We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange, quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albavilla Hotel&Co.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albavilla
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Strange, quirky hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Odd to get into as it is entered via a metal bridge which can be unnerving if you have a fear of heights. I had a one night stay on the way back from a coach tour holiday. The room itself was nice but the shower room old fashioned with a plastic curtain for the shower area. Large towels were placed around the metal edges, I wondered why until I used the shower and found water cascades over the edges. Clearly needs modernisation. There was no choice of evening meal which after a very nice starter of pasta, deteriorated with a main course of greasy chicken legs on which there was very little meat. There was a nice salad bar but no dressings to with it. Dessert was a disgusting chocolate mousse which didn't taste of anything. The only decent thing was the wine which was included. The hotel has a decent bar and spirits etc were served in generous measures and there is nice terrace to sit out on. The staff are pleasant and as another reviewer said speak excellent English. It seems as the hotel attitude is that it's only a coach tour so it doesn't matter what they are served. The buffet breakfast was ok but difficult getting the guy to understand when people wanted ordinary tea as they only had green, herbal or fruit. A big let down as I've never had a a problem with food in Italy on previous occasions.

Room Tip: The rooms appear to be pretty much the same although some doors open outward and others inwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    23
    22
    20
See reviews for
11
49
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I were on a Leger coach trip and this was our second nights pit stop. We had looked at all the reviews on trip adviser and this was the only hotel we had concerns with out of the 9 hotels Leger had selected for what has turned out to be an amazing coach holiday experience. We think the reviews that have been written over recent times do some up what is a tired hotel, yes the sheets were white and clean and as we arrived late at the hotel and it was an early start in the morning, it's not a hotel we would rush back to. The evening meal of chicken and chips with no selection of salad was disappointing!!!!!! We are sure a home made lasagne with a mixed salad as we were in Italy would have been closer to the mark. We think this Hotel lets Leger down going by the rest of the Hotels we stayed at on our Coach Experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A2D4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albavilla hotels

uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here on a recent leger holiday. Worried after reading previous reviews but the hotel seems to be working on improving its service. The food was not bad, I believe they have changed the menu recnetly and the lady looking after reception and the bar was very pleasant and spoke excellent English. One outstanding feature was the view from the front terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank max51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on same holiday with shearings as Wendy's review. I never know whether to believe bad reviews or not but these are genuine. All 40 plus people on this tour agreed the hotel was dire. If you are happy staying in prison style rooms or dirty hostels this is the hotel for you. Rooms bare and dirty. Didn't dare touch anything. Beds like the type you would expect on a 1970s school trip. Bathroom dirty and shoddy. Food slapped in a plate in front of you like slop with no explanation as to what was coming or if there was anything else. I got scrapings of remains if vegetables and chips that looked like school dinners from pre1940. Just stay away!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Another Shearings tourer who has to agree with previous reviewers. Electric sockets hanging off the walls! I was told, when I complained, 'the boys are coming tomorrow'. Electricians or the Mafia?!! Food was dismal and institutional. Lift options were scratched out and written on - inaccurately - in marker pen! When I attempted to speak to the manager he couldn't see the problem, and it became more like Fawlty Towers like by the minute. Having read previous reviews I was worried and rang Shearings twice, before my holiday, to query the quality of the hotel but was told 'we have had no complaints'. Hmmm ....

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is one; 41 of us on the tour and we all felt the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here on a shearings grand tourer . Dirty rooms Broken showers Food just about acceptable Air con worked but had no control over temp settings hence had to put on extra clothes to keep warm Staff rude and unhelpful Stay clear

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzer141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was not very helpful when we stayed there in july 2013, the air con was not working in any rooms, we were travelling with Leger. Having stayed there before when travelling with leger, we were very disappointed with the food and service overall ,as the place seems to have gone down hill in the last few years. all our fellow travellers were complaining about the air con not working and not being able to sleep because of the heat in the rooms. When we were having our evening meal (which was not very good, just a piece of chicken and potatoes, no veg or grave) we had a thunder storm ( not the hotels fault) but the rain running down the inside walls of the dining room was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albavilla
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castello Di Casiglio
3.7 mi away
Inverigo Hotel
Inverigo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inverigo
241 reviews
5.6 mi away
Arosio Hotel
Arosio Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arosio
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,931 reviews
5.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
6.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albavilla Hotel&Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albavilla Hotel&Co.

Property: Albavilla Hotel&Co.
Address: Via per Carcano, 6/A, 22031 Albavilla, Italy (Formerly Albavilla Hotel)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Albavilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albavilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albavilla Hotel&Co. 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pop Emotions at Albavilla Hotel & Co. Design creativity and hospitality, the hotel becomes a work of art made of small details that make a bold interpretations of pop masterpiece. Signed by Architect Gabriele Talpo, the Albavilla Hotel & Co, it's a four star S of more than 100 rooms, an innovative hospitality project that combines the high quality of local services to the design perfection. A perfect example of hotel industry evolution, designed for short stays and, inside of which is insured all the attention to the guests in a cosmopolitan key. The rooms are unique with its own design and represent the epitome of elegance, style and research. The iridescent velvets, ultramodern sessions contrasting and large windows become a pleasant frame to accommodate guests. The Albavilla Hotel & Co is a new boutique hotel situated in the heart of Brianza, a privileged place which dominates a unique landscape. In the lounge chairs with clean lines and rounded in warmer colors, which combine with the minimalist style of the location, the contrasting walls to enhance each object perfectly match the iridescent velvet and optical prints of other furniture. Wherever contemporary artwork. For sport lovers, a modern gym on the top floor equipped with the best equipment. Of the Group's Pliny Hotels & Restaurants, along all'Inverigo Hotel, Europe Design Hotel & Spa and Hotel all'Arosio, it is the latest acquisition business format. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albavilla Hotel&Co. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albavilla Hotel&Co. Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing