We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Amazing Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at the beginning of December with a group of friends to attend the our Christmas party. The location was perfect for us as we all live within a 20 minute drive from the actual hotel. The very reasonably priced package included one night stay, mulled wine reception, three course meal and entertainment provided by a band and then disco. From the moment we arrived everything went extremely smoothly and efficiently. The size of the room was a complete surprise as it was much larger than the average double room and the bed was enormous. The separate double shower added to the luxury feel. I could not fault the food and the service which compares very favorably with any of the top restaurants. My compliments to the chef and your team for providing delicious and flavorsome food for such a large group (no soggy veg or cold plates in this establishment). The band and disco were both very professional and kept the atmosphere alive and buzzing for the entire evening. No raffles and silly games just a great mix of music and dancing till our feet hurt. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for all types of visitors and I will definitely return for both family short break or cozy one night stay for myself and my husband. Can't wait to try the food in the bar... I know I won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Algarve_for_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which is a pleasure to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 820 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here with a 9mnth old at the end of November for 3 nights. very happy with the price, excellent breakfast, ate in the bar 2 nights very happy. Clean hotel. We stayed here to be close to a few days shopping in blanch and ikea, it is well placed for that, good dublin bus service runs from outside the hotel if you dont have a car.
I have to say i have never stayed in a hotel with such lovely staff. It has also been a long time since i stayed in a hotel were the manager went around and greeted his customers . seen him put in long hours and perhaps he is the reason the staff are so happy. well done to all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevcarm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review - it is wonderful to read your feedback in respect of our great service, location and hotel facilities. The team will be delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Looking for a hotel on the North side of Dublin at short notice the usual suspects of Travelodge etc' were too expensive charging 79 Euros without breakfast - far too much for a basic budget hotel that sells at £19.99 to £29.99 in the UK. So I hit on what looked like a very decent 4* Hotel the Carlton Hotel Tyrellstown at a good price. Now as a Dubliner I know where this area is between Finglas and Blanchardstown on the North side of Dublin but I'm not sure tourists picking up cars at the airport would find it too easily. The location of the Carlton Hotel in Tyrellstown is very strange in a developed wasteland of roundabouts with blocked off roads. Obviously whatever was planned for the area had ground to a halt leaving the rather pristine Carlton Hotel eminent in its own plain and enjoying views over a nearby pharmaceutical plant!

However none of this was problematic for me as a Dubliner and in fact its location near to the Navan Road and the major shopping centre at Blanchardstown and the North Road and the M50 Dublin Orbital Motorway made it a very good base. Once inside the hotel the feeling was very positive. The hotel is brand new and the decor, fittings and rooms are of a high standard and the staff friendly. The room was excellent with safe, internet TV, tea/ coffee making and ironing facilities, the large bed very comfortable, lots of storage and a really lovely bathroom with a separate large shower and a bath. No problems there.

Breakfast the next morning was not so good with the restaurant full, none of the empty tables cleared and "stock outs" of some items on both the hot and cold buffets. The second morning when there were less guests it was much better but euros 13.99 is an expensive breakfast offer and a customer is entitled to a consistent quality - after all the hotel does not offer a discount for chaos.

That night some friends came back with me to the bar where the service and ambiance was excellent. Feeling peckish they ordered some food off the bar menu. It was cooked fresh and really beautifully prepared and presented, well above the usual standard denoted by bar food.

With its genuine four star ambiance and accessible but quirky location this hotel is a very good business and tourist base and I would definitely stay here again. Indeed I attempted to for my trip at the end of November and the cheapest room I could find on their booking site was a whopping euros 122. It simply is not worth that sort of price and I ended up staying for half that price at its better located sister hotel the Carlton Dublin Airport. I would like to stay there again but this operation needs to get its booking system sorted out and have a simpler more competitively priced offer without the quirkiness of the dynamic online booking system.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daithai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and feedback. I am pleased that you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Carlton Blanchardstown. The rooms are very tastfully decorated. The bathrooms were fully equipped and had both a bath and a large shower. The temperature of the was easy to control by means of the air-conditioning. When the window was open there was no problem with outside noise. We enjoyed a drink in the bar and found the bar-staff to be very friendly. There were very good levels of security, even the carpark was patrolled on what was a very cold night. Well done to all involved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkMaryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which is a pleasure to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked thinking it was the hotel next to Blanchardstown shopping centre how wrong we were. about 4 Kilometers away. Was greated by a nice lady at reception and told us alot of people make the same mistake we did. we were on the 4th floor and entering the room we were very happy with the size layout of the room. it was perfect for a relaxing night with no kids. Bed could have been a bit softer but as we have memory foam mattress @ home were used to luxury comfort. Cant fault the hotel at all Thx for a pleasent relaxing stay

Room Tip: Check where the hotel you book is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review - it is wonderful to read your feedback in respect of our great service, location and hotel facilities. The team will be delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here 16th and 17th Nov with my husband and daughter. Hotel rooms are decorated well and have all the usual equipment that you would expect from a four star hotel. mini bar is not stocked on arrival, you must request this. reception staff are pleasant friendly and helpful. there is also an efficient bus route outside the hotel which is great if you want to hit the city etc. all the good points stops there as from my personal experience all staff in the bar either need to be replaced or given proper training, as a four star hotel its a big let down. Proper table service does not exist, correct order taking is not a forte and having to seek out staff to order a drink from on a Sunday night.... not good

Room Tip: hotel has nice rooms nothing more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrshound2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the hotel which I am naturally disappointed to read. On reflection I feel that your experience is not indicative of the normal levels of service in the bar and here at the hotel as reflected in the large no of positive reviews on this forum. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the other elements of your experience.

I would be pleased to discuss your individual concerns directly with you and can be contacted via email to dcurtis@carlton.ie

I look forward to hearing from you and thank you once again for your feedback
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The rooms in this hotel were super. The bathroom had separate bath and shower and was beautifully decorated. The bedroom was very spacious and decorated beautifully decorated. The bar was a big let down. Not very comfortable and a cold feel to it. There was 9 of us and not a great choice of seating for large crowd. We ended up having a few drinks in our rooms. Some of us had food and it was over priced.

Room Tip: We were all on different floors. Penthouse Suite on 5th floor is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review - it is wonderful to read your feedback in respect of our great service, location and hotel facilities. The team will be delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrrelstown
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.7 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,414 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,577 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
273 reviews
6.4 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Address: Church Road, Tyrrelstown D15, Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Tyrrelstown)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tyrrelstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Price Range: $114 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown is located in the heart of Dublin 15, within short distance of the Blanchardstown, Ballycoolin and Damastown corporate parks and in close proximity to the National Aquatic Centre, Blanchardstown Shopping Centre and Fairyhouse Racecourse, Tayto Park and Dublin Zoo. Locatred only 10 mins from Dublin Airport and Under 20 Mins from Dublin City Centre, Also close to the M50 for all major routes running to the north, south and west of the country as well as the entire east coast of Ireland, the Carlton Blanchardstown is easily accessible. Furthermore, its close proximity to the capital opens up vibrant opportunities for theatre trips, museums, concerts and the buzzing nightlife for which Dublin is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Dublin
Park Plaza Dublin
Dublin Park Plaza
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown Tyrrelstown, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing