We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A study in contrasts”
Review of Podere Borgaruccio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Podere Borgaruccio
Ranked #3 of 6 Peccioli B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2013

During our stay here, we had friends at a nearby B&B and the experiences could not have been different than ours at Podere Bogaruccio. On arrival, we were greeted by an older woman who spoke English but clearly was not interested in assisting us (we still have no idea who she was), sending us off to see a woman with no command of the English language. In and of itself, this would not have been a problem except that we had no idea to whom we were speaking and thought it was the owner. It was not. We did not meet the owner until after breakfast the next day. When we dropped our friends off at their B&B, the owner personally came to the driveway to welcome them and show us all around pointing out interesting plants and talking a little about the town. She was so warm and welcoming! In contrast, the innkeeper here was absent the majority of the time, either could not be found or was sitting on the front steps smoking. On the first day, other guests removed all the plates and utensils from the dining tables at breakfast, setting them up for their own use outside. We ate our breakfast off napkins and felt lucky to have 2 coffee cups. The innkeeper never noticed. On the second day, we went to breakfast at 9 (breakfast was from 8:30-9:30) to find that the same group of guests had stripped the breakfast offerings from the table and took the food outside for their personal consumption. We were left with barely anything. My husband went looking for the innkeeper but he could not find her. Twenty minutes later we gave up and we went away without breakfast. We did not feel too bad because the breakfast on the first day was disappointing in selection and obviously in quantity.
On the positive side, the room was exceptionally clean but lacking small touches that would have taken it from ordinary to a place you want to plan a return trip.
At first, we were wondering if our expectations were too high (although we have stayed in B&Bs in many countries) due to local custom. However, our friend's experience could not have been more different a few kilometers down the road. Their innkeepers were so kind and warm, they welcomed us to their breakfast table on TWO days and it was wonderful. The point of staying in a B&B is to experience and learn about local culture and people and our friend's innkeeper was a font of knowledge as was her husband. At breakfast, they regaled us with talk of local happenings, gave day trip suggestions and shared the experience of remodeling their beautiful building. Each time we returned, one of the couple greeted us in the driveway, inquiring if we had need of anything.
At Podere Borgaruccio, one gets the feel that it is indeed a working farm but with rooms to rent tacked on as an afterthought for income. I am hoping that our experience was an aberration but our friends went ahead and booked an additional week in Sept at their B&B. We will be returning to Tuscany next summer but clearly will not book at Podere Borgaruccio.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podere Borgaruc... R, Proprietario at Podere Borgaruccio, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013
Google Translation

I miei ospiti probabilmente pensano che i proprietari devono essere onnipresenti alla struttura e sempre sorridenti anche verso colore che non si dimostrano per niente sociali e ben predisposti al colloquio. Le nostre colazioni sono estrermamente abbondanti e ricche a dispetto di quello che possono aver detto, non credo che un buffet con caffè, latte, the, tostapane, yogurt, frutta, dolce fresco fatto ogni mattina, marmellata di vario genere, burro, pomodori olio sale pepe, affettati, formaggi, biscotti e succo di frutta , possa essere considerato insufficiente. La sala delle colazioni viene apparecchiata nella sala ristorante , ognuno poi è lasciato libero se vuole di poter fare colazione anche fuori se lo desidera, portandosi fuori le proprie cose. Se avevano bisogno di qualsiasi cosa potevano farmelo presente personalmente. Le cose si dicono e se possibile si risolvono. Ogni mattina sono io che le preparo e sono sempre presente. Il buffet è sempre riempito anche se ci sono spesso situazioni imbarazzanti di persone che pensano di pranzare con la colazione abbuffandosi a dispetto di qualsiasi buona regola di civile convivenza. La signora che parlava inglese che hanno trovato al loro arrivo era mia madre che non sapendo la camera assegnata ai signori li ha portati dalla persona che in mia assenza gestisce le camere. Non vedo niente di strano in tutto questo. Se io come titolare ho degli impegni da sbrigare e non posso essere presente la struttura garantisce sempre e comunque il servizio. I signori ospiti sono stati tutti i giorni via super impegnati in mille attività pertanto forse un po poco preoccupati di avere una qualche relazione con la struttura ospitante e poco interessati a conoscere la nostra realtà. Le nostre camere sono tutte curate nei dettagli e nella pulizia cosa che avrebbero dovuto apprezzare. Io in quei giorni ero presa da mille cose burocratiche aziendali da sbrigare di cui io non devo giustificarmi con nessuno in un'azienda ci sono mille cose da sbrigare e a volte può succedere di non poter essere disponibile totalmente 24 ore al giorno per gli ospiti.In azienda comunque ci sono persone che in mia assenza possono risolvere problemi se vengono esposti ma nessuno ha avuto nessuna lamentale mentre i signori erano qui da noi. La relazione tra le persone si stabilisce da entrambi le parti e se questo non succede sicuramente il problema non può essere imputato solo al proprietario. Trovo scorretto poi trovare simili commenti dove non posso più interagire direttamente con le persone personalmente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Claudia made us welcome from the moment we arrived. Everything was even more than we expected, even though our friends have stayed there several times and told us how wonderful it is. Our room was charming and cozy. The food and wine were great. And Italian beer is much better than I expected. Wandering through the grape vines and olive trees was very peaceful and relaxing. Didn't get to use the pool, but it was nice to sit by and just relax. We're definitely going back. Very convenient to Pisa, Volterra, Florence and the Ferrari plant in Modena (NO free samples).
It's Tuscana, enjoy ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 8 nights with Claudia and Stephano last July and it simply exceeded all our expectations. We had the Tower suite where we enjoyed waking up every morning smelling freshly baked bread from Claudia's kitchen. Everything was perfect there. The accommodation, the atmosphere, the surroundings, the nature, the hospitality of the owners and last but not least the food! Amasing! We had not planned to dine "at home" every night but that turned out to be the case, except once - and then we missed it! Claudia is very knowledgeable about the beautiful area, we did many short trips around there and loved it. We see this place as being exceptionally good and if you like good quality wines, this is you destiny :) We will back for sure, actually we didn't want to leave...

Room Tip: We loved the Tower suite but all the rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Claudia's welcome set the tone for our visit - warm and friendly and pleased to share her local knowledge with us. We had a wonderful Tuscan dinner with goose from the farm! This is an organic farm with home made cakes and preserves for breakfast. Our room was charming with colourful touches and Tuscan beamed ceiling and brick floor and looked Out over the vines. But Claudia's personal touch was what made our stay really special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monteleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our first Italian agriturismo stay and it was wonderful! Claudia was a warm, caring hostess and a great chef as well! We really enjoyed the family-style meals with the other guests -- just reinforced the experience we wanted when we decided on an agriturismo.

We selected Borgaruccio based on Claudia's friendly response to our email. I emailed about 10 agriturismi letting them know that we were too had a vineyard and made wine and that we were not sure if we were coming before or after our cruise. Most sent a standard reply with price list. Claudia's personal note said that we could share wine opinions and that we should probably come after the cruise because once we tasted her cooking we wouldn't want to leave. She was right!

Peccioli is a small, charming village close enough for day tripping to Pisa, Lucca, Volterra, Siena, San Gimignano, and Firenze (Florence).

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view, but who sits in your room when there are chairs on the lawn?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank get_me_out_of_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

It has already been a year since we stayed at Podere Borgaruccio, but we still think back on our very nice stay. Off course, the bottles of homemade wine that we bought at the Podere help in the reminiscing departement, especially the Rivale, their top wine. It takes us back to the very nice room, splendid view on the Tuscan hills, the swimming pool, the walk in the vineyards and last but not least the very nice owners and the fantastic meals ! Claudia cooks every two days, be sure to be there when she does !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The location on top of a hill, between olives trees and winery is great and a lot of nice places are around, few minutes with car.
You can have high quality food and wine at a very competive price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3rz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peccioli hotels
2.1 mi away
B&B A Casa di Lizzy
B&B A Casa di Lizzy
#2 of 6 in Peccioli
88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Podere Pratini
Podere Pratini
#9 of 27 in Peccioli
2 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pratello Country Resort
Pratello Country Resort
#1 of 6 in Peccioli
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Canale
Agriturismo Canale
#14 of 27 in Peccioli
24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Di Montelopio
Villa Di Montelopio
#4 of 6 in Peccioli
1 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Angelica
Villa Angelica
#6 of 27 in Peccioli
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Borgaruccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Borgaruccio

Address: Via del Molino 122-124, 56037, Peccioli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Peccioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Peccioli
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farmhouse is perfect for all those who appreciate the beauty of nature, good food, a glass of good wine by the warm sunset, candlelit dinners and breakfasts with homemade jams, cakes, fresh fruit and homemade cheese from a small dairy in the area. At Podere Borgaruccio you will find hospitality for the whole family and live an experience that will remain in your memories. The 2 buildings making up the Podere keep intact the details of their construction with roofs made of beams and rafters and facades made by bricks and stones. The farm consists of 4 double bedrooms with bathrooms, a two-bedrooms apartment with open-air kitchen and one two-bedrooms suite in the old tower of the farm. All rooms are carefully furnished with antique furniture and each have a separate bathroom and independent entrance from the garden. Available for the guests there is also a large common living area with lounge and tv. Internet is available through wi-fi access. For lovers of relaxation, the farmhouse offers a pool situated in a panoramic position overlooking the vineyards and a small wellness area The RELAX ROOM equipped with a private infrared sauna, aromatherapy and chromo therapy. Enjoy rich breakfasts with products from the farm (fresh eggs, fruit, jam), local cheese and homemade pastries and bread, as well as candlelit dinners served in the garden under the Tuscan sunsets. For gourmets it is possible to organize wine tasting tours or cooking classes with recipes which are an expression of the Tuscan land. For enthusiasts of hiking, the farm is an ideal starting point for trekking excursions, Nordic walking, horseback riding and biking. Along the crest of the farm, it is possible to perform bird-watching of migratory species, the Bee-eater and the Kestrel, a local hawk. The farm is situated in a strategic position to reach art cities like Florence, Pisa, Lucca and medieval villages like Volterra and San Gimignano. Luxury amenities like the spas of Casciana, Castelfalfi golf courses and the Peccioli eliport are all within few kilometers distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Borgaruccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing