We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive on Lake Como” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lario Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lario Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Inexpensive on Lake Como”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour of the Italian Lakes. Nice location on the lake, most rooms affording gorgeous views of the lake from french doors opening onto petite balconies. However, there is a busy road below the hotel between it and the lake, so if you don't like the sound of scooters and cars, book a room in the rear of the hotel like one I stayed in that faced the mountains, hills and backyards of a few local homes. Instead of hearing road traffic, you will be serenaded by birdsong from the many trees behind the hotel. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. A shout out to Lisa at the front desk who went out of her way to make me comfortable. Only complaint about the hotel was the quality of the dinners that were included with the tour and the service was very very slow. The included breakfast buffet was OK but nothing special. Practical information: You can take a boat to the village of Bellagio from departure points a short walk from the hotel. If you cross the road fronting the hotel and decend to the lake, you will find a huge and perfectly-shaped magnolia tree and a small bar affording lake views and drinks. Behind the hotel, you can hike up to a small church with great lake views. It's a short walk but incredibly steep. Be sure to check out the actual spot where Benito Mussolini and his paramour met their demise. There are a few grocery stores nearby where you can buy snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serpentine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    117
    36
    14
    0
See reviews for
41
114
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked this hotel through Groupon for 3 nights. We flew with Easyjet to Malpensa and then got the train to Como de Nord. From there we got the C10 bus which cost just over 3 Euros for a trip that was 1hr 20mins long. Good value. You can get a hydrofoil or boat to Lenno or Tremezzo but will still need to get a taxi if you have suitcases. It can be walked from Lenno in 30 mins max.The bus driver did not speak English and we missed our stop. Do get a map!!! As soon as you see the sign for Mezzegra on right hand of road - ring the bell.The room was very clean and the view from the balcony is amazing. There are no tea and coffee facilities in your room, no room service and the mini bar is not stocked as the bar is open all day downstairs .As for satelitte TV - we could only get 9 channels - none of course in English.Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming.As for food-breakfast is continental and was fresh-no complaints.Dinner however was another experience.We were given a very small menu where our meal had already been decided by the Chef. We had a choice of 2 starters - veg soup or pasta dish.( pasta was tasty). Main meal was fish or Turkey ( processed) with seasonal veg. First night was chips - a small child's portion and courgettes.Dessert was really tasty- Italian Ice-cream. Next night we ate there the starter was again the same - veg soup or a pasta dish - the dinner was the same except we had small portion of potatoes ( fried squares) and Celeriac.Dessert was apple cake (delicious).We were kept seperate from the main dining room ( we think all groupon tourists were treated the same). One of the tourists we got talking to complained about the menu and he got to choose anything from the menu free of charge. There certainly needs to be improvement in this regard.It is a shame as the hotel grounds and view are lovely. The pool is smaller than the pictures show but is clean and has sun loungers and chairs all around. The water is not heated so on a boiling hot day it would be great. There is noise from the main road if you are sitting outside or have your balcony door open but once the door is closed we found it quiet. There is a child like choo choo train that takes you between Lenno and Menaggio ( around 8 Euros each return ). The bus is far cheaper. Belaggio is beautiful and well worth a visit. Get the boat from Lenno or Tremezzo. This hotel was rated 4* by Groupon but in our opinion it is a British 3*.

Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony - highly recommended for the views and you can sit outside before venturi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel was part of a Cosmos tour and it was good and bad. Good location, price and great staff, especially Lisa at the Front Desk. Although I was displaying "traveler's hissy fit," she remained calm, sweet and helpful.
View of the lake from balconied rooms is magnificent BUT there is a well-used road beneath the hotel between it and the lake and the noise of motor vehicles (especially skooters) is not pleasant. I was located in the back of the hotel and had a great views of the hills, the snow-covered Alps, a few churches and the backyards of normal people with gardens and terraces. Also, I got used to looking at this little dog who lounged on his driveway, except for water and food brakes. And the birds were amazing. I was serended by birdsong always. Anyway, back to the hotel. On the tour, we had two included dinner meals and breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was adequate...coffee, juice, breads, cakes, yogurt, prunes, hard-boiled eggs, cereal and the ubiquitous nutella. Dinner, however, was an overly-stretched out affair and the food was so-so. It's a family-run hotel and while that's admirable, they need to hire an experienced management person to improve the operation. There is a pool and a lovely little fountain and flowers fronting the hotel. The village of Bellagio is nearby. Our tour took a bus to a boat landing half way and then we took a little 10 minute boat ride g into the center of town. Lovely place. Nice seaside promenade. Cute little cafes lining the harbor where you can sip some white wine and enjoy complementary olives and chips. Also recommended is a ferry ride for about 17 euros around the lake to view all the magnificent mansions and villas. I will upload photos in a few days.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by road noise like I am, choose a back room and an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serpentine47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked this through groupon, and the value was fantastic. The room was far better than we had expected- it had been recently refurbished (it seemed) and was very clean. Our room had a small balcony with a spectacular view of the lake. Our deal included half board- breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was similar to most italian hotels- although they also offered to cook us eggs to our liking. The dinners were more than we expected- 3 course- and these were good.The staff were quite helpful and some spoke very good english. The location was good- although walking in some spots is a little scary as there are no footpaths- although we walked and were ok and saw lots of other people walking in these spots.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austraveller4824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I liked this hotel very much. The staff was helpful and courteous, rooms were clean and my room had a view of the lake. Within walking distance of Villa Carlotta. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

perfect location when you have room facing lake....
couteous staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

On arrival, friendly greeting and free upgrade as hotel was quiet. Five nights with a balcony overlooking lake como and the mountains. Spacious room cleaned to a high standard. Free, quick wifi. Be prepared to walk as there is not much to so in the immediate area. Garage on site if you bring a car.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlotte1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mezzegra
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo Lenno
Albergo Lenno
#1 of 1 in Lenno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lario Hotel

Property: Lario Hotel
Address: Via Regina Teodolinda 48 | Tremezzina, 22010 Mezzegra, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mezzegra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mezzegra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lario Hotel Mezzegra, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing