We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Really nice hotel, and very prompt pick up from the airport about 12 at night from the airport. As our connection flight was not till later we caught the 41c bus into town in the morning which takes about 30 minutes through the busy traffic. On the way back we caught the 41c bus back again which stops very close to the hotel. Catch the bus again at lower abbey street which is not on the main street where we got off. The breakfast in the morning was fine.

  • Liked — THE VERY LARGE ROOM
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    593
    223
    98
    46
See reviews for
355
567
154
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

We regularily stay at the Carlton whilst in Dublin for early/late flights abroad.

Staff are all very welcoming (except the young Irish barman who is more than a little surly).
Check-in/out is efficient and effortless, as it should be.
The rooms are spacious, well equipped and always clean.
The beds are extremely comfie, the bathrooms are big and luxurious.

All in all I can't really fault it.
Keep up the excellent work!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — surly barman
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Itchy_Irish_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We have recently returned from 3 days in Dublin where we stayed at the Carlton Hotel, Dublin Airport. Our room was very spacious, food in the Kittyhawk bar was excellent, and the staff were all extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Despite earlier comments we found the shuttle bus worked well, with a spare available when necessary.

All round it was a great stay, with only one minor niggle which prevents us giving 5 stars. The waste water from the washbasin in our room took an eternity to drain away. We did mention this at Reception, but their attempts to rectify the problem proved fruitless. Otherwise the room was very comfortable.

We would be happy to return.
Judy & George

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMaybury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

Okay, the other reviews for this hotel are pretty decent and maybe we just had a bad experience but I'm going to vent anyway. As it says in my profile, I'm sensitive to noise and I'm pretty picky about where I sleep. We picked this place as we had an early flight and wanted somewhere secure to leave the car. We thought a change from the Bewleys would be good and the combined accommodation and parking rate was okay valyue.

Arrival was fine, parking was fine, check-in all fine. Food in the bar was fine too. The double room we were given on first glance was fine, but it turned out to be one of a pair of adjoining rooms which I absolutely hate! Grand if the people next door are quiet enough, but I think we had a deaf aul' pair next to us and they insisted on having the tv up at full volume. It was Friday night and the Late Late Show was on and by whatever strange laws of physics were at work, the noise in our room was I suspect, louder than it was in theirs. It was like Pat Kenny was in the bed with us, roaring away. We had to be up at 4.30am and it was coming up on midnight before I lost the plot and complained to reception. It was half an hour before they got back to us offering to change rooms and at that time, the tv next door was miraculously switched off so we stayed put. At about 3am the phone rang, and some American bag was screaming, "Colleen? Colleen?" into the phone. I nearly put the phone through the wall and spent the time until the wakeup call quietly fuming. Total waste of money,

No breakfast for those early departures either which was annoying. Would it have killed them to put out some coffee, juice and croissants?

There was a damp smell about the place and bathroom wasn' the best either.

That's it, I'm done whinging. We'll be going back to Bewleys in future or else we'll just go back to booking the Quick Park and drive in early.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport, transfer service
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is a perfect Hotel to stay in pre-post flying to any destination. Their location is very convenient for the airport with ample private secure car-parking and a frequent transfer bus to and from the airport. The accommodation is very comfortable and safe. The clouds restaurant at the top of the hotel is a must with refreshingly good food for an airport Hotel. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who is travelling for business or personal reasons. Only downside was that sometimes the downstairs restaurant staff didnt appreciate that time is of the essence when one is catching a flight so if you are in a hurry, dont trust that they will be bothered. Other than that, its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCozzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

I am very glad we chose this hotel it was really second to none. From the moment we checked in the service and friendliness was excellent. The room was lovely and spacious, the beds super comfy and the bathroom spotless. We dined in the Kittyhawks bistro and the service was impeccable and the food delicious and reasonably priced. The shuttle bus at 4am (we booked it at check in) was bang on time and only took 5 mins to the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Service received by all staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing-it was all good!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Hi

Have stayed here twice now when flying early from Dublin airport rooms lovley as was bar and reception area. I would not recommend the resuraunt. I think the do bar food as well which must be better than the food we got upstairs in a resturaunt.
There was no one in it service was a bit condescending from a French? i think waiter.Hughly overpriced!!! Not suitable for families
Over all room and service very good would stay again but probably prefer to stop for food eleswhere before arriving.

  • Liked — modern rooms
  • Disliked — resturaunt
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue79Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing