We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Lunch at The Sadlier Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Afternoon Lunch at The Sadlier Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We decided to visit Dunboyne Castle Hotle as we were in the area for some lunch. We arrived and placed our order for 2 burgers - Beef and Cajun Chicken. The beef was requested to be
"well done". After 35 minutes and no sign of our food we asked if it would be much longer. We were advised that as we requested "well done" there was a 30 minute wait. This was not advised at time of ordering and if we were maybe we would have ordered something quicker.
However the wait was well worth it and when we placed an order for coffee's these were complimentary, and excellent they were.
So all in all a really enjoyable lunch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_McN_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear J_McN_2012
Thank you very much for your feedback following your visit to us for lunch. I am very sorry regarding the delay with the burger ordered ; it would be typical for burgers to take longer than other food items, particularly if it was requested as well done, however this should have been advised to you upon ordering. I am delighted however that the meal was enjoyable when it arrived and that our team offered complimentary coffees as a gesture of goodwill.
I do hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    428
    193
    105
    55
See reviews for
248
701
43
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay last weekend. We nearly feel it is our second home at this stage. Front of house stage accommodated our early arrival and once again the meal in the restaurant was top class. Spa was very quiet apart from a few hen parties.

Our stay on Dunboyne was MADE once again by the brilliant entertainment. Really have to complement the Saturday 'entertainer' Joe. He is such fun and really brings life and soul to the bar.WOW

See you soon Dunboyne. Thanks again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Spangers
Sincere thanks for coming to visit us once again, I am thrilled to read your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate you returning to us, and thank you for your great feedback on the entertainment in the Sadlier Bar.
Please come and see us again soon!
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A top notch hotel, from the rooms to the food and service. Beautiful grounds, big rooms( ESP. for Ireland), which appear to have been updated recently, very clean and well appointed. Overall, service was prompt and friendly, a few minor exceptions, but that would be quibbling. Best hotel we stayed in in Ireland, of 5 total. Would definitely stay here, again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tom m
Many thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that we were the best hotel you visited while in Ireland and that everything was to your satisfaction.
I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed overnight in Dunboyne Castle Hotel, is was really wonderful. The grounds and reception area's decor were lovely. Our room was spacious and well kept, with lovely artwork - 'The Singing Butler' by Jack Vettriano, my favourite print was on the wall. The staff were friendly, efficient and extremely well trained. Dinner and Breakfast were excellent, good variety, quality and piping hot. We went to the monthly C/W dance that was on and it was great ‘Craic’. The trip was excellent value for money. Only a short journey from Dublin, No doubt, we will be back. Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Brid S
Many thanks indeed for your very positive feedback following your recent visit. I am so delighted to read your comments, especially on our team and how well trained and efficient they are. I will pass these great comments on to them, they will be delighted.
Please come and see us again soon.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at this hotel for soup and coffee on the way home from blanchardstown shopping centre. Nice bar with comfortable seating . Nice soup and fresh bread selection .Coffee very good and friendly service .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kildub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Kildub
Thank you very much for calling in for some lunch on your way home from a shopping trip - I'm delighted you enjoyed both the food and service.
Hopefully you will come back regularly and perhaps for an overnight stay sometime!
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

They were very accomodating. We had no problem checking in early as we arrived in the a.m. from the U.S. We enjoyed room service and the Irish breakfast included with our stay was wonderful (I skipped the black pudding--not for me). We spent most of our time visiting Dublin so we did not take advantage of all the hotel had to offer but it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Susan T
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. I am delighted to see that we were able to accommodate your early arrival, which we always will do should we have rooms available.
Hopefully if you come back to Ireland in the future you will return and experience all of the facilities which we have to offer.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

On 6th April 2013 my wife & I attended a wedding in the Castle. From the moment we arrived at the Reception desk the service was excellent. The room we stayed overnight was spotless and well laid out. The staff were without doubt the most obliging we have ever encountered. The meal at the wedding reception was of a very high standard, served by friendly staff.
Before we left, we completed a comments card. Within 2 or 3 days we received a letter from Dunboyne Castle thanking us for our kind comments. That was a first. Take a well earned now Dunboyne Castle, see you all again very shortly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear jtbreslin
Sincere thank you for your extremely kind review of your recent stay with us. I am so happy to see that you enjyed your visit and the wedding you attended. Your comments are extremely encouraging to hear.
We do reply to every comment card we receive, as we feel it is important to acknowledge the effort it took for guests' to offer their feedback, which is extremely beneficial to us in always striving to improve the level of service which we offer,
Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunboyne
4.1 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
14.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
8.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
11.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
16.0 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Property: Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Address: Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Dunboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa, nestled in 21 acres of lush green Meath countryside, just 18 km from Dublin City Centre and 20 km from Dublin Airport. With 145 large, comfortable rooms including 2 exceptional Junior Suites and the impressive Presidential Suite on the top floor of the hotel. Seoid, meaning jewel in Irish, is the polished and sparkling gem of a spa at Dunboyne Castle Hotel. This gorgeous spa, where you can unwind in the crystal steam room, inhale the scents of the herb sauna and relax in the heat of the laconium, take a mud treatment in the magnificently tiled Rasul, or enjoy the fresh cool air from the comfort of the warm bubbles of the outdoor hot tub. The Ivy Restaurant’s menus have been developed with culinary awareness, balance and are constantly being updated with the latest innovations utilising the finest seasonal products. It is this culinary vision that drove the team to win the coveted 2 AA Rosettes from 2013 to date. Private events are a speciality at Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa with a choice of spaces from the carefully restored original Georgian house to the modern extension. With a total of 12,000 square feet of meeting space and 21 acres of gardens, perfect for team building exercises. In addition to its state of the art facilities, handsomely renovated Georgian architecture and luxurious Seoid Spa, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa sits at the heart of Ireland’s heritage capital and makes an incomparable base from which to explore the nearby sites of Trim Castle, the Hill of Tara or majestic Newgrange and the Brú na Bóinne UNESCO World Heritage Site. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa – contemporary comfort and sleek style in the historic heart of Meath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Dunboyne
Dunboyne Castle Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing