We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree - a great find, highly recommended base for Cinque terre and Liguria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Al Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Relais Al Convento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Regina Margherita 1 - Vezzano Basso, 19020 Vezzano Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
394 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Agree - a great find, highly recommended base for Cinque terre and Liguria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Found this hotel on the internet. It is located in a small village, on a mountain top, and can be seen for miles around. A Winding road leads uphill until you reach the village (and don't follow your GPS when it wants you to turn into the very narrow Mercato lane, continue on the main road to stay sane). The hotel now has added 8 parking spots, where you need a permit. Great!! The house is a former convent and is located behind the church (and Church bell tower) and contains a restaurant (good quality, separate review), a small spa and the hotel with close to 20 rooms and a terrace for coffee or breakfast. Breakfast is small, Italian style. Service is very efficient and friendly. All are very helpful in making reservations or giving information. Since we stayed for a full week, we got a Three beds room, which was perfect since we had a lot of luggage. Room is charming! Bathroom reasonably big and very clean, as all the premises. We ate several times in the village, and used the hotel as a base for our excursions around Liguria, all the way down to the northern part of Toscana, via Lerici, La Spezia, Portovenere, Riomaggiore/Cinque terre and Rapallo/Portofino and the surrounding Mountains. The uphill drive is a challenge the first time but once you get to know the road, it works fine. Village Life is peaceful and enchanting. The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and elegant at the same time. I would gladly go back another week!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear JanochBarbro,
thank you very much for your detailed review: it will be surely helpful to other people who like visiting our area! I am very happy you spent a pleasant stay here at Hotel Al Convento and I hope your journey around Italy was lovely. Thank you again for your kindness and friendliness.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    88
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
167
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a great place! We were a bit suspicious about the hotel when we booked because we thought the name was Hotel Albani (which we could not find on the internet). Had we have known the "real" name we would have seen all of the excellent reviews in TA. In any event, the hotel is located in the tiny village of Vezzano Ligure - way up in the hills. Yes, its a bit of a drive to La Spezia and Cinque Terre but it turned out to be no problem. We absolutely loved walking around the town. The hotel itself was very clean with large bedrooms. The bathrooms were good as well. We were lucky enough to have a door that opened to the back - overlooking the awesome mountains. The staff were all great. Very helpful. They even started breakfast for us at 7AM on the day we departed, instead of the usual 8 AM opening! There is no elevator at the hotel so there are certainly quite a few steps to walk up with heavy bags - but you'll get over it. Breakfast was great with lots of selections. Great coffee too. There is a nice balcony on the main floor that is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and meet the other guests before dinner. Speaking of dinner, you don't have to go far as the restaurant right next door is fantastic. Authentic local food (great pesto) is served each night. Great prices and quality! If you don't have a car, there is a local La Spezia bus that passes through the town on a regular basis that I'm sure would take you to the train station. We hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOakvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear TheOakvillian,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It’s fantastic to read how you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and the village of Vezzano Ligure. It has been very pleasant for us to have you as our guests: you are so nice! It would be amazing to have you here again in the future… Come back soon!
A hug from the whole staff :)
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chanced upon this hotel via TripAdvisor, and were very pleased. It's nestled in the heart of a very tiny hilltop village close to the Cinque Terre and made a great base for exploring the surrounding area. The hotel itself was lovely, great location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and helpful with all of our needs. I don't think there were many other hotels in this village which meant not many tourists, so the entire experience was wonderfully authentic. My only complaint was that the night manager stepped "outside" to smoke, and "outside" was a door right behind the reception desk, so the lobby always reeked of smoke. Other than that, it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creolecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear creolecruiser,
thank you very much for your review: we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel, the staff and the location. I’m sorry for the smoke, we will oblige the nigh porter to smoke somewhere else. We hope to have you as our welcome guests again if you come back to Italy!
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castronno, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice location, wonderful view both of the village and the surroundings.
Staff welcoming and very kind.
Enjoyed also dinner at the dehors of the restaurant, typical food of this area. Pesto was great, wide choice of good wines as well.
Room was huge and well furnished, although a little bit hot at arrival

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guidolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel has a stunning location on top of the hill. Very nicely appointed and spacious rooms. But the best part was having a drink at the local bar and having a meal where the locals eat. So we knew it was all authentic. There also a great little grocery store nearby with friendly owners. It's out of the way, and not really close to Cinque Terra. But the views and the real country atmosphere made it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagfromthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Difficult to find, but once you drive up the narrow winding road its worth it. We found the whole village charming and glad we stayed there on our way to Cinque Terre. The rooms we were given were nicely appointed , warm & comfortable with the only criticisms being the cramped shower recess & the long narrow flights of steps we could not avoid in carrying bags to reception and then to the rooms. Staff were friendly and accomodating while breakfast was fine. Managing your car, especially if a large one can be a challenge around this hotel and village but the views over a glass of wine at the local bar are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NosfromMaroubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, great customer service, located next to a wonderful little restaurant. Hotel room was clean. Location required use of a car but well worth the trip to get out of the city and experience the countryside & relax!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Launa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezzano Ligure
3.9 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
2.6 mi away
Hotel Locanda La Trigola
Hotel Locanda La Trigola
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano di Magra
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Al Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Al Convento

Property: Hotel Relais Al Convento
Address: Piazza Regina Margherita 1 - Vezzano Basso, 19020 Vezzano Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Vezzano Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Al Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Al Convento is situated in the medieval village of Vezzano Ligure, on the hills at the back of the Cinque Terre, only few kilometres away from the wonderful maritime villages of Lerici, San Terenzo and Portovenere, pearls of the Gulf of the Poets. Before the accurate restoration the hotel was an ancient cloister dating back to the XVI century. Today it keeps unchanged the charm and the mysticism of its origins. It has 18 rooms where guests can spend unique and exclusive stays at only 8 km from the sea.It has a check-in area, a private garden, Wi-Fi connection in a common area and restaurant with large choice of Ligurian typical dishes from both land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Relais Al Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Al Convento Hotel
Hotel Relais Al Convento Vezzano Ligure, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing