We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“review jan 2013” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“review jan 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

On travelling to this hotel at the end of January 13, which i have used on a regular basis for business, I was astonished to find the tea making facilities, hair dryer and internet connection was removed from the hotel rooms. On enquiry the abrupt manager informed me that it was for 'economic' reasons and that if I wanted the items, the tea could be bought in the bar and the hairdryer could be hired...I was booked in for 3 days, needless to say i checked out after the first night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    111
    47
    34
    23
See reviews for
66
169
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was more like a self service cafe at a department store. Meats were over cooked, the gravy glutinous and the staff disinterested. The sports channel was blaring out and so we tried to find a quiet corner so that we could talk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel had a promising start. The staff were friendly and more than helpful. On the first night the food in the bar was shocking; the rare steak was cooked in an incinerator and you could hammer a nail into a wall. On the second night the "restaurant" was literally two steps from the bar and the food was unimaginative, over-cooked and badly presented. I would rather chew my shoe than eat there ever again.
The open faced fire place spewed smoke across the bar and restaurant and went unchecked for an hour or so, with the fire alarm going off twice.
I would advise anybody staying here to reconsider and book somewhere else. Absolutely shocking that a place like this can have four stars!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grahammaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a quick bite to eat and had a fairly good filling carvery lunch. Lots of local and passing traffic in the bar. Service was good. No complaints and very happy because had a few rotten meals here in the past. Pleasantly surprised this visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped here recently on a trip to north Tipperary for a meal - we chose the early bird menu in the bar. The choice was a little limited on the basic menu but for €16.95 each what could one expect. The meal was fab. Served by excellent staff. The dining area is in the bar and is very big, but this is again turned into smaller dining areas - all in all excellent. Loved the large relaxing areas where you can sit and sip the last of your bottle of wine which is also very reasonably priced. Staff are one of their best assets.
Well done - will definately visit again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planner108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jk9651, Director of Sales at Racket Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Racket Hall Country House Hotel employs a team of 40 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my second trip to Racket Hall and it is becoming one of my favourite hotels to get away to.

My first trip was with a voucher for €99 for two nights for two ppl B&B with wine and chocolates on arrival. My return trip was with another voucher for €89 for two nights for two ppl B&B with one evening meal (3 courses).

I really do like this hotel, The staff are lovely to deal with, the food is absolutely fabulous. For our 3 course meal we paid the supplement of €6 for the fillet steak and it was totally worth it. We asked the young waitress to recommend and nice bottle of wine. She suggested the house red wine. This was the perfect choice, I like my wine to be sweet and this hit the spot nicely. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were not disappointed, the wine also helped :) :)

The first time we stayed, at breakfast time the waitress came to you to take your order which kept the poor girls busy and some of the tables were not cleaned down which meant the last few people coming to breakfast found it hard to get a table that was clean. This time around it was self-serving, as in, you went to the counter and the staff gave you what you asked for (Rashers, sausages, sautéed potatoes, eggs, pudding etc). This is a fabulous idea, it means the staff are free to clean the tables as people leave without having to worry about taking orders. You popped your own bread in the toaster, only took a few seconds, the girls brought you your tea or coffee to the table and you helped yourself to cereal and juice… BRILLIANT!!! This slight change ensured that the tables were always cleaned down and ready to go – Top marks for this change.

There is entertainment in the hotel, you do pay an entry fee but this is due to the organisers of the event as it’s not the actual hotel that provides the entertainment so it is understandable that there is an entry fee, so don’t blame the hotel  . You will find a list of entertaining events in all of the rooms in the hotel and in the reception area, just look up your date to see who is preforming. For both stays we were at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park. With people coming and going, this did not really disturb us. The first time we were on the ground leave, right beside the front entrance (family room) and we were not disturb. Yes, you heard voice’s but no shouting or silly carry on, nothing that would wake you from your sleep if you were sleeping.

Roscrea town is about a 7 min drive. It’s a lovely little town, might take you an hour or two to wonder around the shops. If you are looking to do so real shopping, The Crescent shopping centre is in Limerick, roughly 30 min drive as we drove there on the Saturday and surprisingly it didn’t take too long. The Crescent shopping centre is very big, so wear comfortable shoes and your feet will be killing you by the time you are finished shopping. It has every shop you can possibly think of so you won’t be disappointed.

I’m looking forward to my next trip to Racket Hall, I’m sure I will be back within the next couple of months. The hotel is going to be sick of my face :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay_di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jk9651, Director of Sales at Racket Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Racket Hall Country House Hotel employs a team of 40 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve.
If you would like to make a booking in the future please check out our website and please follow us on facebook. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailieborough, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night deal staying in early December, when hotel was quiet but that meant we could monopolise the comfy armchairs in front of a roaring fire, sharing a reasonably priced bottle of wine. The menu was varied to suit everyone's taste, and rooms clean and comfortably equipped. No hesitation of staying again in ever we were in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscrea
10.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.4 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
23.7 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racket Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Roscrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Roscrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Racket Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Racket Hall Country House Hotel is ideally situated on the N7 just outside the heritage town of Roscrea just a short distance from Dublin & Limerick providing the perfect location to get away from it all and enjoy a relaxing stay, whether it's business or pleasure. The perfect weekend or midweek hideaway. Originally built in the 18th century, this "Olde Worlde" country house has been refurbished in keeping with its true character. Set in the rolling countryside of the monastic midlands and nestled beneath the Slieve Bloom mountains. The elegantly furnished guest rooms are styled for comfort and luxury. Relax in the charming atmosphere at Racket Hall Country House Hotel. All guest rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, free wifi, room safe & tea & coffee making facilities to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Racket Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racket Hall Country House Golf Hotel Roscrea
Racket Hall Country House Golf And Conference Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing