We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The honeymooners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hosteria Mattta

Hosteria Mattta
Reserve with
Hosteria Mattta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in San Venanzo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We do serve ONLY set menus because we use fresh daily ingredients, according to the season and Umbria traditions. We kindly ask you to inform us about any intolerance or allergy, we will be more than pleased to offer you a delicious alternative!
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The honeymooners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

If we could rate this 6/5 we would. It is a true hidden gem and a little slice of heaven. The welcoming atmosphere and personalised service make this a must visit if you are in Umbria, and well worth the trip if not.

Flavia the hostess and cook was INCREDIBLE. After learning that one of our favourite foods was truffles, she rejigged the main course to give us a five course taste adventure. We came for dinner and stayed for breakfast in this idyllic location set in the Umbrian hills. We very much encourage everyone to do the same and can't wait for an excuse to go back! Love Emma and Sam (the honeymooners) xxxxxxx

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Huei_xian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    10
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smashing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

From making the reservation to leaving the restaurant this has been a most magical experience.
Very friendly staff, wonderful location, even though it does take some effort to reach the place, exellent food, great wines, very nice atmosphere, this place is the best restaurant we ever visited.
A starter, six magical courses, vino bianco di casa, some other wines at course number five, this evening has been worth every euro spend!
Whenever we will be back in the area we will for 100% sure visit Flavia and her staff again, dining at her place is dining on high level (it's not just for nothing I called my girlfriend principessa).
Flavia and staff, we would like to thank you once again for the superb evening, we will be back, but this time we will book a place to spend the night without one of us having to drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosenSanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTERIAMATTTA, Proprietario at Hosteria Mattta, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Thank you! It will be a real pleasure to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicioso!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Flavia carefully planned a menu to encompass only the best seasonal ingredients. Not only did she educate us about the most delicious food from this particular region, she served each course with an introduction, just like we were in a five star restaurant! And the food was no different than an award winning place. Flavia cooks with a passion and attention to detail that is unparalled. The best meal, however, was the one we made ourselves when Flavia hosted a cooking class in her kitchen! What fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joano777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTERIAMATTTA, Proprietario at Hosteria Mattta, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Thank you!!!! I would love to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I would move there just for the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hosteria Mattta is like no place you have ever been before. The service is top notch, the atmosphere is cozy and warm, the presentation is award winning. With all that, it doesn't even come close to how amazing the food tastes.

The foods available are according to the season as Flavia does not favor processed or preserved type foods. Everything she and her staff makes is fresh from the garden and you can definitely taste it.

I lead a group called Bite of Italy and we were all lucky enough to do a cooking lesson with Flavia in the Hosteria Mattta kitchen. I have been in a lot of kitchens in Italy and they are very different from the USA when it comes to sanitary requirements, etc. Not in Flavia's kitchen though. Everything was sparkling clean, she made a very big deal of making sure we worked in a sanitary manner and everything stayed clean. She even has a separate area for gluten free cooking and NOTHING with gluten goes near it. I was very impressed with this.

I have had some very good meals in Italy, but at Hosteria Mattta I had magical culinary experiences. Thank you to Flavia and staff!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithDrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTERIAMATTTA, Proprietario at Hosteria Mattta, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Lovely to have you here......! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine italian cooking in a Shangri-La setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Owner/chef Flavia does not compromise on quality only the freshest and the best will do, and this is apparent when you taste her dishes. The menu varies according to the season but I don't think one will be ddisappointed any time of year. And Le Felcete is a heavenly place to stay for a relaxing weekend. Give it a try!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosteria Mattta also viewed

San Venanzo, Province of Terni
San Venanzo, Province of Terni
 
San Venanzo, Province of Terni
San Venanzo, Province of Terni
 
Monte Castello di Vibio, Province of Perugia
Todi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Hosteria Mattta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing