We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Backpacking/Camping

Stayed overnight. It would be funny if i gave low star rating because it rained and was cold, LOL... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2019
Chris68104
,
Omaha, Nebraska
Had a blast hiking around Hitchcock Nature Center

It was our first time visiting and we will definitely be back! It’s a quick 20-30 min drive north... read more

Reviewed May 7, 2019
nsaltz17
via mobile
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
37
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
37
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loess hills great scenery camping area tower birds hike omaha migration rvs hitchcock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 44 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

The Hitchcock Nature Center is located in the Loess Hills north of Omaha/Council Bluffs. There are miles of trails to pick from ranging from easy to hard. The trail heads are marked with the difficulty level. There is even a boardwalk. The trails meander through trees, prairies, and the ridge lines. The trails are very natural, think dirt/grass so if its rained or is raining wear appropriate gear. There are a few different spots one can have a picnic at.
The nature center has a lot of hands on activities kids 10 and younger would enjoy. There are telescopes as well as an observation tower to climb. The nature center also has a small gift shop and really nice restrooms. There are lots of activities throughout the year so check ahead on their website to see if there is something you would like to attend.
There is also a small campground and archery (we saw the sign for archery but didn't go investigate)
We really enjoyed our 2.5 miles hike we did. It is so calm there. No traffic noise, just nature :) If you are looking for a great hiking spot you will love it here.
FYIs:
Our gps got us close to the nature center but wanted us to turn off into some trees a couple of times; however it got us close enough that we could just follow the road and find our way.
There is a $2.00 daily fee or you can purchase a $10.00 yearly pass. When you get to the entrance it is a self serve kiosk. Take an envelope, fill it out, deposit your $2.00
Dogs are allowed as long as they are on a leash; just not in the nature center.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank SillyG2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We came for the CWS and the places in town we're full. This campground is 20 minutes from downtown Omaha. It's in a lovely spot, up on a hill. Hiking abounds! We found a great pond on one of our walks. Every evening when we came home after dinner we could take a walk in a different direction! Wifi. Showers. Electricity. Dump site on the property. We met lots of locals that come to camp there as well as folks that come back year after year!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank MontanaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

We recently discovered this park and have made several trips this winter to hike with our dog. The park has many trails from easy to somewhat challenging. The scenery and the terrain makes you forget your in Iowa. The most beautiful park I've found within 30 minute drive from Omaha.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank mattk361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

One of the best places to experience the Loess Hills. I recommend hiking on the trail. Some of the can be really challenging.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Tyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

My baby, toddler and I had a great hike today. I stuck to the "blue trails" in Fox Ridge which are indicated as easy. I was able to take my double jogging stroller on the path. My toddler loved talking about the plants, bugs, birds and views! We got to the end of the trail to the lookout point, only to be rewarded with a Union Pacific train whistle and then the train passing by! My toddler LOVES trains!

The trail signposts are EXCELLENTLY and very easy to follow.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews