We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better Airport Hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“There are better Airport Hotels!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here one night while attending a conference in room 204. Booking in was fast and efficient, no personal touch.
The room was ok, it was beginning to show its age and was in need of repair in places. Wallpaper was beginning to peel away/ fall off sections of the wall especially over by the wardrobe. There were also large chips of wood missing in a lot of the furniture.
The lamp on the dressing table did not work and there was no socket to plug in a laptop by the bed. The only sockets available were at the dressing table.
However I found the bathroom to be very modern and clean and had no complaints regarding housekeeping. In fact I was struggling with some bags and trying to open the door when a very nice lady from housekeeping helped me.
The bed was ok, the sheets and pillows were very comfortable, but the bed was one of those mattress that are divided in two and you could feel the zipped up piece the whole night while trying to sleep.
As for food I found the food terrible in this hotel. I had breakfast on arriving at the hotel and regretted ordering it as it was so terrible. The only thing I could eat was the toast and sausage. The rest looked like it was pre prepared and there for a long time. For the price of breakfast you would expect far better quality.
That night after the conference I decided to order a sandwich and tea in my room. The sandwich arrive warm as it was covered under a hot plate with the chips and the salad was also warm! The tea arrived with no milk or sugar! For this I had to pay an extra 3 euro tray charge! I would never return, if I should have to attend another conference here I will stay in another hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay don't eat the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and comments. I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with your stay and apologize for our shortcomings to you. I am unable to agree with all of your feedback particularly in respect of the food in the hotel as this is one area where the hotel excels which is quite clear from prior reviews posted on this forum.

In any case I will review each aspect of your review fully with the team and thank you for taking the time to provide same.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    617
    241
    106
    48
See reviews for
381
607
162
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burt
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked this hotel as a stopover on our trip to Cuba. Rooms were well appointed and spacious. Food in the bistro was excellent and valve for money topped up by the attentive service from jimmy. Check in was easy and reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Derds22

Thank you for your feedback - I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and the team in the bistro were so attentive to you, especially Jimmy.

The food in the bistro is particularly good and I am glad that you enjoyed you meal.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were looking for a hotel near the airport to stay for our last night in Ireland. What originally sold us was the location and the free shuttle. The hotel was very clean and nice. The bathroom was large and had great water pressure & hot water, which after staying in hostels for a week was amazing to us! We booked online the night prior via last minute.com. The receptionist already had our paperwork printed out and waiting for us once we arrived. Check-in & check-out was very smooth. We ate at the restaurant that is attached called Kittyhawk's. Great food & great staff there as well, with very reasonable prices. Overall just a great stay, would stay here again & recommend to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Kara H

Thank you for your review - the team at the hotel are delighted to have taken great care of you recently. We are especially pleased to note that you enjoyed your meal in Kittyhawks Bistro & were well looked after by the friendly & attentive team there.

Until the next time - best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent location, near airport (free shuttle) near freeways and city activities. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, nice size rooms. Quiet, did not hear planes at all, even though it is very near the airport. Only downside, and it is not their fault, the shuttle stop is a hefty walk from baggage claim so get a cart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Larry H

Thanks for your review and feedback which is wonderful to read. I am delighted that you had a great time at the hotel and look forward to seeing you again.

I agree the coach drop off point is a little further away from the Terminals than we would like but due to limited space at Dublin Airport there is very little that can be done to relocate it any closer. Our friendly drivers are always willing to drop guests off at the terminals so please don't hesitate to ask them next time.

Best wishes

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. I was attending a conference but I brought my wife & daughter to enjoy Dublin afterwards.
The Hotel is in a great location, near the airport and easily accessible from the M50 so within easy reach of the city as-well .
Room was very spacious with very comfy beds and great size bathroom with powerful shower. The added bonus of a balcony with views out over the airport was a great attraction for our little one who could gaze at the airplanes all day.
We enjoyed a very comprehensive breakfast, with a varied buffet and piping hot food. We had dinner on both nights and have to say it was lovely. Great choice and great service.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review and feedback - the team are delighted that you and your family had such a great stay and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel including our great food, comfortable rooms and proximity to Dublin City.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

In September 2013 my company provided conference facilities for Oriflame at the Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport. I would say although we work all over the UK it is the first time we have ever worked in Ireland. The hotel proved to be the most helpful and efficient hotel we have worked at for a long time. The staff went to great lengths to work with us to provide our client with a great event. The rooms were also really good and the food to be of a high standard. I would recommend this hotel to anybody corporate or private.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Barry

Many thanks for your super review - it was our pleasure to work with you and your colleagues recently and I am delighted that the event was such a fantastic success for everyone.

Best wishes

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good hotel, comfortable rooms and shuttle service when flying out of Dublin Airport. Check in was very efficient and staff courteous and friendly. We had a extremely early flight out and the shuttle was right on time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Sharon M

Many thanks for your fabulous review of the hotel - the team here are delighted to have taken such great care of you during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing