We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso
Ranked #2 of 3 Trecase B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is a little gem and I can't recommend it enough. Where do I begin? First the location... you may have never heard of Trecase (as I had not) but I was lucky enough to find it when I looked for BnB's in the Pompei area. In a far less touristy little village, but located most conveniently just one train stop away from the VIlla Oplonti, which as my Classics professor promised, is the best way to get a real taste of the luxury of the Pompei-ans because not only is it one of the best preserved villa's and one of the richest (it's called Oplonti because it is Oplonti) it is also blissfully secluded and free of corwds. I actually spent a few hours sitting along on a bench in a breezy corridor reading while the sun blazed in the unshaded portions. Really I should have had a copy of I Claudius!

But that's my rave review of the site.. back to the Gatto Rosso, and the lovely hosts Tina and Silvio, who as good as adopted my while I was there! Bed and breakfast, you say? Well I got Bed and dinners actually and the left overs for breakfast. And while they claim not to speak English, and my Italian is virtually non-existent we communicated just fine.. every evening over the dinner TIna cooked (or ordered) we'd converse.. with her practising English (she is a French teacher so has a facility for languages) and me parsing together sentences in Italian. Because I had requested, they actually picked me up at the train station (which was sorely needed given my luggage) and when time came to leave they actually drove me back to Naples treating me to gelato on the. LIke I said, they adoped me and it was the perfect kick off to my summer. The only gattos (cats) by the way are the red (rosso) ones dangling off the keys, but they do have a lovely large retriever, a cane bianco (or biondo depending on how you choose to characterize it) named Paco. He also came on my farewell trip! And be sure to tap them for information about local eateries. After Vesuvio I spent a week in Ischia, where in a sea of great feasts, one of the greatest was at La capenina (sp?) a restaurant they recommended eating Corniglia (rabbit) a dish also recommended by them as the local speciality. Both local and food were fabulous.

So I for sure will make a return trip there, just not sure when. Grazie mille Tine & Silvio.

Room Tip: My guess is that they're all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neeraja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

One of the highest points of our trip to Italy was our stay at the Gatto Rosso which was really great.
The hosts went out of their way from the first contact to helping us find our way to their home. Every morning, there was fresh slice ham and cheese; it was a very special service.
They also showed us some tricks in getting around by car and how to catch the local buses and trains.
All in all, it was a great stay and I would recommend this B&B to anyone heading for Naples.
Of all the places we ate while on our trip around Italy, this is one restaurant that stands out in our memory; the good was good and reasonably priced.
What made it special was the really friendly service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cidinha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely ground floor apartment in a villa in a residential area, walking distance from the Circumvesuvia train station, IF you are OK with schlepping luggage over the characteristically narrow cobblestone streets up hill. Tina and Silvio are lovely, but don't speak much English, so it can be a little problematic for English-only speakers. Very convenient for visiting Pompeii, less for visiting Naples or Sorrento, but not bad. Our room ("Women Thinking") was large, very clean, with access to 2 terraces, one small and private, the other larger and communal. The communal kitchen/eating area was large, clean, relatively well appointed, with comfortable seating. If you want to cook at home, you could, but get supplies elsewhere - we couldn't find any markets nearby. The bed was pretty uncomfortable, very hard.
Il Gatto Rosso provides a taste of living in an Italian villa, complete with loud neighbors in an adjacent apartment. It was entertaining for us when the guy next door started to sing one afternoon! They would quiet down in the evening, so it wasn't a problem.
This would be a great place for a larger group of 6 or so people, if you could get all the rooms and wanted to do some of your own cooking.

Room Tip: The "Women Thinking" room is larger, and is more separated from the rest of the villa, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALDCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele-antonel... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GattoRosso-na, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GattoRosso-na, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GigiYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GattoRosso-na, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GattoRosso-na, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trecase
1.1 mi away
Palazzo Rosenthal
Palazzo Rosenthal
#1 of 1 in Trecase
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Il Giardino di Villa Anna
2.9 mi away
Casina de Goyzueta
Casina de Goyzueta
#1 of 13 in Torre Del Greco
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso

Address: Via Vesuvio 142, 80040 Trecase, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Trecase
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trecase
Price Range: $63 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Cat Bed & Breakfast is located in a quiet and charming independent villa on the slopes of Vesuvius and only 1 km from the sea: a strategic geographical position that allows easy access to major tourist destinations, thanks to the short distance (100 m) from the station circumvesuviana train service to continuous time in a few minutes to reach Pompeii (5 min.), Herculaneum (15 min.), Naples (25 min.), Sorrento (40 min.) Also very close to the A1 motorway Naples / Salerno (300 meters), ideal starting point for those heading to the Amalfi Coast (Amalfi, Positano, Ravello). The B & B, whose surface is about 100 square meters, has a comfortable and independent entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Il Gatto Rosso Italy/Trecase, Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing