We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B in Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aran Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aran Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballylickey B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hosts Deirdre and Joe are exceptionally personable, helpful, and thorough in meeting travelers needs, plus from the rooms and garden are kept to perfection with picturesque views from every window. The breakfast spread Deirdre prepares is second to none. Enjoy a great night, and the best start to any day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our charity bike ride of 12 people including 2 large mini buses was catered for superbly by this very friendly and hospitable family which was the first of several over night stays on our 340 mile ride from Cork to Galway.
It was no trouble even to get our very wet cycling gear washed and dried for the next day - for 9 riders! which is more than can be said for the rest of the over night stays, Thank you for making our stay so comfortable, the hearty full English got us off to a good start, even in the torrential rain!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This B&B is simply exceptional with comfy spacious rooms with a glorious views and to top it all a delicious breakfast ... .highly recommended Julie and John

Room Tip: Choose the large upstairs room for wonderful space and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I found this lovely B&B on this site and I am SO glad I booked it!

My room was great with a very, very comfortable bed (most welcome after hiking Sheep's Head) and the views are quite amazing!! Comfort is always key when traveling and the Aran Lodge goes above and beyond. The breakfasts were super tasty and hearty for a good day's travel. Do the Traditional Irish Breakfast and you can't go wrong.
Probably the most incredible part its charm is the O'Connell family! Deidre and family were so helpful when planning and organizing my two weeks around County Cork and even Dublin. They went out of their way for each guest and made everyone feel like family.
Can't recommend the Aran Lodge enough! You'll be thankful you booked it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SofonisbaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I loved my stay at aran lodge, I must start to comment on the breakfeast, it was fantastic i had the full irish whitch consisted of two 'rashers' as the irish call them, perfectly cooked pudding , two of the best sausage i have ever tasted in my life, beans and scrambled/fried egg.

my wife julia is a vegatarian , and has had to eat cereal only in other b&b's, but deirdre plated up a tasty vegatarian quisce. my two children are fussy eatears and were not so hugry but were delighted to see pancakes and hot coco on the proffesionly assembled menu.

or room was huge we had a big tv and dvd player, so the kids could stay entertained. i also loved the fact that our shower water was fully heated in seconds.

the yard was big and the football field was great to see. and the kids enjoyed playing basketball with deirdres oldest pleasent son.

i would like to return again for a longer stay. thanks a million deirdre and family

Room Tip: try to get the master family bedroom its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mikeymike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great place to start our cycling trip around the Ring of Kerry, in a quiet village only 3miles from Bantry.
Our room had stunning views over the estuary (we were given an upgrade from twin to family room)
Lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Very friendly hosts, small room, extremely small bathroom, nice view from room, short walk to nice pub and restaurant, Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylickey
3.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#12 of 26 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran Lodge B&B

Property: Aran Lodge B&B
Address: Ballylickey | Bantry, Ballylickey, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry > Ballylickey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballylickey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic tranquil B&B/Guesthouse, on two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking Bantry Bay at Ballylickey on route N71 between Bantry and Glengarriff. All rooms en-suite; wheelchair-friendly; central heating; TVs, tea/coffee and sea views. Coach parking, one minute’s walk to local bar/restaurant. One hours drive of Killarney and the famous “Ring of Kerry” Mizen Head & Blarney Castle. Ideal location for touring, hill-walking, golf, lake, river & sea angling. Credit Cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Aran Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing