We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd love to come back anytime. Don't think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casale San Bartolomeo
Ranked #2 of 5 San Venanzo B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'd love to come back anytime. Don't think twice”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Casale San Bartolomeo for 4 nights. this is by far the best, most enjoyable place we stayed in during our visit to Italy, and the others where considerably more expensive. 3 reasons for that: (a) location location location - Casale San Bartolomeo is less than 15 minutes away from the highway. It's about an hour drive from eveyr major spot in Umbria - Assisi, Peruja, Orvieto. It is close to villages (where you can visit the Monday market, have dinner in a restaurant or withdraw money from a bank) - and yet it's completely quiet and away from the noise. It takes a 750 mr. drive on a dirt road (well kept!) to get there, and when you stop the engine - you're surrounded by nature and hear the singing of birds. Fabulous; (b) The house, yard and rooms are great. It has all the comfort and yet it is not flashy. The garden is full of flowers. There's a swimming pool in the yard (early October was already a bit cold to use it). A reading room is situated at the first floor as well as a dining room. The bedrooms are the second floor. Ours was just the right size, with two windows. A table was missing, but other than that - perfect; (c) Gabriele, the owner: he is friendly,landing a helping hand in case of need (we asked for his assistance with the rental car company and he gladly helped), gives great advise about the area (wineries to visit, restaurants to dine in, market days, places to visit etc.) - and he's doing that without being pushy. On top of that - he is a chef, who's willing (for 25 Euro/person) to cook dinner for you, and he really excels in that. Don't miss it. Again, perfecto.

We'd love to come back anytime. Don't think twice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view ("camera con vista") - the only room with two windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaRav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
71
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monticelli Terme, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Casale San Bartolomeo for three nights in July. The place is wonderful, peaceful, relaxed and with the added bonusof a pool. It is also very well placed to visit areas of interest in Umbria (of whihc there are plenty!)

Gabriele & Ana are wonderful hosts, and given we have a young family we opted to eat at the casale each night of our stay, which proved to be a great decision. The kids played with gabriele & ana's kids whilst we sat on the terrace and drank good wine and ate delicious food prepared by gabriele.

All in all a great stay and we wish we could have stayed longer, but hopefully we will be back. Thank you also to Gabriele for locating and posting to us the kindle that we left behind!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedvardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Haven't even slept here yet but know already that this is a great place . Pool is fantastic. Country side is beautiful and way peaceful. Smells coming from the kitchen, for our dinner we decided to opt for this evening, are enticing. We are looking forward to the tastes which I am sure will prove to be superb. If ther is anything negative to report, I will. But, so far this is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Bilt, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place was a little paradise. A beautiful house in lovely surroundings. If you like nature and peace, this is a good place. The rooms are beautifully furnished, clean and pleasant. Gabriele and Ana are very welcoming and friendly, always willing to give advise about where to go and where to eat etc. Gabriele is a very good cook, so it is recommended to have at least once dinner at his place. There is a nice swimming pool, which wasn't open yet when we stayed there (May). Simply one of the best places imaginable to spend some days (or better yet, weeks). You can easily stay at least a week, cause there are many nice places to visit in the vicinity. For example Perugia, Todi, Orvieto, Assisi, Spello and Lago Trasimeno are all within an hour by car. The nearby village Marsciano hosts all of your basic needs (supermarkets, restaurants, farmacies, etc).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoudvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

The only thing my wife and I wish we could change about our stay at Casale is that we would have stayed longer. The owner Gabriele is the best. He is helpful, and right there when you need him. He has great advice as to where to go, and what to see. What we enjoyed most is his cooking! He is an awesome chef! We are in Italy on a 2 week trip, and his cooking by far has been the best. You can't go wrong staying at the Casale San Bartolomeo!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a lovely countryside villa with stunning views of the Umbrian countryside. It is maintained beautifully by Gabriele and Anna, and they made us feel very welcome and well-cared for. They were helpful with directions and advice for day-trips out to Assisi, Gubbio, Spello, Spoleto, Perugia, and other sites within easy driving distance. In addition, Gabriele offers a dinner option that we highly recommend. His meals were among the very best we had in our three week tour of Italy. He specializes in Umbrian cuisine served beautifully and with local complimentary wines. Grazie, Gabriele and Anna, for a lovely visit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the corner with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've been home 1 day after our 3 week Tuscany and Umbria vacation and are already planning our return to Casale San Bartolomeo! Our week there was a highlight of our vacation. Gabriele and Anna were wonderful hosts. After touring around all day it was so relaxing to arrive back to the countryside in the late afternoon, sit on the patio sipping a local wine and have Gabriele surprise us with a wonderful dinner made with fresh local ingredients. His tips for what to see in the area were invaluable. Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbA490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Venanzo
6.1 mi away
Abbazia Collemedio
Abbazia Collemedio
#1 of 1 in Collepepe
217 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais Villa Valentini
Relais Villa Valentini
#1 of 1 in San Venanzo
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Santa Maria
Agriturismo Santa Maria
#1 of 14 in San Venanzo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Il Posto delle More
Il Posto delle More
#3 of 5 in San Venanzo
80 reviews
30.9 mi away
No photo provided
La Casa di Piandelbello
#12 of 14 in San Venanzo
5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tulliola
Hotel Tulliola
#5 of 5 in San Venanzo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale San Bartolomeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale San Bartolomeo

Property: Casale San Bartolomeo
Address: Vocabolo San Bartolomeo 30, 05010 San Venanzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > San Venanzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in San Venanzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Umbrian Farmhouse with swimming pool, culinary lesson & Wine tours. We offer you full immersion in the Italian lifestyle, focusing on wine, olive oil and food tasting in undiscovered and unspoilt Umbria.Here our guests become part of an Italian family and enjoy nature and the pleasures of life lived slowly. The property includes a 300 m2 old stone farmhouse and a two-hectare estate with a garden and a swimming pool surrounded by trees and greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casale San Bartolomeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing