We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great service.”
Review of Lario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lario Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a pretty, well managed hotel and we spent two lovely days here.

We had a large, comfortable, quiet room with a spacious patio, looking out to the hills behind the hotel. The view from the upper floors facing Lake Como have great views of the Lake which could be requested when booking. Since we were with a group tour our rooms were allocated.

A lovely pool area and restaurant where excellent food was served, including a generous breakfast buffet added to an enjoyable two day stay.

Staff are efficient and helpful.

There is free wi-fi and the hotel has its own garage.

If there is one drawback it is the hotel's location on the " land" side of the Lake as opposed to the " shore" side of the Lake. As one leaves the hotel towards Cadanabbia there is no pavement and a narrow road with a steady flow of traffic -- which makes walking dangerous.
The road leading to Mezzegra does have a narrow pavement and it is possible to walk, single file. We would have loved to step out of the hotel and stroll along the Lake shore , but this was not possible.

The Little Train which provides transport between shore side towns , passes by the hotel and stops a little further on, so getting around is possible even if one does not have a vehicle.

Near the town of Mezzegra and within walking distance of the Lario is the spot where Mussolini was captured and killed by the Partisans.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the Lake have great Lake views -- but be aware that there could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights, great welcome and service, good room although if you want a fantastic view ask for one facing the lake, drawback is that this side also fronts the road which is extremely noisy. Bathroom was something to behold compared to most, excellent. The Hotel Restaurant is about the only local decent place to eat but the food was very average. Breakfast was terrific though. Nice pool and outdoor areas for sitting and having coffee or a drink.

Room Tip: See above re view versus road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is very nice, very clean and the employees are extremely gentle and wanting to help at all times.
This would be a 5 star review if it was not for the Air Conditioning in the rooms. This AC is in fact working 24h even if you turn it off. When you do so, it switches back on after a few hours at 24º which is quite cold to sleep. In addition, the matress is very hard and you can feel all steel coils against your body...
Too bad we had this issue, because everything else is just perfect.

Room Tip: Only two rooms per floor are facing the mountain... All the rest are facing the lake and you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hotel is ideally located to visit all major sightseeings of Lake Como. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the covered car park with elevator directly to the floors a very nice facility. The owners and the staff are very helpful and extremely friendly. I would come back at any time to stay again, lovely experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabinler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

8-13-13
Hotel Lario
Italy
N 45 58.900
E 009 12.633

The hotel is very old style run by a family. They are very friendly people. Dinner and breakfast was outstanding. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a nice balcony. If you can, try and get a room in the front overlooking the lake. The rooms were medium size. This is another hotel where just inside the door you insert your key card to turn on the power. The bath also has a bidet and good hair dryer.

Emry & Virginia
Yuma, AZ. USA

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great value hotel for Lake Como. This was a celebration trip for my birthday and so we requested a nice room with a view. The hotel did not dissappoint with a 3rd floor room with double aspect patio doors each with a balcolny overlooking a fantastic view of the lake at the front and the hillside and village to the side (where we sat with a glass of wine each evening, glasses provided by hotel - there is a small supermarket in the village a short walk away). However, please be aware the hotel is on a very busy road so it is loud, but that's maybe the sacrifice for having such a lovely view, but once patio doors are shut the noise cannot be heard. The hotel has underground parking at E5 a night which has to be booked in advance. The room and ensuite were both large and were spotlessly clean and looked as though it had been recently reburbished/decorated. The room had a large double bed with comfortable linen, but we thought the mattress was a little lumpy, a large wardrobe, a dressing table area including a fridge, tv and air conditioning. The staff were all really pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was good with unlimited continental style food. We thought the pool was a disappointing as it was a good size, but the area around it very limited and crowded with only two umbrellas for shade which made it very difficult as it was so hot. Towels were provided for the poolside. We had a late flight back so to make use of the whole day we freshened up using the outside shower by the pool and changed in the toilets adjacent to reception. It would have been better to have a small room with a basic shower and changing facilities instead which we've used at several other hotels/accommodation we've stayed at previously. Be aware the hotel is on a busy road which makes walking to the adjacent villages Tremezzo and Lenno difficult as there is intermitent pavement. We had a meal in the local restaurant by the lake called 'Magnolia' which was good. However, we walked the other two nights to Lenno and would recommend the Sports Bar right on the lakeside which has a basic menu (pizza/pasta) with wine and bread etc at E25 to E35 for two - cheap as chips but very good! We also used the ferry/boat trip from Lenno (day ticket at E15 each to travel to the main tourist villages in the centre of the lake which is well worth doing) as we felt it was a little quicker and safer to go from there as opposed from Tremezzo. We warned many of the restaurants/establishments do not use credit/debit cards and will only accept cash (and that includes buying your ticket for the ferry!)

Room Tip: Choose a high level room to front for great views of lake, but for a quieter room chose the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here 1 night ,place is 15 minute drive from centre. Girl at reception was very nice. Our room was facing the lake on the 3rd floor and had the most amazing views of the lake.
The room was very large with a king bed, mattress was ok but pillows were too soft for me anyway.
Room had cupboard, fridge,bathroom , was big but soap was scarce.
Air conditioner didn't work in our room but at 2.30 am it decides to auto turn itself on very loudly, which woke us up.
Wifi was free but also didn't work in our room.
Place had a pool. Breakfast was ok pastries, cakes, breads,cheeses,salami, tinned fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee,juices. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mezzegra
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,179 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
9.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lario Hotel

Address: Via Regina Teodolinda 48 | Tremezzina, 22010 Mezzegra, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mezzegra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Price Range: $86 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lario Hotel Mezzegra, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing