We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campione

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Campione
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Certificate of Excellence
Lomazzo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed there last night. The staff was very polite and professional.
When asked, they guided us to a very nice Pizzeria, close by and on the Lake.
Room 303 had a nice Terrace and great view of the Lake.
Decent sized rooms with great WiFi and the breakfast was also good.
Would surely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: 303 Was a nice Corner Room with a Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vids05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    55
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
38
139
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Traveling through Switzerland on the way to Cote d'Azur, we booked this hotel for one overnight. Immediately upon check-in, we were impressed with the hotel staff. They welcomed our two small dogs very warmly, and we were treated extremely well. We enjoyed the suite in Room 307. The balcony overlooks Lugano Lake and Lugano, and is accessible from both the bedroom and living room. TVs were in both rooms, with plenty of channels, including english. The room was very clean, and the furniture was in very good condition. The swimming pool was nice and clean, and the terrace above the pool was a nice place to spend the afternoon. We ordered two Sprizz which were delivered to the pool area. The hotel has its own restaurant and bar, and is not far from Campione d'Italia (a delightful Italian outpost that is completely surrounded by Switzerland, and has several restaurants and bars along the coastline of the lake.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for one of the Suites. You will not regret the extra expense. Room 307 has a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierinNuremberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Coming from Australia, I have stayed in this hotel three times, over the years, due to business in Lugano.
It is very good value (Switzerland is generally expensive). The rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel staff helpful and courteous. The hotel is on a different part of the lake from Lugano, but only 15 minutes away from that city by car. Whether you come from the north or south, it avoids major traffic. There is also a public bus service to Lugano that passes on the road below the hotel.

The swimming pool is great, suitable for fun or laps, positioned with views of the lake below.
I intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: See if you can upgrade to a more spacious or modernized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a triple room for 2 nights. The hotel is a little dated and worn, but the staff was very accomodating. We had a great view of the lake. The open air restaurant and pool area are very nice. Having breakfast on the terrace was a great start to the day. The buffet was good, the view was wonderful. Easy walk to the casino and restaurants along the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennee M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were a family of four adults and two children who were travelling to Tuscany from Switzerland [Zurich] . We hadn't prebooked a hotel room for our overnight stay and were pleasantly surprised that Hotel Campione were able to assist with a standard room which was divided into 2 rooms - the family of four being accommodated in the larger room and my spouse and me taking up the bed behind the wardrobe - small but adequate for an overnight stay.

The lake views from the restaurant and poolside area are incredible! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food served at dinner was delicious - the standard breakfast buffet was also of a high standard.

The only drawback for me was that I, unlike many of the other guests who have posted on this hotel, did not experience the so called peace and quiet - in fact, I never slept at all - was kept awake by the traffic all night long and then the service deliveries etc in the early hours of the morning - ended up sleeping in to try and catch up and headed for breakfast half an hour before it closed.

Room Tip: choose a room that doesn't overlook the street in front of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slagelse, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this hotel at Hotels.com and found it perfect for our demands. We decided to stay for three nights and had a fantastic stay. The staff and service where fantastic - Our room was super and with a lake view. The restaurant food was excellent and the breakfast buffet had normal standard. The weather was super, around 30 degrees (Celsius) all days so we spendthrift a lot of time in the pool area. The area around the hotel is very calm, if you want to have more exiting city life you can take the bus or boat (15 minutes) to Lugano. We were very satisfied with our stay at the hotel - try it!

Room Tip: A room with lake view makes a big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had my reservations when I was booked at this hotel for a medical conference to be held at Lugano. Located 10 k from the conference venue was not very exciting. And by taxi 55 CHF from Lugnao Train station does not come cheap. However, after a day I settled down well to like the place. It is quiet and you can go for a long walk by the lakeside. Another luxury is you can cross over from Switzerland to Italy in a minute, as the hotel is just at the broder. Front office staff was friendly and gave details of public transport. Hourly bus service to Lugano is 5 CHF one way. The standard rooms are pretty small, divided again into 2 parts by a wooden panel containing wardrobes on one side and light panel above head of the bed on the other. You can say it is cozy. I believe, family rooms are bigger. Bathroom was okay with a shower. I found out from front office that a few rooms have bathtubs as well. Restaurant on 2nd floor has a closed as well as open space. Breakfast has fewer options but for me it was sufficient. Had one dinner and the food was really good.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, not hill view one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bissone
3.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campione

Property: Hotel Campione
Address: via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Bissone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bissone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campione 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Campione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing