We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of The Gerald's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gerald's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Radauti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nice 4* hotel.
It has a small but functional gym.
Good breakfast also.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cippriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for The Gerald's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

A very nice business hotel.
Situated very near to the Bucovina Monasteries.
The staff would do everything to please you.
Clean rooms.
Delicious breakfast.
Good bar.

Room Tip: All the rooms ar the same. If you would like a quiet room, ask one with the view at the backside of...
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Ok it looks like any other modern box hotel, but the rooms are spaceous, comfortable, clean, quiet, everything works, good beds, pleasent staff, good food - breakfast and dinner, cheap bar - smoke free and with a terrace. Great value, worth its 4 ( I think ) stars. The only downer is that it gets very busy with tour groups - eary or late meals recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bar-steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel is modern, clean and central. Only showers except in suites. Loads of tour buses. Staff could hardly keep pace with replenishing food at breakfast - but they coped

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I stayed 3 days at this hotel with my wife and 1 year old son, we had reservation for standard room but when they saw we were travelling with our baby they automatically upgraded our room to a junior suite at no extra cost (not to mention that they already gave us a big discount for 3 nights stay) which was a great and pleasant surprise, the staff is very helpful and smiling all the time, rooms are large and clean, everything is brand new, bathrooms are very big and they have big windows so the room has a great light all day long.
Breakfast was included and the food was great, we enjoyed our stay there and we are looking forward to staying there again, we definetely recommend this hotel if you are planning a visit to Rădăuţi.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauliasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel was a suprise in a city that is twenty years behind the rest of the world. The roomes were very nice , clean and had every thing you would need.

What this hotel stands out for is the staff, The manager , bar staff and waiters were the best i haver come across. They make the hotel what it is with there top class service. If you want a quite cheap break where you will be served on hand and foot i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paramedic-197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This hotel was booked as part of an organised tour.
'Gerald' is apparently Austrian. It was not clear why he had chosen to build a fairly sizeable hotel in what is, effectively, a communist -era dump of a town, with very little to recommend it.
The hotel delivers on most of its promises: the rooms are comfortable and modern, in terms of design. The 'front of house' staff have been well trained (not easy in this country!) & are smiley & 'can do': they all speak good English too.
Unfortunately, however, the surroundings are not attractive-our tiny balcony overlooked the back of a very scruffy Council building and an almost bare piece of grass where three homeless dogs were 'living'. This meant lots of barking & yowling. There were also some public benches very nearby and most were used by couples talking loudly into the night. Worse than both of these, however, was the fact that a train line goes right through the town but doesn't stop, so each one is obliged to sound its hooter every time it approaches a level crossing-and there are lots of these. The first train appeared to arrive at 6am.
The other main issue was the dining room. Given a choice, my partner & I would never have dinner at a hotel but there was absolutely no other decent choice-in fact, almost everything closed by 5pm. It is just huge, like a barn, so it almost feels like a staff restaurant in a bank. There is a bar which appeared to be frequented by the local wealthy mafiosi
Breakfast was very disappointing-a mix of Romanian & Austrian with for example, no bacon, sausage, muesli, low fat yoghurt, choice of breads and when anything ran out they were very slow to replace it.
We were persuaded by the hotel manager to have dinner on the first night to see a 'folkloric show', which had clearly been organised for a party of approx 30 Japanese women-so the dancers kept their backs towards our group.
The following evening, the manager told us there would be a 'buffet', which turned out to be a choice of fish in sauce or a seafood pasta and salad. No way did the quality justify the price.
One further winge-girls, it has those awful useless hairdryers that merely waft air over you in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flekkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radauti
21.0 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
182 reviews
20.0 mi away
Best Western Bucovina
Best Western Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Gura Humorului
214 reviews
13.2 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Conacul Domnesc
Conacul Domnesc
#3 of 12 in Suceava
27 reviews
20.8 mi away
Continental Hotel Suceava
21.3 mi away
Hotel Balada
Hotel Balada
#2 of 12 in Suceava
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gerald's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gerald's Hotel

Address: Piata Unirii Nr. 3, Radauti 725400, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Radauti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Radauti
Price Range: $71 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gerald's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2007 The Gerald’s Hotel is the most modern and best hotel in Northern Romania and offers high class amenities and services to international travellers. The Gerald’s is located close to the municipal park and the City Hall of Radauti. The contemporary design, exclusively furnished rooms, non-smoking areas and The Gerald’s Restaurant & Bar meet the expectations of our international customers. Especially business guests appreciate the fully equipped meeting and conference facilities for up to 100 participants.99 rooms (twin) including 10 Junior SuitesRestaurant with summer terrace and bar - opened all day2 fully equipped conference rooms for up to 100 participantsLaundry serviceFitness roomMassageParking site in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gerald's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geralds Hotel Radauti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing