We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous place to stay”
Review of Aran Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aran Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballylickey B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed at Aran Lodge with friends for several days in May. It was 'home away from home'. Wonderful, friendly atmosphere and outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, Deirdre. The breakfast menu re the variety offered and the quality was five star. The area is very picturesque and the view of Bantry Bay from Aran Lodge is stunning. We will definitely be back. I would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemini2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2008

The bar and restaurant is walking distance, like across the street. The ceiling in my room was made of wood. A big shower. Nice room. Comfortable bed. Nice view. Way above average breakfast. Really nice folks. Good price. Quiet. Consider it a jumping off ground to Beara and the Mizzen, and don't miss either.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaltimoreFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day vacation at Aran Lodge. We both had a great time. There are several reasons we loved Aran Lodge.

The location is excellent for day trips in Co. Cork. The Beara Peninsula has to be seen to be fully appreciated. Aran Lodge is conveniently located for trips to the Beara, as well as Sheeps Head, Mizzen Head, Kinsale and Bantry.

Aran Lodge is sited on a hill with a beatiful sea view. They have large front and back lawns - you can even try your hand with a traditional Irish "hurley"!

The rooms are top notch. The mattresses are especially good for those with "back problems." The breakfast is my favorite - I recommend the "full Irish", which will definately hold you all day long.

The O'Connell Family are wonderful hosts, with extensive knowledge of Irish language, history and culture.

We absolutely recommend Aran Lodge to new, as well as experienced, vistors to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SlowBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Great location, very clean, gracious hosts,great breakfast and great pub across the street. definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notreallymyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. Deirdre and Joe were very gracious and friendly. They have a wonderful family size room. They graciously let us check out a little late when one of us wasn't feeling very well and needed a little extra rest. The breakfast was wonderful and had a good variety of things to choose from. Thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality.

The Smith Family

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelmomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We really enjoyed our time in Bantry. This B and B was my favorite because of the hostess. She was kind and helpful. I loved talking to her about Ireland and getting some real insight into life in Bantry. Gread views from windows.

The only thing I would change is the glass in the bathroom door- it was a bit odd. I just hung a towel in front of it since I felt weird about being seen on the---

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmr2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
london
12
Reviewed July 17, 2006

You can't beat this b&b for location. My husband and I have enjoyed several stays at Aran Lodge, summer and winter. I got what I always look for when booking, a room with a view. I enjoyed the enormous breakfast all the more because the dining room also offers wonderful views accross the patio and garden of Bantry Bay. Such a peaceful sheltered haven . I remember having tea on the patio in November and thinking Aran Lodge surely shares in the gulf stream of nearby Garnish Island. What made it even better for us was being able to leave the car at Aran Lodge and walk 3 minutes for a meal or a drink with music and dancing . This tiicked all boxes with me.
L. Dunne

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylickey
3.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
647 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#10 of 26 in Bantry
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran Lodge B&B

Address: Ballylickey | Bantry, Ballylickey, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry > Ballylickey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballylickey
Price Range: $62 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic tranquil B&B/Guesthouse, on two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking Bantry Bay at Ballylickey on route N71 between Bantry and Glengarriff. All rooms en-suite; wheelchair-friendly; central heating; TVs, tea/coffee and sea views. Coach parking, one minute’s walk to local bar/restaurant. One hours drive of Killarney and the famous “Ring of Kerry” Mizen Head & Blarney Castle. Ideal location for touring, hill-walking, golf, lake, river & sea angling. Credit Cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Aran Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing