We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean and pleasent”
Review of The Gerald's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gerald's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Radauti
Wimbledon,London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and pleasent”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Ok it looks like any other modern box hotel, but the rooms are spaceous, comfortable, clean, quiet, everything works, good beds, pleasent staff, good food - breakfast and dinner, cheap bar - smoke free and with a terrace. Great value, worth its 4 ( I think ) stars. The only downer is that it gets very busy with tour groups - eary or late meals recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bar-steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rushden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel is modern, clean and central. Only showers except in suites. Loads of tour buses. Staff could hardly keep pace with replenishing food at breakfast - but they coped

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

I stayed 3 days at this hotel with my wife and 1 year old son, we had reservation for standard room but when they saw we were travelling with our baby they automatically upgraded our room to a junior suite at no extra cost (not to mention that they already gave us a big discount for 3 nights stay) which was a great and pleasant surprise, the staff is very helpful and smiling all the time, rooms are large and clean, everything is brand new, bathrooms are very big and they have big windows so the room has a great light all day long.
Breakfast was included and the food was great, we enjoyed our stay there and we are looking forward to staying there again, we definetely recommend this hotel if you are planning a visit to Rădăuţi.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauliasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel was a suprise in a city that is twenty years behind the rest of the world. The roomes were very nice , clean and had every thing you would need.

What this hotel stands out for is the staff, The manager , bar staff and waiters were the best i haver come across. They make the hotel what it is with there top class service. If you want a quite cheap break where you will be served on hand and foot i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paramedic-197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This hotel was booked as part of an organised tour.
'Gerald' is apparently Austrian. It was not clear why he had chosen to build a fairly sizeable hotel in what is, effectively, a communist -era dump of a town, with very little to recommend it.
The hotel delivers on most of its promises: the rooms are comfortable and modern, in terms of design. The 'front of house' staff have been well trained (not easy in this country!) & are smiley & 'can do': they all speak good English too.
Unfortunately, however, the surroundings are not attractive-our tiny balcony overlooked the back of a very scruffy Council building and an almost bare piece of grass where three homeless dogs were 'living'. This meant lots of barking & yowling. There were also some public benches very nearby and most were used by couples talking loudly into the night. Worse than both of these, however, was the fact that a train line goes right through the town but doesn't stop, so each one is obliged to sound its hooter every time it approaches a level crossing-and there are lots of these. The first train appeared to arrive at 6am.
The other main issue was the dining room. Given a choice, my partner & I would never have dinner at a hotel but there was absolutely no other decent choice-in fact, almost everything closed by 5pm. It is just huge, like a barn, so it almost feels like a staff restaurant in a bank. There is a bar which appeared to be frequented by the local wealthy mafiosi
Breakfast was very disappointing-a mix of Romanian & Austrian with for example, no bacon, sausage, muesli, low fat yoghurt, choice of breads and when anything ran out they were very slow to replace it.
We were persuaded by the hotel manager to have dinner on the first night to see a 'folkloric show', which had clearly been organised for a party of approx 30 Japanese women-so the dancers kept their backs towards our group.
The following evening, the manager told us there would be a 'buffet', which turned out to be a choice of fish in sauce or a seafood pasta and salad. No way did the quality justify the price.
One further winge-girls, it has those awful useless hairdryers that merely waft air over you in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flekkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Is it Romania?! I tell you, I travel once a week to Romania but never had such an experience: a fantastic mixture of modern design and home-like familiarity. It is like an island of Western Culture somewhere in the Northern Romania. I felt in love with the staff, great food and beautiful service! You pay a price but it is worth!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_McDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radauti
20.0 mi away
Best Western Bucovina-Club De Munte
13.2 mi away
Popas Turistic Bucovina
Popas Turistic Bucovina
#1 of 3 in Sucevita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pensiune Turistica Fast
Pensiune Turistica Fast
#3 of 5 in Radauti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galany
Hotel Galany
#1 of 5 in Radauti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Intim
Hotel Intim
#2 of 5 in Radauti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gerald's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gerald's Hotel

Property: The Gerald's Hotel
Address: Piata Unirii Nr. 3, Radauti 725400, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Radauti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Radauti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gerald's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2007 The Gerald’s Hotel is the most modern and best hotel in Northern Romania and offers high class amenities and services to international travellers. The Gerald’s is located close to the municipal park and the City Hall of Radauti. The contemporary design, exclusively furnished rooms, non-smoking areas and The Gerald’s Restaurant & Bar meet the expectations of our international customers. Especially business guests appreciate the fully equipped meeting and conference facilities for up to 100 participants.99 rooms (twin) including 10 Junior SuitesRestaurant with summer terrace and bar - opened all day2 fully equipped conference rooms for up to 100 participantsLaundry serviceFitness roomMassageParking site in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gerald's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geralds Hotel Radauti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing