We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Friendly Service, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Europa Hotel Porlezza
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porlezza
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Hotel Europa is a small family-run hotel. We have stayed twice and will return again. Family Meoli and their staff are always friendly and helpful. When we needed help to purchase tickets for a concert in nearby Lugano, Pablo, our host, made the phone call and arranged for tickets to be picked up at the concert hall. We thought the food was excellent and varied. We especially enjoyed the evening salad buffets and the variety of pastas and sauces. The hotel faces the lake and is connected to other restaurants and shops by a lovely promenade. The rooms are basic, but very clean, and the lake view rooms offer balconies with breathtaking views. Lake Como is nearby to the east, and Switzerland only 15 minutes to the west. Walking is wonderful in any season. We love it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 86 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

We are a mid-sixties couple. Europa is an un-pretentious, clean, comfortable, family-run hotel in an enviable position on the lake shore. Pablo and his family and staff work very hard together and were always polite, helpful and happy. Our hol was half-board and the set meal was perfectly adequate and well-prepared. Alternative menu was available. Good wine list and bar. Our room was second floor, side lake view with balcony. This had sun for most of day and could see the lake and mountains perfectly well (but obviously a Front lake view would be a great view). The room and bathroom were large and the bed firm but comfortable for us. Holiday was with Voyages Jules Verne and we thought it was good value for money and gave us just what we needed for our first visit to Italy. Porlezza is a small town and (in October) is quiet and tranquil. Don't expect much night life. Good walks, good bus service to Lake Como and to Lugano (Switz). Porlezza Tourist Info office had closed for season when we got there but excellent TI in Menaggio which is a public transport hub for other places. Do the trip from Lugano back to Porlezza by boat. It a lovely trip.
We would go back to Hotel Europa and Porlezza again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincsPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

We found this family run hotel friendly and welcoming when we stayed there with Jules Verne. The weather was perfect and there are good walks in the area. The local information bureau were very helpful on where to go and what to see. Everything in the town is only a few minutes walk away.
Pablo his family and staff are always there for you ready to sort out any queries or problems.
Pablo speaks good English, also German and French.
There is a large beautifully presented dining room and bar and you can also eat on the terrace, which we did each night.
It is worth upgrading to a balcony room to make the most of the wonderful views of the lake and to watch the herons each day. We had a corner room so had balconies on two sides, also a large bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the whole atmosphere bright and airy. the whole hotel is very clean and there is a lift to all floors including the roof terrace.
There wasn't a choice of menu for Jules Verne guests but there was for others. The food was always homemade and well cooked and the first course always Italian. The menu was different every night of our stay.
As the road between the hotel and the lake was not open to through traffic it was quiet and peaceful and we would happily stay there again.
Some areas of the hotel could be updated, perhaps painted a paler but brighter colour outside, and the lounge made more cheerful, it was quite dark.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrottersCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

This COULD be a really great little hotel. It has a lovely location on the shores of Lake Lugano in this friendly small town a bus ride from the Swiss border. However, with no real competition from other hotels, they just do as much as they need to. We travelled with Voyages Jules Verne, who had decided that there would be no choice of food - bad news. This hotel does not cater for people who enjoy Italian food. If you like chicken and chips, if you think pasta can be served as a main course, if your idea of a sweet dish is a blob of ice-ceam with a squirt of aerated cream from a can at each end, then you will not be disappointed. With the exception of the manager, no one here tries hard. The staff are not particularly friendly (unusual for Italy, we have found) and the place is all a bit tired. However, Porlezza is good base to see other places, so don't be too put off. Use this hotel as a bed and breakfast-only base and eat elsewhere. There are plenty of much better places to eat at, serving lovely local food at reasonable prices (fresh fish from the lake - fantastic!) and friendly staff, too. Don't accept mediocrity - or it will spread!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alivon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Location location location. This hotel has great views of the lake. The Hosts are very friendly and the service first class. Compared to the hotels we stayed in in Rome and Venice this is best value. Would recommend to our best friends.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jbgms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Have just returned from a really lovely week at this hotel which is a real, honest, friendly family run 3 star hotel with a prime view across the Italian part of Lake Lugano.

There are not many hotels in Porlezza.

The rooms are clean and comfortabe. The bed was a bit on the firm side but that's my preference anyway.

It is well worth paying the extra £50 for a room at the front of the hotel with lake view and balcony. The views of Lake Lugano and the surrounding hills are just magnificent. Paying for a view of the very small part of the lake visible from a room at the side of the hotel would probably not be good VFM.

The food provided, although not from a sophisticated menu, is nevertheless well-prepared, plentiful and wholesome.

The staff appeared to be very hard working with 14-16 hour days seeming to be the norm for most of them.

Porlezza is a small, old quaint town that is not very commercialised. It was possible to wander around at will and crime, vandalism, rowdy behaviour etc were never an issue.

The only downside is the roads around the lake which in keeping with the other lakes (Como, Maggiore etc) are narrow and hazardous - better to let somebody familiar with these roads do the driving!

My lasting memory will be the friendliness of all the staff especially the hotel manager and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HairyHitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Because the weather on the border of France and Switzerland was awful during the summer vacation weeks we were planning to spent at home, we decided to escape for a couple of days to tank some sun. Since there wasn't much free hotel room available around lake Lugano that was also price worthy we were more or less glad to have found a room available in Hotel Europa in Porlezza (Italy), Lake Lugano.
The road from Lugano to Porlezza was quite narrow with a lot of heavy traffic. Porlezza is a very small village with mainly two streets with tourist shops. We arrived too early and had to wait for two hours before we received the key to the room. We had booked a room with view on the Lake Lugano and had expected to have a room on the front side with a left to right view on the lake. However, the rooms on the right side of the hotel apparently were also labelled as rooms with a view on the lake. Indeed, standing on the balcony you could see part of the lake (see pictures). Arguing about it with the reception didn't bring much, except the promise that if a room would become available on the front side of the hotel later that week we could move.
Rooms were bright and clean. The bathroom quite small and the shower wasn't quite up to regular standards. The mattrasses on the beds were very hard and prevented sleeping in long.
The owner of the hotel managed the reception and was sometimes helped out by his father who also ran the kitchen. Both were always friendly and helpful.
Regular guests that stayed in the hotel were aged people, 70plus, who had fixed seats in the dining room. Breakfast contained a lot of sweet stuff. Not much of cheese or some variety in choice of meat. But I have this thing with breakfasts. If the first meal isn't right, thereafter it doesn't take much to spoil my day completely.
We dined only once at the hotel and the quality wasn't as such that we had to have to do it again so we went out all other nights. Lots of restaurants were in the neighbourhood.
It was said that there was a guarded swimming pool in the neighbourhood of the hotel but we never managed to find it. Instead, there was a small area with a landing-stage in front of the hotel and the outward row of docking places was public and could be used for sunbathing and swimming. During the time we were there, I was the only person making use of this possibility. On the roof of the hotel some sunbathing chairs were present.

I have to say that we were happy that we were able to escape the sadness of the summer rain up north and could stay in hotel Europa for a week and enjoy the sun around lake Lugano. The hotel staff (father, mother, son) were friendly and helpful, but the place gives the impression that it lacks good management. It needs considerable investments to improve the outside of the hotel and to modernize the dining hall, the sun roof and the parking place and to reverse the impression that the place has been ran down.

If you just want to stay a couple of nights and visit places during the day time, and only care for a clean room then there is nothing against choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank teake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlezza
0.7 mi away
Hotel Antico Crotto
Hotel Antico Crotto
#1 of 3 in Porlezza
22 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
1 mi away
Residenza Lago di Lugano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parco San Marco Lifestyle Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Il Mulinum
Agriturismo Il Mulinum
#3 of 4 in Porlezza
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residenza Porto Letizia
Residenza Porto Letizia
#3 of 6 in Porlezza
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel Porlezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel Porlezza

Address: Lungolago Giacomo Matteotti 19, 22018, Porlezza, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Porlezza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porlezza
Price Range: $116 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel Porlezza 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Europa Hotel Porlezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porlezza Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing