We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from Dunboyne castle, Very impressive hotel. There was a function on and did not interfere with main hotel what so ever. Meal in restaurant was good value for a early bird during the week. Rooms were clean, good shower. Need to review their TVs as dodgy signal. Issue with phone reception in parts of hotel. Cant fault it one bit. Good well presented breakfast

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hightower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your great feedback following your recent visit. I'm delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I have noted your comments on the TV and also the phone signal. Please come back and visit us again very soon.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    455
    206
    108
    57
See reviews for
268
739
46
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had an amazing 2 night stay. Food was beautiful, our suite was stunning. staff very friendly.The grounds of the hotel are very well maintain and lovely to walk around. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Sincere thank you for your wonderful review. It is so encouraging to receive such positive feedback. I will pass your lovely comments on to the team and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We got a deal for this hotel which included B&B and an evening meal and at the time it suited us perfectly as I was in the third trimester of my pregnancy and we didnt want to travel too far outside Dublin. The hotel itself is very nicely decorated and the whole layout is very impressive. The room was spacious, spotless and well equipped and the shower was nice and powerful. The leisure/spa facilities were also very good. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and the service also very good. Staff, in general, were very courteous and helpful.
The standard of the breakfast was also quite high.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a nice spa break.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Sincere thanks for your very nice review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and the location was so convenient for you. I hope the rest of your pregnancy went well, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I wrote a review for this hotel after staying 18/19 oct & am wondering why it wasn't published? Was it because I mentioned that my daughter became ill after eating in restaurant?
This is not a review - just a query!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasperdog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments. Please note that we have no control over reviews that are published, this is down to Tripadvisor.
We have no record of any such report being made to management on October 18th or 19th ; had this been done we could have certainly investigated the issue at the time.
If you would like to contact me to discuss this matter please do so - my email address is ediaz@dunboynecastlehotel.com.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My Fiance booked a surprise weekend for us at this hotel to celebrate our engagement. I have to say that although the hotel was very busy, the service was great.The package we had was 2 nights b&b with 1 dinner costing 280e. Which I think is great value for a hotel of this standard. Our room was also upgraded to a stunning corner suite for free upon request and management sent a little plate of chocolates and strawberries to our room as congratulations.

The dinner was delicious. We chose to have fillet steak as our main for a 5e supplement each and they were cooked to perfection. We also received a complimentary glass of champagne with our desserts when our waitress heard our news, which we thought was a lovely gesture. especially as the chef took time to write congratulations on our plates with chocolate sauce during a very busy service.

A stunning hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The only thing I didn't like about it was the bar area on the ground floor. It wasn't cosy enough for us, but we found a great pub just down the road so it wasn't really a problem.

I would recommend a stay here to anyone, beautiful hotel with thoughtful and extremely efficient staff. I can't thank them enough.

Room Tip: When you are booking, ask for the possibility for an upgrade if the hotel is not busy. Then call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Roisin,
Many thanks for your fabulous review and many congratulations on your recent engagement! I'm delighted that we could play a small part in making your celebrations special.
We do try and go the extra mile, particularly when an occasion is being celebrated, therefore I'm delighted to read your comments.
Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

3 Friends and I stayed In Dunboyne Castle Hotel for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast rate! Lovely Hotel, nice and spacious! Great bedrooms. Restaurant extremley busy only available slot for dinner was 9pm. Service was slow, think they may have taken on more that they could cater for in the Restaurant! However food was great. Had quite a delay checking in and out due to Wedding Guests in the queue before us! Spa super. Bar very expensive!! Hotel should have a rethink with regard to this!! However beautiful cosy couches to chill and relax while enjoying the expensive drink!! Will be back and would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am delighted to read your lovely comments following your recent stay. It is very encouraging to read such positive feedback.
Regarding the slow service in the restaurant, please accept our apologies for this - I do hope it did not impact on your evening too much. I will discuss this with our Restaurant Manager.
Regarding bar prices, we believe our pricing is in line with other 4 star hotels in our area.
Again many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, and I am delighted to see that you are looking forward to coming back again soon.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was a great hotel to stay at, spotlessly clean, quiet rooms but busy enough bar to create an atmosphere. We ate at the restaurant one day which was great. Breakfast is also good with a wide range to pick from. This is a bit remote from Dublin which is about 40 euros by taxi, or an hour by bus 6 to 10 euros), I tried both during the stay. Rooms are pretty spacious and comfortable although there is a lack of a plug socket near the bed for charging a phone. Overall this is a great spot, the grounds are calm and the local village has a few good pubs for a beer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ham382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabetDiaz, General Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for your constructive review following your recent stay. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit and also the village of Dunboyne.
I have noted your comments regarding the sockets near the bed and I will be discussing this with our Maintenance Team.
Again thank you very much for your great comments and I hope you will come and visit us again very soon.
Kind regards
Elisabet Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunboyne
8.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,470 reviews
14.9 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
16.0 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
14.9 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Property: Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Address: Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Dunboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa, nestled in 21 acres of lush green Meath countryside, just 18 km from Dublin City Centre and 20 km from Dublin Airport. With 145 large, comfortable rooms including 2 exceptional Junior Suites and the impressive Presidential Suite on the top floor of the hotel. Seoid, meaning jewel in Irish, is the polished and sparkling gem of a spa at Dunboyne Castle Hotel. This gorgeous spa, where you can unwind in the crystal steam room, inhale the scents of the herb sauna and relax in the heat of the laconium, take a mud treatment in the magnificently tiled Rasul, or enjoy the fresh cool air from the comfort of the warm bubbles of the outdoor hot tub. The Ivy Restaurant’s menus have been developed with culinary awareness, balance and are constantly being updated with the latest innovations utilising the finest seasonal products. It is this culinary vision that drove the team to win the coveted 2 AA Rosettes from 2013 to date. Private events are a speciality at Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa with a choice of spaces from the carefully restored original Georgian house to the modern extension. With a total of 12,000 square feet of meeting space and 21 acres of gardens, perfect for team building exercises. In addition to its state of the art facilities, handsomely renovated Georgian architecture and luxurious Seoid Spa, Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa sits at the heart of Ireland’s heritage capital and makes an incomparable base from which to explore the nearby sites of Trim Castle, the Hill of Tara or majestic Newgrange and the Brú na Bóinne UNESCO World Heritage Site. Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa – contemporary comfort and sleek style in the historic heart of Meath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Dunboyne
Dunboyne Castle Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing