We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Booked into the hotel for two nights on a special deal which included Breakfast and Dinner. Unfortunately, I didn't get to enjoy the stay as much as possible as I ended up being sick during my stay (unrelated!) but I have to give this a firm thumbs up from me.

The hotel is situated close to the Airport but lacks any signposts directing you to it, so we used the sat navigation. Ample parking at the front with a very modern entrance. Likewise, the reception was spacious and modern with a bar and restaurant all on the ground floor. Check in was quick and easy, very straightforward with friendly staff.

Our bedroom was located on the fifth floor and was a very spacious bedroom. The bed was a little small but the rest of the room was fantastic. There was a small hallway into the room and two chairs, and two tables with a large flat screen TV with a decent selection of stations. The room was long, so the TV was a distance away from the actual bed. There is a clock above the bed - a nice tough, but it doesn't work either! Decent sized wardrobe with safe and hair-dryer available in the room. A nice spacious bathroom with a small bath and large shower. The bathroom contained a speaker which didn't work - if it's supposed to link up with the TV, it doesn't! The Air Conditioning needs a manual - very difficult to use, if it actually worked!

There is no room service available, according to reception. Which was odd, seeing as the Guest Information booklet said there was and another room had a tray outside their room!

Lunch was nice - a carvery with sandwiches and soup also available, all at a good price. Very busy though, a lot of the businesses around the hotel seem to eat there!

Major disappointment for dinner though. When I rang down to book, reception told us that it would be in the bar because the restaurant was closed. We were told the restaurant menu applied in the bar - "Same Food, Same Menu". The bar was busy enough with a large loud group making dinner less enjoyable. The bar menu was basic and on asking for the restaurant menu, we were told it wasn't available as the restaurant is only open for the large groups that are staying in the hotel and nobody else. On questioning, the waitress established we were supposed to be on an even more restrictive dinner menu because of our package. So between having to eat in the bar and a very poor menu, it was a massive disappointment.

There is no Spa or Swimming Pool. There is an unattended 24 hour gym - well equipped - in a room on the first floor. There is also a mini library / reading room on the first room.

Overall, very happy with the room and service. The only down part was me being sick and the dinner!

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor are more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SullyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which is a pleasure to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 820 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Recently visited this hotel with a group of friends. Situated not far from Blanchardstown shopping centre on the outskirts of Dublin. Not far from the M50 motorway and the airport. Don't let the location put you off as there is an excellent bus service from the hotel to Dublin city centre. Be aware that only coins (and the exact change) are accepted on Dublin bus.
Hotel was clean and busy. We got a great deal. The room was spacious and clean. Room was well appointed. Breakfast was excellent - great selection of hot and cold dishes. Staff were very professional and helpful.
I definitely would go back to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank GerryR_Newry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review - it is wonderful to read your feedback in respect of our great service, location and hotel facilities. The team will be delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lovely hotel , staff lovely and very helpful. Location wasn't bad if you take the m50 exit 5 towards Ashbourne easy enough to get to directly, tyrelstown . Breakfast was very nice lot of variety ,catering for all tastes

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and feedback. I am pleased that you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel stayed over night for a friends wedding an it was a great hotel! All the staff were friendly an efficient an the rooms were spotless would highly recommend this hotel expert u must have a car if you plan to go anywhere else it's a bit isolated

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review - it is wonderful to read your feedback in respect of our great service, location and hotel facilities. The team will be delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is a basic 4*, lovely rooms great decor but without a spa or leisure centre which is great if you want a nice break to do whatever you. I stayed in a suite and it was gorgeous. A four poster bed and a sitting room with a dining table and a study table along with a large sofa and 3 relaxing chairs. The bathroom was lovely and clean and decorated lovely. The staff cannot be faulted in every department all staff are very well trained and excellent at what they do. There is an ice and water machine on every floor which is brilliant and convenient. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which is a pleasure to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Reception staff (front of house) made this a very disappointing visit, lack of english plus bad manners, training course may be required.

Room beautiful although constant drip from shower was aggrivating but got sorted eventually.

Breakfast adequate but didn't like the self service, felt a bit like being in a school canteen.

Would only stay again if location suited as it did on this occasion as it is very far from Dublin City Centre and not close to any amenities.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginnyjo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back if you do have the opportunity to visit us again.
Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I lecture in Blanchardstown and stay once a week for many weeks! I am alway made feel so welcomed warmly by both Grace and Minni - These ladies run a great reception and nothing is any bother. So efficient and professional with great warmth. Its lovely to come in from work and have lovely staff greet me - I feel like a valued guest at all times:) One one time I stayed there I had to change rooms through now fault of the hotel - the change over was done seemingly and organised by lovely grace at the reception desk. Breakfast is lovely - great range of food, drinks available. A waiter will alway give you a choice of hot beverages, not the usual run of the mill coffee - beautiful americanos etc. As for the accommodation itself - bedrooms are faultless - comes equipped with all the essentials such as iron and iron board, safe, kettle and hairdryer. THe beds are fine but mattresses could do with an upgrade to maybe have memory foam toppers? - but that is my usual preference!! I love staying there and hopefully will be staying more often with the college starts back ( wink wink can we negotiate an Institute of Technology rate for weekly stay:) :) seriously - I love my stay overs in the carlton - The staff make the place:) Nicola Duffy

Room Tip: stay on the fifth floor or first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review - it is wonderful to read your feedback in respect of our great service, location and hotel facilities. The team will be delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrrelstown
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.7 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,577 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
273 reviews
6.4 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Address: Church Road, Tyrrelstown D15, Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Tyrrelstown)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tyrrelstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Price Range: $114 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown is located in the heart of Dublin 15, within short distance of the Blanchardstown, Ballycoolin and Damastown corporate parks and in close proximity to the National Aquatic Centre, Blanchardstown Shopping Centre and Fairyhouse Racecourse, Tayto Park and Dublin Zoo. Locatred only 10 mins from Dublin Airport and Under 20 Mins from Dublin City Centre, Also close to the M50 for all major routes running to the north, south and west of the country as well as the entire east coast of Ireland, the Carlton Blanchardstown is easily accessible. Furthermore, its close proximity to the capital opens up vibrant opportunities for theatre trips, museums, concerts and the buzzing nightlife for which Dublin is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Dublin
Park Plaza Dublin
Dublin Park Plaza
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown Tyrrelstown, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing