We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to visit most beautiful lake Como sightseeings”
Review of Lario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lario Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hotel is ideally located to visit all major sightseeings of Lake Como. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the covered car park with elevator directly to the floors a very nice facility. The owners and the staff are very helpful and extremely friendly. I would come back at any time to stay again, lovely experience!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabinler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 270 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

8-13-13
Hotel Lario
Italy
N 45 58.900
E 009 12.633

The hotel is very old style run by a family. They are very friendly people. Dinner and breakfast was outstanding. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a nice balcony. If you can, try and get a room in the front overlooking the lake. The rooms were medium size. This is another hotel where just inside the door you insert your key card to turn on the power. The bath also has a bidet and good hair dryer.

Emry & Virginia
Yuma, AZ. USA

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great value hotel for Lake Como. This was a celebration trip for my birthday and so we requested a nice room with a view. The hotel did not dissappoint with a 3rd floor room with double aspect patio doors each with a balcolny overlooking a fantastic view of the lake at the front and the hillside and village to the side (where we sat with a glass of wine each evening, glasses provided by hotel - there is a small supermarket in the village a short walk away). However, please be aware the hotel is on a very busy road so it is loud, but that's maybe the sacrifice for having such a lovely view, but once patio doors are shut the noise cannot be heard. The hotel has underground parking at E5 a night which has to be booked in advance. The room and ensuite were both large and were spotlessly clean and looked as though it had been recently reburbished/decorated. The room had a large double bed with comfortable linen, but we thought the mattress was a little lumpy, a large wardrobe, a dressing table area including a fridge, tv and air conditioning. The staff were all really pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was good with unlimited continental style food. We thought the pool was a disappointing as it was a good size, but the area around it very limited and crowded with only two umbrellas for shade which made it very difficult as it was so hot. Towels were provided for the poolside. We had a late flight back so to make use of the whole day we freshened up using the outside shower by the pool and changed in the toilets adjacent to reception. It would have been better to have a small room with a basic shower and changing facilities instead which we've used at several other hotels/accommodation we've stayed at previously. Be aware the hotel is on a busy road which makes walking to the adjacent villages Tremezzo and Lenno difficult as there is intermitent pavement. We had a meal in the local restaurant by the lake called 'Magnolia' which was good. However, we walked the other two nights to Lenno and would recommend the Sports Bar right on the lakeside which has a basic menu (pizza/pasta) with wine and bread etc at E25 to E35 for two - cheap as chips but very good! We also used the ferry/boat trip from Lenno (day ticket at E15 each to travel to the main tourist villages in the centre of the lake which is well worth doing) as we felt it was a little quicker and safer to go from there as opposed from Tremezzo. We warned many of the restaurants/establishments do not use credit/debit cards and will only accept cash (and that includes buying your ticket for the ferry!)

Room Tip: Choose a high level room to front for great views of lake, but for a quieter room chose the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here 1 night ,place is 15 minute drive from centre. Girl at reception was very nice. Our room was facing the lake on the 3rd floor and had the most amazing views of the lake.
The room was very large with a king bed, mattress was ok but pillows were too soft for me anyway.
Room had cupboard, fridge,bathroom , was big but soap was scarce.
Air conditioner didn't work in our room but at 2.30 am it decides to auto turn itself on very loudly, which woke us up.
Wifi was free but also didn't work in our room.
Place had a pool. Breakfast was ok pastries, cakes, breads,cheeses,salami, tinned fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee,juices. Staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here recently as part as a tour group. Lovely hotel with nice rooms. Small swimming pool in the grounds accessed through a large conservatory. Good buffet breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. However it is situated next to a busy main road,

Room Tip: Whilst good views of the lake from the front, if you need quieter stay in a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near the shore of the lake. It has a swimming pool and an underground parking. The rooms at the back, though they don't have a lake view are much quieter and there's a nice view on the mountains on the other side.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel Lario,is situated on lake Como, close to Tremezze and the very pitoresque cities of Bellagio and Varenna, along the (very) busy road that runs around the lake.
If you are smart enough to ask for a room on the backside, facing the hills, you will not hear a thing and enjoy a perfect night of sleep.
The rooms must have been refurbished recently, and are very spaceous, cool, decorated with good taste, using quality materials. The tv-set looks a bit like an anomaly in that perspective, but who needs a tv in such a place anyway?
I found the personnel very friendly and efficient, anticipating even.
Breakfast buffet has everything you could wish. Lunch and dinner are a weak impression of the Italian cuisine. Must be because busloads of (american and english) tourists are transiting through this place and need to be fed. On top, in a very touristy area like this, it always is a challenge to find authentic food. I would say: if you happen to be near the hotel at that time of day (but why would you?) have lunch there at a bargain 10 €. For dinner, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room at the backside, away from the street, facing the hills. And, get a parking spot in the underg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvs1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mezzegra
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,162 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
472 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
13.5 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lario Hotel

Address: Via Regina Teodolinda 48 | Tremezzina, 22010 Mezzegra, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mezzegra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Price Range: $103 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lario Hotel Mezzegra, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing