We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Escape the city!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Escape the city! Excellent hotel for short break away without children. Great food, friendly staff, comfortable beds, relaxing spa area, if a limitless short on lounge beds. Minor cosmetic maintenance ('lick of paint' to exterior wood, etc...) required.

Room Tip: Woodland view on 3rd , 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 00Alan
Many thanks for your great feedback following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.
Regarding the beds in the thermal suite, unfortunately space does not allow for any more immediately around the pool, however we do have two relaxation rooms where there are are plenty of beds to relax. Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding some maintenance issues, which I have taken on board.
Please do come and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    446
    197
    108
    56
See reviews for
259
723
44
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had our wedding here in May2013 and everything we asked for was catered for. The hotel staff were excellent and a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was too much for them. We had the bridal suite which is in the old castle. This felt more like a penthouse suite than a hotel room. Huge, comfortable 4 poster bed, Superb shower, jacuzzi/bath and a seperate living room & walk in closet. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.They carried out everything we dreamed of for our big day. The meal on the day was `beautiful and people are still talking about it a week later. The grounds are beautiful and we got our photos of the day taken here. You are a few minutes walk from Dunboyne village itself with shops/pubs/restauants there & about 5 minute drive from Blanchardstown Shopping centre.
I cannot wait to stay in this hotel again and all my family/friends who stayed in the hotel commented on how much they enjoyed the rooms/breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nymco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear nymco
Sincere thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are delighted to hear that everything went so well on your special day, and we were delighted to have played a small part in it.
We will pass on your kind comments to the team and hope you will come back again very soon to relive the memories!
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have to say, the title of this castle hotel is misleading. It contains the remnants of an old castle, yes, but it is not a castle the way you would think. The hotel seemed more like a conference or large group destination than anything else. The spa was fine with an indoor pool and some sauna steam room options, but nothing spectacular. The breakfast was probably the highlight since it was a Sunday buffet with a large spread and a good variety. The room was average, with mediocre decor and the location is far away from a major town or attraction. The one thing I will say is, if you stay here, eat at the pub just down the street on the left called Slevin's rather than at the hotel. A great local scene with tasty pub food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Lindsey S
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay, we very much appreciate your feedback.
Regarding your comments on there being no castle present, as you mention, there was indeed a castle here on the grounds, however this was destroyed by Cromwell and the first part of the present day building was built at the start of the 1700’s, in a mansion style, and has always retained the name of Dunboyne Castle. You can see remains of the castle structure in the grounds at the front of the hotel.
Again thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stay here was fantastic. The staff were very professional and friendly. This was our first stay here and we have already booked to return in June for another 'blissful' weekend.
The spa, with the pool and out door hot tub is just a haven...perfect for the adult who wants to get away from it all. Both my hubby and I used the facilities and he was very impressed too. Your every need is catered for from the provision of slippers and robes and plenty of towels. The food was also gorgeous...just so scrummy and we only ate in the bar.
Also its near Blanchardstown shopping centre for a change of scene if you need to break the peace and quiet for a bit.
Really and truly a treat- roll on June :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mars1809
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to share your experience with others. It is very much appreciated and I am delighted to read your very positive feedback.
We also sincerely appreciate that you have booked to come again next month, and hope that your stay this time will be equally as enjoyable.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

As someone you often writes reviews on Tripadvisor I give a balance opinion and am rarely negative always looking for the positives but I feel very let down by the experience we had at the Dunboyne Castle Hotel. Having looked on the website and read the reviews on TA we had booked for one night as a treat for our wedding anniversary. We were really looking forward to simply chilling out, relaxing in the spa and enjoying a nice meal- and the reviews seem to promise that the Dunboyne would so that.

First impressions were very good , nice hotel, lovely ground and a quick and friendly check in. The hotel seemed very busy with lots of different things happening - a wedding, first communion dinners and 3 hen parties. We went to the spa and had a nice time. Afterwards we went to the terrace for a snack and a drink. The pizza took 30 minutes to arrive but was fine.

Originally I had requested by email a dinner reservation at 8pm but was happy to change to 8.30 when the hotel said they could not accommodate us. Dinner was when things went very wrong. We arrived and the manager said she was setting up the table and showed us to out seats. No glasses for wine or water and no side plate to have some bread. We had to wait for that. Order wine and food. 15 minutes later the waitress came to tell us they had no rack of lamb left could we chose something else so we order the fillet of beef, 10 minutes later sorry no beef could we pick again - this meant that 2 out of the 6 main course were now not available and out of the four remaining dishes 2 were fish. I picked the halibut and my husband the chicken- I asked what it came with and was told mash but before we could ask anything else the waitress rushed off. The couple beside us were having a similar experience. When the food arrived my starter was bland. We waited 30 minutes for the main - disgusting the fish and pea and mint puree were fine but the crab cannelloni uneatable - pasta too thick and undercooked. My husband chicken came on risotto but not alot. A similar dish delivered to our neighbours was at least twice the size. No mash for either dish. The nicest thing about desert was the sorbet. Problems continued and no one came to apologies yet the couple beside us were offered their wine complimentary. This was not the young waitress fault but the managers who should have been on top of things

I expected at some point to be asked how was our stay but even at check out nothing. Given we were so looking forward to a nice experience we were very disappointed by our dining experience and the customer service that we received.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Alibel
Thank you for your feedback, following your recent stay with us. I am very disapointed to read that your dining experience was not an entirely positive one. We also received your guest comment card and there is a detailed letter in the post to you.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of my birthday presest. I love the mix of old style and modern. Found the bar a bit expensive for both food and drink. Room was fine, nice and clean. We had a rasul treatment in the spa and it was brilliant. The girl was very helpful. Love the outdoor jaccuzi it was a little slice of heaven. Only fault really is that overall its a bit expensive to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Alwhelan
Sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday treat.
Regarding the prices of food and beverage in our bars, we feel our pricing is very competitive and in line with other 4 star hotels in the area.
Again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have stayed in Dunboyne Castle Hotel on breaks before and as its relatively a short distance from my house (20mins on the motor way) we decided to treat our family to a sunday lunch in the newly relaunched IVY restaurant in the hotel. Immediately upon entering, we were really impressed with the new decor (I especially loved the new padded dividers which are located in the room - which allow diners to enjoy their dinner in much more privacy then before, ideal if you are on a romantic night out - or in our case dining with 2 young children - who were entralled with them and didn't disturb fellow diners in the restaurant!). As always, the staff in the restaurant were as pleasant and ammenable as ever - and went through the new menu options with us. I went for the tian of salmon and smoked salmon - it was divine! Followed by the pan fried fillet of cod with a herb crust, loved loved loved the mash with it (and definately get a side order of cream spinach too - really complimented it!) Portion size was generous and our children's meals were brought out straight away while we enjoyed our starter - An extra lovely added touch was the childrens menus had spongebob pictures on it and other cartoon characters which the kids loved (means nothing to adults but it made the kids day!!!!). It was only while dining there yesterday that we realised that "Kids go free" for Sunday lunch......amazing value! (this includes main course and dessert and a drink!) My husband had the new duck spring rolls followed by the steak (both of which were gorgeous). My top marks goes to my dessert choice though Lemon and Lime Semi Fredo and Earl grey tea sorbet.....sounds odd, but so refreshing, particularly with the warm weather yesterday! We ended up having a lovely drink outside in the sunshine afterwards..... Really looking foward to going back again soon - next time for an overnighter or weekend stay though!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, Front Office Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Alanna199
Many thanks indeed for your fantastic review of your recent visit. As you have said, we recently relaunched The Ivy with gorgeous new decor and a fantastic new menu. It is wonderful to receive such great feedback so soon after the re-launch. This is extremely encouraging for the team.
I hope you will become a regular visitor to The Ivy and will spread the word!
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunboyne
8.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,432 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
16.0 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.9 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Property: Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Address: Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Dunboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa, nestled in 21 acres of lush green Meath countryside, just 18 km from Dublin City Centre and 20 km from Dublin Airport. With 145 large, comfortable rooms including 2 exceptional Junior Suites and the impressive Presidential Suite on the top floor of the hotel. Seoid, meaning jewel in Irish, is the polished and sparkling gem of a spa at Dunboyne Castle Hotel. This gorgeous spa, where you can unwind in the crystal steam room, inhale the scents of the herb sauna and relax in the heat of the laconium, take a mud treatment in the magnificently tiled Rasul, or enjoy the fresh cool air from the comfort of the warm bubbles of the outdoor hot tub. The Ivy Restaurant’s menus have been developed with culinary awareness, balance and are constantly being updated with the latest innovations utilising the finest seasonal products. It is this culinary vision that drove the team to win the coveted 2 AA Rosettes from 2013 to date. Private events are a speciality at Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa with a choice of spaces from the carefully restored original Georgian house to the modern extension. With a total of 12,000 square feet of meeting space and 21 acres of gardens, perfect for team building exercises. In addition to its state of the art facilities, handsomely renovated Georgian architecture and luxurious Seoid Spa, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa sits at the heart of Ireland’s heritage capital and makes an incomparable base from which to explore the nearby sites of Trim Castle, the Hill of Tara or majestic Newgrange and the Brú na Bóinne UNESCO World Heritage Site. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa – contemporary comfort and sleek style in the historic heart of Meath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Dunboyne
Dunboyne Castle Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing