We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
      View Hotel
      Excellent 5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Saliris Resort(Egerszalok)
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (135)
      Filter reviews
      135 results
      Traveler rating
      61
      40
      22
      7
      5
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      61
      40
      22
      7
      5
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewswellness areastaff was nice and helpfulhalf boardinfra saunasalt chamberswimming poolbig playgroundbit wornsurroundingshillmountainszoojacuzzihungarycleanlinessspa
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      37 - 42 of 135 reviews
      Reviewed September 28, 2012

      We visited the Hotel with my Mother and with my 3 year old son. The Hotel located in a beautiful area as it is on the top of the Mátra sorrounded by the nature itself. From the room we had a fantastic view and it was great to wake up and just take a look at the sun rising from the back of the other mountain...
      We had a very nice suprise as we booked a superior room for us but there was a big training in the Hotel in the meantime and that company booked a lot of rooms and it had an effect on our accomodation - so they gave us an apartment (w two rooms) for the same price. :)
      Our room was spacious, calm, well furnished.

      The service is fantastic, the meals are great - really tasty!

      We used the wellness as well and it is not that big but you can find everything what is needed - nice saunas, jakuzzi, children's pool, etc. Another advantage the children's room where my son could find a lot of things to play with. The hotel has a big playground with natural tools, has a small but funny "zoo" where you can feed goats for example.
      I think they really deserve the 4 stars!

      One more: I really liked the old pictures in the corridors about the hotel! :)

      • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank feketeszeder
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 31, 2012

      The hotel is a perfect choice for a long weekend or for a longer holiday in every seasons. If you are travelling with children you will find a lot of interesting activities for them in the hotel (it has a zoo, big playground, special meals for the kids) or around it. The hotel has a very good location and beautiful view to the Kékestető (highest point of Hungary). The rooms are clean and enough big for 2 persons but be careful, the rooms seeing the parking place are much smaller, I would recommend them only for 1 person.

      • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Saci75
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 9, 2012

      ideal location - close to the capital but "far from the madding crowd"
      we stayed the more times already because
      we like the clear and fresh air - at least 10 degrees less during summer hot temperature records, no air-condition needed at all
      we like the little forrest zoo - animals are very kind and friendly
      we like the high park around the hotel with playground and jumpero
      we like the food - traditional Hungarian cuisine
      we like the price - hotel and services are well priced
      it is an old traditional hotel, honestly the rooms and hotel building needs some renovation but it is not emergency and current condition fits into the overall traditional atmosphere

      • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank agnes d
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 29, 2012

      I have visited this hotel many times with my girlfriend, we usually go there to celebrate our anniversary in January. The hotel is on the top of Mátra hill, almost at the highest point of Hungary. The landscape is beautiful, when it is snowing it is something you cannot describe. The hotel is an average 4 star hotel, built some 30-40 years good. But it is in good shape, it has an acceptable size of wellness section, but again, similarly to my other review, this hotel is a good choice if you want to be active. Excellent - with Hungarian measure - skiing site, excellent hiking routes, lot of nice places to visit.

      • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ksscsb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed June 14, 2011

      Stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a superior room- which seemed to be only a standard one, no extra size, nor extra amenities. Condition of room is ok, but the condition of the building itself is not - it really needs some renovation! Even so, if we consider the prices, which weren't low at all, but I have a feeling that only I have been playd on (looking at the other guests and ads in the newspapers).
      Nevertheless, the surrounding of the hotel (also their park, the small animal park, the panorama and the forest nearby) is beautiful!
      Food quality (buffet for dinner and breakfast) was better, than I expected - Hungarian, but not very greasy, I would say even light, and tasty, and a really wide selection for breakfast.
      We also could bring the dog, they charged us for him 4400 HUF/night.
      It seems to be a family hotel - so be prepared for loud kids around!
      And one more thing: at their website it is widely publicated, that one wan get for a small fee - or even free- late checkout -, but we couldn't, we had to leave our room for 10 in the morning. We were told that we could use the wellness facilities that day, but we couldn't live with this opportunity as the dog had to be looked after, and without a room we couldn't leave him alone...

      • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank egermadar
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews