We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous hotel”
Review of Lario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lario Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights on a group on half board deal. Hotel was exceptionally clean and bright, staff were very friendly and helpful. Traditional Italian style which has been tastefully modernised. Pool was warm with wonderful view. We had a lake view which was stunning and balcony. Although hotel situated on a busy road traffic noise could not be heard when patio doors closed. Air conditioning was efficient and unobtrusive, rooms spacious and comfortable. Free wifi always available. Food was always fresh and tasty, not a lot of choice but well balanced menu. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

We would not, however, recommend the holiday agent holidays booked as we had to constantly email and phone to obtain confirmation docs and we had to wait 3 hours to be picked up from Milan by their transfer agent and had to phone several times the day before departure to arrange pick up. The transport arrived in an old Astra estate, boot wouldn't open and had two other passengers in the car so we could just about get luggage in and everyone was squashed. Seat belts didn't work and the driver didn't use his, drove with one hand whilst using the phone. We got the impression that holidays booked only informed the transfer agent 24 hrs before pick up and waited until customers phoned to complain.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 268 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel through a Groupon deal. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and accomodating; we requested a room at the back of the hotel, as we had read reviews saying that there was traffic noise at the front, and we were shown a couple of rooms to choose from. We chose a room on the top floor, and this was was modern, clean, had a useful fridge and a little balcony, and had beautiful views of the mountains. The bed was comfy, and the air conditioning worked perfectly.

Breakfasts were of the expected Continental style, with a decent amount of choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, meat, cheese and pastries, and a good selection of teas. We stayed on a half-board basis, and so for dinner there was a set menu with a two choices of starter and main, and one dessert. Overall the starters and desserts were the best; the mains were very average at the start of the week, but by the end of the week were very good. There was the option to choose from the a la carte menu instead of the set menu - we were told that we had a 20 Euro "allowance" per dinner, so anything off the a la carte menu that added to more than 20 Euros, we could just pay the difference. We did this a couple of times, and the food was lovely. The alternative is to stay bed and breakfast, as there are plenty of good places to eat in Tremezzo, Lenno, Menaggio and Belaggio.

The pool was a real suntrap, and there were plenty of seats and recliners, although only 3 umbrellas, so you need to get to the pool early if you are going to want to sit in the shade at all. The pool area was clean, as was the pretty garden at the front of the hotel, which has plenty of chairs and tables and shady trees set next to a fountain.

The hotel is situated between Mezzegra and Tremezzo, with Mezzegra being a 5 minute walk, Tremezzo about 15-20 minutes, and Lenno about 25 minutes. There is a very useful shuttle in the form of a little train which runs regularly from Lenno to Menaggio, and there is a bus stop for this a short walk from the hotel, in Mezzegra. The nearest ferry point is Tremezzo, which opens out the rest of the lake for exploring.

Overall we were very happy with our stay at Hotel Lario. The staff were so warm and friendly, from the front desk to our waiter Flavio, and the hotel so inviting, that we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: There is one busy main road that runs right along the lakeside, so whichever hotel you stay at, chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Framps69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here as part of a groupon offer. The hotel is a charming hotel with helpful, friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Upon arrival we asked for a room at the back of the hotel, having read previous reviews, that it was situated on a busy road and was rather noisy, we decided that we preferred a good quiet nights sleep, over a lake view room. The receptionist gave us 2 rooms to choose from and we had the opportunity to take a look at both before deciding to stay on the 4th floor, which offered us some great views of the mountains. The room itself was clean, roomy, with comfortable beds and the shower was great. The air conditioning worked well and wasn't too noisy or cold, when we chose to have it on. There was also a fridge, which was great as we were able to buy our own refreshments from the supermarket close by and keep them cool in our room.

We stayed on a half board basis and the food was tasty. The starters and desserts were better than the main courses, but overall I didn't have a bad meal. Being half board, we had a set menu to chose from, which offered 2 starters and 2 mains to chose from plus a desert. If you didn't fancy what was on offer, you had the opportunity to order off the a la carte menu, which I did on a couple of occasions. Being on a half board tariff, 20€ was allocated towards the cost of your evening meal, so if you decided to order off the a la carte menu, all you did was pay the difference of anything over the 20€. The service in the evenings was excellent. Breakfast was simple affair, offering some cold meats, cereals, fruit and pastries. Basic but perfectly adequate.

The location of the hotel was not ideal as it is situated on a busy road that is quite noisy, however it sits on the edge of both Mezzegra and Tremezzo, whilst not directly on the lake, it is very easy to walk to both Lenno and Tremezzo (15 mins in either direction to the ferry port), where you can get ferries to various towns around the lake. The lakeside is a short 5 minutes walk away, towards Tremezzo, however this stretch of road does not have a pavement, so can be a little scary at times, but this was a minor thing for us.

We had a wonderful week here and would not hesitate to go back. This is a good solid 3 star hotel that offers great service at a great price.

NB. This holiday was booked via Holidaysbooked.com. If you use this operator we recommend that you do not use their transfers. They are a sham!!!! Upon arrival we waited for nearly 2 hours for our taxi to turn up, after a few irate calls to the UK, trying to find out what was happening. The customer services from this travel company was appalling. We feel that no transfer was organised for us and it was sorted out after we called them to find out what was happening. Having read several other reviews with regards to the same operator, we were not an isolated case. The taxi driver that took us back to the airport at the end of the holiday was a mad man behind the steering wheel and we were extremely relieved when we arrived back at the airport alive!! Safe driving was non existent!! I would describe the journey as a white knuckle ride that lasted 1 hour and 10 minutes. So use this travel company at your peril. We certainly won't be using them again, which is a shame as the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are peaceful and quiet, but sadly offer no views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystyna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here as part of a group tour. Although the hotel is near Lake Como, I couldn't see the Lake from my room, and folks who tried to walk down to the lake were disappointed.

There was an AC control in my room (decoration?), but all the AC was controlled by hotel management, who evidently thought a humid 75 degrees didn't warrant AC. My room had a window, but with its ground floor location and staying in a room alone, I was not thrilled about having a window open while sleeping. The mattress was thin.

This was a room designed for handicapped persons, and the shower was a small indentation in the bathroom floor, so naturally water went over most of the floor. The toilet seat was attached by only 1 screw, so it was off-center.

They did have internet access, but it didn't work well in rainy weather. (Their excuse.)

Altogether an uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The welcome was warm, the views were lovely (always ask for a lakeside room) and the price was right. But the rooms, although spotlessly clean, were just too functional and charmless for a comfortable stay. And the sound of the mopeds at 4am along the road would have woken the dead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meansuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour of the Italian Lakes. Nice location on the lake, most rooms affording gorgeous views of the lake from french doors opening onto petite balconies. However, there is a busy road below the hotel between it and the lake, so if you don't like the sound of scooters and cars, book a room in the rear of the hotel like one I stayed in that faced the mountains, hills and backyards of a few local homes. Instead of hearing road traffic, you will be serenaded by birdsong from the many trees behind the hotel. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. A shout out to Lisa at the front desk who went out of her way to make me comfortable. Only complaint about the hotel was the quality of the dinners that were included with the tour and the service was very very slow. The included breakfast buffet was OK but nothing special. Practical information: You can take a boat to the village of Bellagio from departure points a short walk from the hotel. If you cross the road fronting the hotel and decend to the lake, you will find a huge and perfectly-shaped magnolia tree and a small bar affording lake views and drinks. Behind the hotel, you can hike up to a small church with great lake views. It's a short walk but incredibly steep. Be sure to check out the actual spot where Benito Mussolini and his paramour met their demise. There are a few grocery stores nearby where you can buy snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serpentine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked this hotel through Groupon for 3 nights. We flew with Easyjet to Malpensa and then got the train to Como de Nord. From there we got the C10 bus which cost just over 3 Euros for a trip that was 1hr 20mins long. Good value. You can get a hydrofoil or boat to Lenno or Tremezzo but will still need to get a taxi if you have suitcases. It can be walked from Lenno in 30 mins max.The bus driver did not speak English and we missed our stop. Do get a map!!! As soon as you see the sign for Mezzegra on right hand of road - ring the bell.The room was very clean and the view from the balcony is amazing. There are no tea and coffee facilities in your room, no room service and the mini bar is not stocked as the bar is open all day downstairs .As for satelitte TV - we could only get 9 channels - none of course in English.Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming.As for food-breakfast is continental and was fresh-no complaints.Dinner however was another experience.We were given a very small menu where our meal had already been decided by the Chef. We had a choice of 2 starters - veg soup or pasta dish.( pasta was tasty). Main meal was fish or Turkey ( processed) with seasonal veg. First night was chips - a small child's portion and courgettes.Dessert was really tasty- Italian Ice-cream. Next night we ate there the starter was again the same - veg soup or a pasta dish - the dinner was the same except we had small portion of potatoes ( fried squares) and Celeriac.Dessert was apple cake (delicious).We were kept seperate from the main dining room ( we think all groupon tourists were treated the same). One of the tourists we got talking to complained about the menu and he got to choose anything from the menu free of charge. There certainly needs to be improvement in this regard.It is a shame as the hotel grounds and view are lovely. The pool is smaller than the pictures show but is clean and has sun loungers and chairs all around. The water is not heated so on a boiling hot day it would be great. There is noise from the main road if you are sitting outside or have your balcony door open but once the door is closed we found it quiet. There is a child like choo choo train that takes you between Lenno and Menaggio ( around 8 Euros each return ). The bus is far cheaper. Belaggio is beautiful and well worth a visit. Get the boat from Lenno or Tremezzo. This hotel was rated 4* by Groupon but in our opinion it is a British 3*.

Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony - highly recommended for the views and you can sit outside before venturi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mezzegra
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
829 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,140 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
6.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lario Hotel

Address: Via Regina Teodolinda 48 | Tremezzina, 22010 Mezzegra, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mezzegra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Price Range: $60 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lario Hotel Mezzegra, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing