. Can't say enough good things about either, but I have reviewed them independently. All told, the visit to the Relais is a great means to get away from it all, while being near it all. If you are using public transport, I recommend only staying a day or two at most, so you can see more of the region in/from the main town, La Spezia, or the smaller towns of the Cinque Terre or Portovenere. But if you have a car (best to make it a small one), you can drive to everything you need to see and want to do. Vezzano Ligure is a classy and wonderful castle town, which one must rate alongside this hotel, because the two go together- either you are staying here and will thus experience this town, or you are not, and will not. If you are a photographer, you will love all the detailed touches this town has to offer from narrow corridors with parapet views of a riverine valley, to high plazas with towers at the corners, to downspouts shaped like dragons. Note, however, this town, seems to have more cats than people. Though, thankfully, the Relais is free of them- inside, at least.

Room Tip: Choose your favorite poet, by name.
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrOpaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear MrOpaki,
Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy you appreciated the hotel with its quirks and character and thank you for having emphasized the care of the staff. We are glad you loved the village of Vezzano Ligure, the description you made of it is very nice. I agree that here you can find a place where getting away from it all, while being near it all.
A warm greeting from Italy!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews