We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming bar-trattoria at the crossroad from Castelvecchio Pascoli”

Osteria al Ritrovo del Platano
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Gallicano
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Charming bar-trattoria at the crossroad from Castelvecchio Pascoli”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Interesting food, well presented, reasonable price, good quality ingredients. Arrived late for lunch - around two thirty, but no problem eating. House wine more than acceptable: a good Lucca hills red. Enjoyable experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa55051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    81
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eat with the locals!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We asked our tour guide to take us to a place where the locals ate. He brought us here for lunch and there really were many local workers dining. The prices were incredible. I believe it was €10 for 2 or 3 courses. The food was very good and was exactly what we were looking for. If I go back to that area I will make a <bee line> for this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bedbug1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, PA USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'd Normally Pass it Up”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

...unless you were a local. Fortunately, we told our hotelier that we wanted a local place, non-tourista, with lots of love in the food. We got it. If you go in the fall during 'shroom season you'll have a host of choices. They understand gluten-free if (as I do) you need it and will accommodate and modify on the spot. The pastas, fish are great and they're know for their bistecca, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaszeg, Pest, Hungary
1 review
“Excellent Restaurant, don't miss it out!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

An excellent resaurant and well worth a visit! Had an exquisite meal there this year, and have had the pleasure of eating the chef's cuisine before, as he is popular with many and does catering for large gatherings.
The restaurant itself has a great, tuscan atmosphere and pleasant ambience, the service is fast and pleasant, but the main attraction is the food. The owner and head chef's cooking is wonderful and imaginative, with only the freshest ingredients and an especially good selection of seafood, in addition to the usual Tuscan recipes, and a ver broad selection of quality, often rarely found wines. He also cooks to order and will be happy to prepare a special dinner with recipes not found on the menu. Definitely one, if not the best restaurant in the Garfagnana area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bela_Abranyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in Garfagnana”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have eaten here several times, and each time we have been delighted with the quality of the food and variety of flavours. The seafood is especially good and is worth booking in advance. The calamari with porcini sauce is really good, as is the seafood pasta. The owner, Mauro, is an excellent and imaginative chef and has also a very good wine list. It is definitely worth visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 666Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria al Ritrovo del Platano also viewed

Barga, Province of Lucca
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
 
Barga, Province of Lucca
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Province of Lucca
 
Barga, Province of Lucca
Barga, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Osteria al Ritrovo del Platano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing