We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very comfortable business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a very comfortable business hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

One of the most comfortable hotels in the airport area especially if you get an executive room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    636
    254
    107
    53
See reviews for
417
632
171
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to write and say what a lovely experience I had on my 1 night stay at the Carlton hotel this Saturday. From the great and speedy check in to the cleanliness of the room (and quiet too considering its proximity to the runway) to the friendly room service.....a very plesant stay. I had originally booked to stay at the Clarion but when I read the reviews I changed my mind and stayed here. I was not disappointed. The bonus was I rented a car from Dan Dooley and their depot is right next to the hotel. They told me to just leave the key at reception and they would come and collect the car the next morning. Made my life very simple indeed and considering the amount of luggage I had and the fact that I was travelling solo with my 3 yr old daughter..... Put simply, everything worked out just great. High recommend this hotel if you need an overnight in the vicinity of Dublin airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were a bit apprehensive about staying so close to the runway but the convenience for the following morning flight couldn't be overlooked. The staff were very helpful, even printing off our boarding pass. The hotel was by no means crowded at the time, and we had quite a good meal at the bar in the early evening. The room was clean and we had a king size bed. Yes, we were near the runway and sometimes the glass in the windows vibrated, but we slept like logs, probably because we knew we didn't have to find our way out of Dublin and work out the timing for the traffic, to get to the car hire centre and be at the airport the following morning in good time. We dropped our car off the evening before we left and were driven back to the hotel probably because of it's close proximity.
I would definitely stay there again, for the one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed here because we don't live near the airport and we had an early morning flight. This offered superb value as they also allow you to leave your car in the car park for the duration of your trip abroad - all for the cost of the night's b and b. We were delighted with the quality of the hotel and of the room. The shuttle bus took us to the airport the next morning and upon our return lo and behold but there was the shuttle mini bus waiting for us to take us back to the hotel. SO convenient! We were thrilled with the whole experience and will definitely be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I'll keep this short and to the point!

Good points:
- Located close to Dublin Airport with shuttle bus service (did not use this)
- Good food
- Rooms are very clean and spacious (we were in a suite)
- Modern Hotel

Negative Points
- This hotel allows functions late at night. We were in a Suite and were woken up several times between 1am and 3am by rowdy, drunk party goers staggering along our corridor to bed. Not what you need at an "Airport" hotel. When I book into an "Airport" hotel, I expect a good night sleep, uninterrupted by noise from drunken party goers.
- Staff at Reception - upon check out I approached the desk and simply said "I would like to check out of room XXX". I was asked for my credit card and handed a receipt. No "how was your stay" or "was everything to your satisfction" or even a "thank you." I wasn't in the mood to say anything about it as I was heading for a transatlantic flight - after a sleep disturbed night.

Bottom line - you will find a nice hotel with good food in a modern environment. However if you want to sleep and relax the night before you fly, then stay at one of the other Airport hotels, the Radisson being the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slumped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I have in recent months used a number of the hotels assocaited with Dublin Airport and found the Charlton to be the best of them all. There is a high quality of services from the bus collection at the airport with polite and friendly drivers, through the efficient receiption, to comfortable spacious and clean rooms. this is all cmplimented by the good food delivered in the light enviroment of the restaurant.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed at the Carlton Dublion Airport for one night before flying the next morning.
We booked room online for a very reasonable rate including breakfast and overnight parking.

We arrived and were checked in to a room which was a good size but a bit Grubby around the edges. Stained carpet, wall paper missing and dirty torn / rusty furniture (not really waht you expect at a 4 Star.

Beacuase we got the room cheap we were happy to live with it, however

That night a group of young people were checked in to the room next to us and basically kept us awake from 12 midnight until 6 in the morning. I complained to the staff numerous times who were helpful and appologetic but could not do very much.

We did recive a full refund at check uot and the breakfast was very good.

In short, happy we got the room free of charge but will never be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.4 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing