We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average choice for this price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“An average choice for this price”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is not a great place. The building is rather old and has an air of a soviet military base. The rooms are very basic although the ones in the premium part are indeed cleaner.
The food is not very tasty and I found the choice of fruit very limited. For some reasons, the drinks are served in plastic cups everywhere. I can recommend lunches at the beach restaurant.
The swimming pool is large and pretty but the water in it is rather dirty.
The beach can compensate for the hotel’s imperfection, but then again, I kept wishing the place were nicer. It is possible to rent a car and drive around – they say it can be dangerous, but I guess I was lucky. Canaima Park is a must.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    540
    362
    162
    113
See reviews for
603
607
28
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ok, i just came back from my vacation at Dunes Hotel, where my husband and I spent four days and 3 three nights in the premiuim section. After arriving to Magarita from Trinidad we were meet by the bus drivers who would shuttle you to the hotel, in the package you were allowed free shuttle to and from the airport and free shuttle from the hotel to Sambil( the biggest mall).I was a bit dissapointed when i booked for the shuttle for the next day because it was filled, even when i spoke to the manager he was of no assistance because he said he couldn't do anything about it. there was at least 10 other people who were complaining because of that transport problem as well. Anyway we checked in and was shuttled to our rooms, there is at least 2 shuttle buses contantly transporting to and from around the hotel to the reception area which was quite excellent because the compound is very big to walk. The rooms are quite clean with the basic necessities. The ac was a bit too cold and could not be controlled from the room but we worked around it. There are at least 9 bars around including by the pools serving alot of cocktails which was fairly ok.,just don't expect to taste much alcohol in it. There are 5 restaurants advertised but u are only allowed to use 3 in the package, the other 2 you have to pay for.The restaurants did provide a great variety of meals and variation of things to eat, such as for breakfast there are pancakes,egg omelets,arepas and empanadas freshly made on the spot. There was various teas,oatmeals, cereals avaliable as well. Lunch and Diner was a variety too and the foods were labelled in English and Spanish which was good.there was snack bars avaliable which entail very big hotdogs and hamburgers. The meals are not highly seasoned or tasty as we are accustom to Trinis so don't expect to much in the food department in terms of taste.The staff are quite effecient and helpful and the area is beautiful with green grass around neatly kept .There are alot of things avaliable for kids ,there are at least 2 playground areas and a kiddy pool also there is alot of activities avaliable for adults ,quite a bit of pool tables and table tennis boards and a gym.the massage services was quite good and excellent price.There is even night shows which was good if you understand it because it is basically in Spanish. The beach is great ,lovely water and sand. the shopping is basically trini prices with some of there things a little cheaper.All in all it was great and i would definetely go back with my kids this next time. For the price it was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Calientechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Right On
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am a bit disappointing by the last review "If you are an American read this" I find the title annoying as everyone should read reviews not only a nationality and also a very whining person who had found even the mosquitoes to be annoying. I am sure mosquitoes exist in United States.
I don't think Caracas is a s**hole but probably a mix of very different economic classes that live next to each other, massive clash. I do agree Caracas is dangerous but like everywhere, you must know where to go. The are around Maiquetia is horrible but go to La Colonia Tovar, Las Mercedes, El Hatillo and it will be a completely different story. Plus the restaurants in there are one of the best I have seen.

Back to topic, Pedro Gonzalez is a great location far from the big city of Porlamar. It is quite and very relaxing. The beach, Puerto Cruz (just infront of the hotel, sea side hotel!) is beautiful but waves can be big. Its a long beach so you can walk it and back in about 1hrs going at a slow pace.

The hotel is great, the food is GREAT, good selection of starters, main, desserts, salads and fruits. Lots of tables so there wont be any queue.
There was also the "food of the day" so you will get Italian, Mexican, Chinese and so on every day. If you are staying for a week, this is a nice treat.

There are two side of the hotel, the new side and the old side. The old side is right next to the lobby but well, it is the oldest. The newest side is beside the tennis courts and are really nice. We always request this side when we stay.

The pools are great, the big one can be deep for some but it is lovely! There are enough sitting so you wont be fighting over it but definitely will not find place after 11am.

There are lots of activities for kids, there is the kids club right beside the kids pool and many activities by the pool like waterpolo and volleyball also by the beach. By the beach you can do kayaking, beach volleyball etc.

By the beach you also have a restaurant where you can eat if you are at the beach that day. There is also a bar. There is a bar by the pool and a barbecue place for lunch if you are too lazy to go up the stairs for the buffet.
There are people who will come to you to sell you stuff but if you are not from Venezuela, this will come quite cheap for you and are truly Venezuelan handcrafted stuff. I always buy and I am from Venezuela. They can get intense but just say politely "no Gracias"

The cocadas are the best ever and the pina coladas. The guys by the bar are great! and the entertainers are amazing, very nice guys. They make really nice shows as well..

We basically never left the hotel, there is no need. Well! Only Rattan for the massive pots of Nutella and Toblerone. Also Margarita Island is VAT Exempt so you always get your good price :)

Enjoy the island and if you have any questions please ask me and I will help :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Andreayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's very difficult to find people other than afew staff that speak english. First off there are no direct flights to the island, u must fly into carracas first. Make sure you get there in daylight and take only official taxis. Don't change american money at the airport do it on the low at your hotel. Usually the guys at the resort tours desk will give you about eight hundred bolivar per hundred. Don't accept less than seven fifty. Carracas is an impoverished hell hole if you have to stay there before you get a connect flight to Margarita STAY IN YOUR ROOM TILL DAYLIGHT! Once you get to Margarita you can relax it's beautiful. The dunes is decent clean and well kept. The food is awful, request a room with a kitchen and take a taxi to the large super market across town. The evening shows are pretty spectacular, the staff is super friendly and so are the mosquitoes if you stand too near the bushes. Take the tours they're fun. Get beautiful pearl sets made by guys on the beach, take your time choosing they are there every Day. Pay no mind to the pesky peasant kids on the beache they are coached and beaten by their parents who they hustle for. Be prepared to see some awful plastic surgery walking around. Buy a swimmers life jacket, the water is beautiful but can be dangerous, see beautiful playa el agua and all the others they all have their personality. Shop the flea market. Eat the local food. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank thelastdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Puerto Cruz, Dunes own beach is the most beautiful beach in Venezuela. Pool, staff and rooms are incredible!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John_Sempere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

It wasn't easy to find some hotel on Isla Margarita, which review didn't contain bad service, terrible meal, theft of money or other unpleasant experience. But finally we found Dunes beach and it was really great holiday in very nice resort. Right after our arrival we wanted to change the room because of noisy air-conditioning under the window and receptionist did it in a few minutes without any question. The next room in new area of the resort was farther from the main building, but not so far and it was quiet and nice. Beach was clean and quite quiet, with big waves so there was red flag all the time (but it was possible to swim a little). Water in the swimming pools was clean and warm. Restaurants and bars were full of good food, drinks and likeable staff. Resort offers also spa and sports activity like tennis etc., but we didn't utilize. Program with animation group was funny during the day (aquagym, salsa lessons,...) and also during the evening (traditional dances performance, miss voting, karaoke,...). There were also good parties with local people in Cubos club. I like this place and if I travel again to Isla Margarita, I will stay in this resort. You can't expect luxury there, but it belongs to South America style. I think this resort is one of the best in Venezuela and much better than most of the five-stars resorts in Cuba.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in new area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pavlína S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My DH and I visited Dunes several years ago and absolutely loved it. We had never stayed at an all inclusive resort before, and we were not expecting much in the food area. We were pleasantly surprised. DH loved all the fresh fruit at each meal and the buffets were generally well stocked. They also have specialty restaurants that you can visit with reservations. The room was small, but wonderfully maintained. Each day, housekeeping either had flowers on the bed or some ingenious animal made out of the towel. We got a great tip on Tripadvisor about a beach shack just down from the resort where the shrimp were unbelievable. Of course, we went there and could not believe it. The shrimp were prepared anyway you wanted and I swear they were 8 inches long. We met lots of Europeans and made friends that we still communicate with. This is a great value, and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank compassquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedro Gonzales
15.7 mi away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#2 of 12 in El Yaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
8.5 mi away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
11.9 mi away
LIDOTEL Hotel Boutique Margarita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#15 of 91 in Margarita Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.9 mi away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
4.5 mi away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: Calle Campo Elias | Sector El Pueblito, Pedro Gonzales, Margarita Island 2000, Venezuela
Phone Number:
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Pedro Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 578
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel And Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel Margarita
Dunes Resort All Inclusive Beach
Dunes Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing