We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful setting for a relaxing getaway”
Review of Aran Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aran Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballylickey B&B and Inns
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful setting for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My partner and I spent a bit of time in West Cork over the Easter holiday and found this lovely bed and breakfast on the road from Bantry to Glengariff, about ten minutes outside Bantry town. The welcome was very warm and the room cosy with an excellent sea view.
The Ouvane pub right across the street was a good spot to spend an afternoon overlooking the bay. Bantry itself a great town at night and the very helpfull owner not only pointed us in the direction of a good meal (at O'Connors in the town centre) but she also gave us a lift into town freeing us up to have a drink or two that evening.
As a vegetarian I was impressed with the breakfast options available. Quite often I have to make do with a bowl of cereal or piece of fruit while my partner tucks into a big breakfast, but here I was well catered for.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcorkchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed at Aran Lodge with friends for several days in May. It was 'home away from home'. Wonderful, friendly atmosphere and outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, Deirdre. The breakfast menu re the variety offered and the quality was five star. The area is very picturesque and the view of Bantry Bay from Aran Lodge is stunning. We will definitely be back. I would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

The bar and restaurant is walking distance, like across the street. The ceiling in my room was made of wood. A big shower. Nice room. Comfortable bed. Nice view. Way above average breakfast. Really nice folks. Good price. Quiet. Consider it a jumping off ground to Beara and the Mizzen, and don't miss either.

  • Liked — Breakfast. A menu - including salmon and scrambled eggs.
  • Disliked — I think the shower spray could have been stronger if I recall correctly but has been awhile.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day vacation at Aran Lodge. We both had a great time. There are several reasons we loved Aran Lodge.

The location is excellent for day trips in Co. Cork. The Beara Peninsula has to be seen to be fully appreciated. Aran Lodge is conveniently located for trips to the Beara, as well as Sheeps Head, Mizzen Head, Kinsale and Bantry.

Aran Lodge is sited on a hill with a beatiful sea view. They have large front and back lawns - you can even try your hand with a traditional Irish "hurley"!

The rooms are top notch. The mattresses are especially good for those with "back problems." The breakfast is my favorite - I recommend the "full Irish", which will definately hold you all day long.

The O'Connell Family are wonderful hosts, with extensive knowledge of Irish language, history and culture.

We absolutely recommend Aran Lodge to new, as well as experienced, vistors to Ireland.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SlowBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Great location, very clean, gracious hosts,great breakfast and great pub across the street. definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notreallymyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. Deirdre and Joe were very gracious and friendly. They have a wonderful family size room. They graciously let us check out a little late when one of us wasn't feeling very well and needed a little extra rest. The breakfast was wonderful and had a good variety of things to choose from. Thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality.

The Smith Family

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelmomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We really enjoyed our time in Bantry. This B and B was my favorite because of the hostess. She was kind and helpful. I loved talking to her about Ireland and getting some real insight into life in Bantry. Gread views from windows.

The only thing I would change is the glass in the bathroom door- it was a bit odd. I just hung a towel in front of it since I felt weird about being seen on the---

  • Liked — hostess
  • Disliked — mottled glass bathroom doors
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmr2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylickey
3.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.1 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#12 of 25 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran Lodge B&B

Property: Aran Lodge B&B
Address: Ballylickey | Bantry, Ballylickey, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry > Ballylickey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballylickey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic tranquil B&B/Guesthouse, on two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking Bantry Bay at Ballylickey on route N71 between Bantry and Glengarriff. All rooms en-suite; wheelchair-friendly; central heating; TVs, tea/coffee and sea views. Coach parking, one minute’s walk to local bar/restaurant. One hours drive of Killarney and the famous “Ring of Kerry” Mizen Head & Blarney Castle. Ideal location for touring, hill-walking, golf, lake, river & sea angling. Credit Cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Aran Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing