We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant fault hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“cant fault hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely airport hotel and at such a great price.
Lovely double spacious room, with very comfortable bed and facilities.
Had room service and again was quick service and very tasty.

Only one point would make and this is so small it not even a complaint, but on check out at 4.30am had to wait 10 mins for someone to come to reception. The security couldnt help and didnt advise where staff member was just asked to wait...was a very small pain in a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swansealad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Swansealad

Thank you for your review - I am pleased that you had a good experience at the hotel and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the night manager was not at reception when you were checking out and would like to apologize for the delay. I understand that the night manager was dealing with a guest issue at the time which meant he was away from the front desk for slightly longer than anticipated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    635
    253
    107
    52
See reviews for
417
629
170
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

As I said in my last review about this hotel....the hospitality remains 10/10. I have to commend the Reception staff for their continuing attention to guests but on this trip I must give a special note to Monika as she went out of her way for me - nothing was too much trouble. My last review about this hotel back in October 2013 made a reference to the changed Restaurant/Bar menu which I personally found very disappointing. When I saw the Menu this time, I was delighted to see they have reverted back to the simple, comforting, filling type of meals that I particularly liked & I would say was popular with most guests. Congratulations on making that change! Only thing I have a complaint about was that on the Sunday night I was there, I requested the Carlton Sandwich to be made as a Wrap not a sandwich which should have been quite simple to do however this seemed to be a monumental task & at first this was refused. After some persuasion from Monika, the receptionist I get my request only to find the Wrap had been heated = the original sandwich was never a hot item so why he heated the Wrap I have no idea. It was a huge let-down for the Chef not to be as hospitable & accommodating as the rest of the Hotel Staff. Overall the food is superb! Tick boxes for location, hospitality (most of the time), comfort & food. I will be back....This hotel is worth coming back to & it will certainly tick even more boxes once the refurbishment is complete (I have to agree with some of the recent comments that the hotel could do with an uplift & I look forward to seeing the results)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK2LONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear LK2LONDON

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. It is nice to hear what a great stay you had with us at Carlton Dublin Airport and I assure you that the team will be delighted to hear your warm feedback.

I note your comments in respect of the food item you ordered and assure you that I will speak with the catering team in respect of dealing with special requests which are never an issue for us. Overall I am delighted that you like the changes we have made to our menu since your last visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

After spending just one night at the hotel for a business trip, I must say I was impressed with the detail. The shuttle bus to/from the airport was very efficient, also took us by surprise as I didn't expect it. Easy hotel to navigate around, simple layout. Great function rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte_PCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had a great experience and found everything to be of a high standard in the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is well situated for the airport with a shuttle bus running every half hour.The hotel itself is very nice with a decent sized reception area.The rooms are large and clean.We found the staff friendly and efficient and if we were travelling on an early morning flight I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear SFlynn8

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you had a great stay at the hotel and that every aspect of our service was of a high standard. The Carlton Team take great pride in delivering a true Irish welcome to all of our guests and it is refreshing to receive such great feedback as yours.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful hotel again prior to our early morning flight to Munich. Had another great meal in the bistro restaurant & were able to request the same room we stayed in two months before.
Cannot recommend highly enough. Fantastic service, spotlessly clean room and superb food. Will be staying here again & again prior to any further flights outbound. Great hotel & super helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc42travel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It is refreshing to read of the high level of guest care, great food and service that you received whilst staying at the hotel.

The team & I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel as we wanted to get an early night before an early morning flight to Asia. Check in was good as was the food and service in the bar. The rooms however were grubby and worn. We didn't mind too much as we just wanted an early night before our long journey ahead and went to bed tired and looking forward to the rest. A half hour later however we were woken to the beats of the music and the sound of the dj at what turned out to be a staff party downstairs.They were even playing christmas songs and this was the middle of January. Our first call to reception was fobbed off and we were told it would be over soon. Our second call, while listening to Mariah Carey lamenting on all she wanted for Christmas, had the desired effect and the music went off shortly after. Most people stay in airport hotels as they want a good rest before an early flight so this setup where there seems to be regular sleep interruption is not good enough. Next time we need an airport hotel in Dublin we will go elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Doctord_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel. It is with regret that I read of your dissatisfaction and would like to apologize for our shortcomings.

Understandably, you were unhappy with some noise from a weekend function which finished at 12:30. I am happy to advise that this type of issue is rare at the hotel and the front desk team are always on hand to assist with guest care at all times.

I note your comments in respect of the guestrooms and I am most disappointed to read your feedback. All of the guestrooms in the hotel are maintained to a very high 4 Star standard by our dedicated Accommodation Team. A Gold Award was recently awarded to the hotel by the Irish Accommodation Services Institute which is indicative of the very high standards maintained in the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My friend Sally and I stayed in one of the twin rooms last Saturday night.
The rooms are nicely appointed too which includes a large TV
We spent a day in the town then had a meal in the Restaurant... good value for very tasty nicely served food...We got ready in the pretty spacious bathroom I would say that the only complaint is the lighting its too dark in the bathroom... you could add one stronger light over a vanity mirror to Help you see when putting on makeup.We ended up using the light opposite the bathroom in the open plan wardrobe.. then we made our way downtown and danced our socks off.
Considering the proximity of the Airport we werent disturbed by plane noises and slept well in the comfy beds
The Hotel is ideal if your jetting off elsewhere from Dublin Airport but its a good €25 taxi ride to the shopping/nightlife in Dublin if youre in a budget and not planning on flying off elsewhere this could be an expensive way to stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stayedroom331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your review - the Carlton Team are delighted that you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of your experience. I note your feedback in respect of the bathroom lighting and will endeavour to address this issue as soon as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.4 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing