We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
louth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent hotel. Looks lovely from the outside and doesnt disappoint inside. Welcomed very warmly and checkin was swift and efficient. Room was spacious and decorated nicely and also spotlessly clean. We were on the third floor so we had great views. Very friendly housekeeper on third floor and great at her job.Windows opened out which was great. Breakfast was top class and served till eleven which was great. Dinner was lovely also and great value and lots to choose from. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice bar also . Free wifi in hotel. Will definitely be back . Got a great deal for five nights on hotel website.

Room Tip: Get room on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohanlondeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    110
    47
    34
    23
See reviews for
65
168
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself, my partner & one year old stayed here in July 2013. We had a voucher from Pigsback.
Upon arrival the staff member was very helpful although we had to wait for our room which was fine & come to think of it as another reviewer stated we also had to ask what time dinner & breakfast was. We were told there was free wifi. I got to our room which was really clean. My Daughter was only in the door,bent down & picked up the Gold ball doorstop which she could've easily put in her mouth & for a one year old i doubt she had much force it out. Thankfully I was standing with her to take it off her but just thought we weren't off to a great start..
Id no signal on my phone for the whole 2 nights i was there, never mind free wifi. My partner also had the same problem & we are on two different networks. I spoke to a staff member and was just told there is free wifi & she didn't know why i was having this problem which to her credit is fair enough but I couldn't helped feeling fobbed off while being told to try again...
I will however highly commend the restaurant staff. They went out of their way to help us & tended to my daughter brought her food out first so we could feed her before ours came. They really made us feel welcome & cannot fault them at all.
It is a nice hotel, not much to do in the local area but was a nice break away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selinab_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just back from a gathering in the Racket Hall. From entrance Jennifer at reception was extremely friendly and very helpful. Our rooms 301 and 304 were up to a 4star standard. Crisp white linen and snow white soft towels. Old warm furniture in both rooms. As it was a gathering we had a large group for dinner. We were given all the help required to decorate a space in the bar for our gathering. Anna (Waitress) went out of her way to help us. She pushed and pulled furniture for us. Found items to decorate etc. Thank you Anna. The menu for dinner was of excellent choice. Thank you to the chef and the catering team who provided the meal.. Everyone commented on how nice the food was. John Kelly put on music for us to dance the night away. Wayne the manager on the evening was both warm and courteous to us. No matter what I asked of him, nothing was a problem. Bed very comfy. Had a delux bath before a home cooked breakfast. Served by very friendly staff. hotel we were able to sit around and relax after breakfast. There is no rush in the Racket Hall. You just want to take the surrounds all in. Plenty of car parking space. On the outskirts of Roscrea. Lovely countryside to view from the bedrooms. So once again thank you Racket Hall, a note to John Kelly "We shall be back for the same treatment".

Room Tip: Pick rooms in the 3rd floor for the views and rooms seems to be spacious on this level. Tell John Ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyBoopClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed in Racket Hall last weekend with the bite a bargain voucher. Upgraded to a suite and boy was this worth it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful as a matter of fact the people of Roscrea from the staff at Brendans Bar and The Stand were one of the friendliest I have come across, well done Roscrea you know how to welcome visitors. Also Johns flower baskets which adorned all of Roscrea were a beautiful site to behold. Racket Hall provided great food and cleanliness and If I had one complaint it is that the beer is not great at all. Try the golf club next door to Racket Hall, the food is to die for and is so reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, very large and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizabethCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

omg ! where will i start ,,, absolutetly fab exterior ,,excellent car park ! my hubby and i went there with 3 other couples to celebrate our anniversary ! rooms were fab / we had added bonus of having a " bite a bargain " deal of 99 euro 2 nites b and b wit main course dinner one night .....and late check out ! ........................... and to be fair it was a fab deal ! ////// .......to be honest in reality ........... when i checked it " male person who checked me in was nice but never said " wat time brekkie was or enlightened me wit any other activities e t c ! " ..but that was ok .. as weekend progressed service was soooooo bad brekkie was a disaster both mornings ..my hubbie was waiting 25 mins for scrambled egg that i had to remind waitress of twice ! !"
ooo i could carry on for a while unfortunatly wit complaints ... just to add also my key card
failied to work and person in charge who i had to seek out on 3 occassions had to slot at least 12 key cards in our room door before it worked !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rhonda186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a Saturday night in the busy summer season and reception and all staff were friendly and very capable throughout.Dinner was delicious two surf and turfs cooked perfectly; rooms were spacious with an older feel,-and windows opened! Breakfast was a buffet type,not the best ever but staff so friendly and second helpings not a problem.The band cover charge was expensive and band not great.All in all excellent value for money for bed and breakfast.And they returned my phone charger free of charge!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinead g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really nice hotel, very clean and relaxing! No problems; All staff were very pleasant and very welcoming.

Food was excellent and cooked to perfection.

In a quiet location so perfect for your relaxing holidays and getaways.

Free Wifi is a big plus too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrengreene-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscrea
10.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.4 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
23.7 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racket Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Roscrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Roscrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Racket Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Racket Hall Country House Hotel is ideally situated on the N7 just outside the heritage town of Roscrea just a short distance from Dublin & Limerick providing the perfect location to get away from it all and enjoy a relaxing stay, whether it's business or pleasure. The perfect weekend or midweek hideaway. Originally built in the 18th century, this "Olde Worlde" country house has been refurbished in keeping with its true character. Set in the rolling countryside of the monastic midlands and nestled beneath the Slieve Bloom mountains. The elegantly furnished guest rooms are styled for comfort and luxury. Relax in the charming atmosphere at Racket Hall Country House Hotel. All guest rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, free wifi, room safe & tea & coffee making facilities to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Racket Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racket Hall Country House Golf Hotel Roscrea
Racket Hall Country House Golf And Conference Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing