We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SunSol Isla Caribe
Nearby Hotels
Le Flamboyant(Playa el Agua)
$82
$77
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hesperia Eden Club(Margarita Island)
$93
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hesperia Playa El Agua(Playa el Agua)
$101
$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
LD Palm Beach(Playa el Agua)
$99
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Golden Paradise(Playa el Agua)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa(Margarita Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Linda Beach(Playa el Agua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H2otel by LD(Playa el Agua)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Refuge(Margarita Island)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,568)
Filter reviews
1,568 results
Traveler rating
557
590
229
86
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
590
229
86
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisla caribegreat holidayel aguafamily vacationnight showsnew friendsall inclusive hotellots of funa la carte restaurantlanguage barrierflea marketanimation teampoolscountryalcoholtrinidaddollars
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 1,568 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2010

The rooms were sub standard, and we certainly did not forsee or zipped suitcases (not locked unfortunately) were opened and we were robbed! I don't know what was worse being robbed by cleaning staff or the unconcerned and rude attitude by hotel staff when a report was made!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherry45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

What a disappointment. The hotel is very run down, everything is dirty in the public areas, and the food would turn your stomach. The room was poorly decorated - white emulsion splashed up the windows, a rusty bed base - and it stank of damp. The restaurants are patrolled by wild dogs and cats, and the beach was a disappointment. The bars are poorly stocked and the service poor.

I'm well travelled and used to different standards in different countries, however this was just horrendous. I was sold the holiday by an enthusiastic First Choice Rep who'd obviously never been there. Idyllic Caribbean? No way.

The resort was intimidating, and the locals far from friendly.

We stayed for one night and kicked up such a fuss that First Choice moved us to a neighboring hotel that was marginally better.

Margarita is not nice. Three people were robbed outside the hotel in the two weeks that we spent there, and all of the residents in the hotel commented on just how bad the place was.

I would have found the hotel's poor and dirty standards acceptable if the holiday had been cheap, however £2000 for two weeks in purgatory was too much. Take my advice and go to Mexico or the Dominican Republic - far better and safer bets.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenjaminCT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Well it seems that the UK tourists get the sun hard on the head once they left their foggy nice country.

We were at the Pueblo Caribe in 2005 and returned again on Feb 2nd, 2010. We were to go in 2008 but my wife had to have surgery for a breast cancer 6 days after our expected departure, we did cancel but never been paid by insurance. All to say, we paid a double price (cancellation and this year trip) and for this price we were 110% satisfied. We were treated as well this year as we were 5 years ago. We had an extra this year, we had complete access to the Isla Caribe, their sister hotel which is a 4 stars except the rooms.

We met few staff members that were there 5 years ago and they were as gentle as they were. Fast service and drinks as strong as desired. We never been sick in 2 years and the food always was pretty good. We realised that the breakfast and lunch was best at the Isla Caribe (more choice) but the supper was great at the Pueblo Caribe.

We walked one day to Playa El Agua, an hour and half walk and never and say never felt that we were in danger. We did talk to as many Venezolanos as we could during our walk and we even were invited by 3 different to visit their house and have a good Cuba Libre.

We are expecting to spend a complete month next Feb. One of the owner is from Montreal, like us and he was there everyday to make sure everything was ok, not only for us but for everybody there, including the staff that said he was about the best boss.

We surely recommend the Pueblo Caribe to everybody that want a nice cheap and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trucker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We went March 23-30, 2010, after reading the other reviews we were expecting the worst.
Thankfully, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is attached to its sister resort the Isla Caribe, and you can access either hotels restaurants and pools as you wish.Our room had a double bed and two singles perfect for us (three people). We never had a problem with towels and our maid cleaned the room well everyday. There are three pools to choose from , and always lounge chairs available. The beach towel barrista had a bit of an attitiude, you hand in your card at the beginning of the week, get the towel and exchange in the morning, she seemed to want the towel and the card every morning. The food was the usual for Carribean vacations at Buffet meals. We never went hungry, very attentive waiters (drinks), they kept the restaurant very clean . Don't waste your time going to La Fontana (a la carte- one visit a week included in your price) Four course meal, nice atmosphere , but food no better than buffet . Beach is beautiful, although sometimes not alot of sand availbale for tanning due to high tide, Loungers with shade covers free for resort customers (the beach is a public one but not alot of residents or vendors hounding you). The entertainment is a bit lacking but enjoyable enough to watch. As for reviews involving safety issues- we had NO problems what so ever. We did not purchase the safety deposit box . I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing sun filled vacation. Every day over 90 degrees and sun blazing , no clouds , no rain. I would also recommend the 4x4 jeep tour. $60 from
9am-6pm including a great lunch. Super tour of the island and fun stops ( do go the toilet at the stops no matter how bad they look. Those roads can be very rough. We will definately go back, Great value for the money

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

definatly the worst holiday ive ever been on, im a serving british soldier so i have no problems with adapting to foriegn countries, ive been to iraq three times and afghanistan once, i can honestly say that this was worse than both, i hated every minute of my stay and was very dissapointed with first choice for persuading me to not go to cuba which was my origanal plan. The resort itself was very dodgy and had almost a lawless feel to it, Food was terrible so we resorted to eating out which was a 20 minute taxi drive. The restraunt we visited was very dirty but awsome sea food, when it was time to leave the retaraunt the owner made us stay at our tables until the taxi came just incase we were mugged out side....kind of sums margarita up for me, typical south america and not typical carribean like First choice said it was!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dai25149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews