We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlton Blanchardstown never again !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked family explorer package as we wanted 2 connecting rooms.We are a family of two adults and 3 kids. We like to able to watch tv at least while the kids sleep. Two days before we were due to go I got a call to say the inter connecting rooms were not available as they had over booked and would a family room or two double rooms be ok.This was very disappointing as it was too late for us to get another hotel. We ended up with an exec room which meant that one child was set up in the walk in wardrobe and this was after many phone calls from us. They did give us free kids meals as an extra but this is not why we booked this hotel.
The dinner that was part of the package was not very good, and not as it was advertised on the menu.
There are no signs to get to the hotel in Blanchardstown (which has very heavy traffic, kids went nuts in the car) when we asked for directions in a garage the man told us people are always asking for direction to this hotel.
The hotel is clean but worn looking. Overall the package is well priced if you get what is advertised but we did not and will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 825 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great spacious rooms, close to Aquazone, Tayto Park & the amazing Blanchardstown Centre. We stayed with 2 kids and although there was a slight problem on arrival with the room it was sorted by the Manager quickly. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wexfordtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and I thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. Keep an eye on our website for the best possible value on upcoming deals & promotions, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here on a bank holiday monday we had a grabone voucher the hotel itself looked lovely but was a bit far out from the city the room we got was nice but the lock was broken so they moved us to a exclusive room it was fab!! when we went to the bar it was very poor looking twords the rest of the hotel. the staff were so unhelpful n unfriendly we orderd a ceasar salad ha it was a few salad leaves trown together with bits of chiken that looked like thay had already been eaten the plates were still on our table until the bar closed and we moved seats nice hotel but seroiusly need there staff to be trained!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding you recent stay with the Carlton Hotel. I have tried to establish with whom you raised your concerns with in the bar with no success. I have no record of you feedback apart from you complimentary upgrade but I am sorry to read that you were less than satisfied with the overall quality of your stay and would like to assure you that I will do everything possible to ensure that this issue does not arise again in the future.

Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Booked midterm family break, had picked out 2 hotels. asked around heard this excellent for kids...that sold it. Had connecting roomz v nice and spacious lovely in every way apart from the ceiling which had extensive water stains. Chk.in v efficient and friendly, food in bar lovely then...went to join kids club w reg form which was given to me whilst checking in. 1.5- 2 hrs later...no kids club. girl sick, only two other girls both in college.no garda vetting was a big defence... tbh totally disgusted wrecked our evening...had to replan w disappointed kids who had heard receptionist explaining kids club activities. and so we organised visit in town got stuck in awful traffic jam with kids and elderly parents. turned around; got lost; stress.com nobody happy. time to change hotels. did just that. had paid on arrival. got money back. polite staff, nice rooms apart from ceiling. hotel did offer to reduce room price. not much good to us though.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

I have to say I am a little confused by your comments; we have nice rooms, efficient staff, lovely food and polite staff all referred to in your review.
The only issues traffic in Dublin City was bad and we would not take a risk with an un-vetted person to mind your children? I am afraid it’s not a risk we are willing to take. Thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed with the 2 kids during Halloween break ... Had a fantastic time , staff lovely and friendly , everything very well organised ... The kids loved it and are looking forward to going back .. Fantastic value for family package !!! Meal in restaurant was absolutely fab ... Couldn't fault a thing ... Will definitely be going back ..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and I thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. I do hope you have occasion to visit us again soon, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely

Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff (especially Grace on reception). We asked for more tea bags in the room and they arrived within 10 mins...that's service. They wrote down directions, printed maps and were more than helpful providing cinema information. Very cheap packages for families including Tayto Park & Aquatic centre (NAC). Family friendly. Only 'tiny' downfall was that the address is a little confusing as Blanchardstown, not Tyrrelstown. Otherwise fab, and we definitely use again when returning to Tayto Park and NAC. Lots of road works going around the hotel on but I'm sure they will be fixed in no time. There is no swimming pool in the hotel but that didnt matter as we used the NAC. Our famaily dinner was delicious in the Thyme restaurant, and very reasonably priced for kids - adult 3 course included in our package. Brilliant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305, executive suite, air con/heating brilliant, spacious for family, beautiful ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelineMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and I thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. I do hope you have occasion to visit us again soon, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely

Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I would definatly recommend to people to stay in this lovely hotel, rooms are lovely decorated, bathroom is really cleaned, at a really good price for room only for one night, the reception were very kind, the village is two mins away which was great. Bus stop outside from the hotel which was great but the bus timetable was terrible.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and I thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us. Keep an eye on our website for the best possible value on upcoming deals & promotions, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely

Declan Curtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrrelstown
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.7 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,423 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Phoenix Park
6 mi away
Aspect Hotel Dublin Parkwest
6.4 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Address: Church Road, Tyrrelstown D15, Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Tyrrelstown)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tyrrelstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown is located in the heart of Dublin 15, within short distance of the Blanchardstown, Ballycoolin and Damastown corporate parks and in close proximity to the National Aquatic Centre, Blanchardstown Shopping Centre and Fairyhouse Racecourse, Tayto Park and Dublin Zoo. Locatred only 10 mins from Dublin Airport and Under 20 Mins from Dublin City Centre, Also close to the M50 for all major routes running to the north, south and west of the country as well as the entire east coast of Ireland, the Carlton Blanchardstown is easily accessible. Furthermore, its close proximity to the capital opens up vibrant opportunities for theatre trips, museums, concerts and the buzzing nightlife for which Dublin is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Dublin
Park Plaza Dublin
Dublin Park Plaza
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown Tyrrelstown, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing