We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballylickey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballylickey House
Ranked #2 of 4 Ballylickey B&B and Inns
1 review
“Magical retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the pleasurable experience of staying in this fine house in July. Inspiring views, friendly folk and a real sense of home. Nothing was too much trouble. The bed was just so comfortable. It was a really restful and enjoyable stay. I am definitely going back. The views from my window were incredible!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Les Portes, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband came at Ballylickey Manor House with his parents 41 years ago ! He wanted to take me there on a romantic journey back to this place, he cherished since then.
It was amazing and so glamourous to be back on his parent's steps.
We loved it, and our room with a beautiful view was absolutly gorgeous.
I'd love very much, my son to go there one day -in a while- so he could have a beautiful experience too being there !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gl2888, Owner at Ballylickey House, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ballylickey and that you were able to retrace the past! It is great to hear that you loved your room as we have just renuvated more rooms in a similar style. Let us know if your ever near Ballylickey again and we would love to welcome you or your son back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I arrived to be greeted the owners son who immediately made us feel at home. Ballylickey House is a beautiful country house and was perfect for what my husband and I were looking for: a little weekend get away to Ireland. The gardens are stunning and we enjoyed walks around them especially the rose garden! Our room was warm and clean and the view was breath taking. We had a suite in the main house and it was so quiet, it also made getting to breakfast very easy as the little breakfast room was right below us. I loved the whole feeling of the house and I think that we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Get a room in the house!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We loved this location the gardens and accommodation are beautiful.

We had a suite in the house which had a large living room with tea making facilities and lots of books and old magazines to read if you get stuck in doors because of the weather, and then a huge bedroom and bathroom with separate bath and shower.

The house is very quaint with lovely china dishes laid out for breakfast. There are chalets on the grounds, and a swimming pool too (but no lifeguard).

We will be back, but there were 2 downsides.

1. when we arrived there was nobody to greet us at reception, we had to call a phone number and one of the staff came around to the front of the house to let us check in, so we didnt get the expected "Irish Welcome" the irish are so well known for, and
2. If you come back to the house late at night, the carpark is a small bit away from the house, and the grounds are not lit up, so you have to be really careful when getting to the house or chalets as its pitch black (make sure you have a flash light)

I would fully recommend this location to couples looking for something very quaint and romantic, the grounds and all the location were really divine!

Room Tip: Gorgeous and Comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetitiaS_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Ballylickey is the well kept secret of West Cork. My husband and I stayed at this guesthouse for two nights last week. We were looking to stay somewhere different away from numerous commercial and look-alike hotels. The view over Bantry bay and the mountains beyond are breathtaking, and the gardens are simply wonderful.

We opted for a room in the house with views looking over the bay, which was spacious and decorated with an authentic country charm. We really enjoyed our breakfast in the dining room of the house, and it was a nice touch to have the son of the owner take our order and offer to book any restaurants for the evening.

All in all, we had an amazing time, and we hope to be back soon when we visit Ireland again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maudswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This guesthouse is full of charm. The gardens are magnificent. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The owners met us on arrival and couldn't do enough for us. We had small children with us and they helped us to make things very comfortable for them. The pool was heated and available for us to use- we had a fantastic time, and loved the breakfasts. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMELDA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahir co tipperary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Read with amusement the preceeding review of Ballylickey as i think my stay overlapped with the reviewers, quite simply Ballylickey house is what it is meaning that its a charming beautifully located period house with unrivalled views lovely gardens and pleasant helpful staff and yes the plumbing might be underwhelming but if you hang around for the hot water it does arrive so if you want every thing at the flick of a switch go to the comfort inn group if you prefer things at the pace of your souroundings i would recommend Ballylckey evert time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylickey
0.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aran Lodge B&B
Aran Lodge B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballylickey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seafort Luxury Hideaway
Seafort Luxury Hideaway
#8 of 26 in Bantry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballylickey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballylickey House

Property: Ballylickey House
Address: Ballylickey, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry > Ballylickey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballylickey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballylickey House has been the home of the Franco-Irish Graves family for four generations, lying hidden among the rugged inlets of the majestic Bantry Bay. This secluded Manor House has the air of a beautiful family home, cherished and nurtured over the centuries. With unique gardens and cosy cottages, the grounds offer a relaxing and peaceful ambiance, perfect for a weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballylickey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballylickey Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing