We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antika

Antika
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Stari Grad
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: House of food
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cute Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We visited Antika based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Antika is located in one of the many back alleys of Stari Grad. There is outside seating in the alleys, inside seating and also a terrace upstairs. I thought it was a really nice place, great atmosphere and a relaxing place to just sit and chill for a time. We had cycled to Stari Grad from Jelsa so we were in dire need of a drink and some food. We ordered the fresh lemonade and the olive and feta bruschetta which was really tasty. If we had been staying closer, it would have been nice to have had dinner there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    77
    26
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stari Grad, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food with a wide menu variety, well prepared and presented.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Charming room, may dine either outside, the veranda, or main floor. Staff courteous, credit cards accepted here

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice. We went back a second time because the first meal that we had was so good. However, the second time we went, my husband's meal was very disappointing. He had the bruschetta to start which he found to be tasteless and a chicken dish for his main which was very dry. I notice that another reviewer was not impressed with the bruschetta, so maybe a starter to avoid.
The first time we went, the restaurant was very quiet but the second time it was very busy so we wondered if this had anything to do with the fact that the food was not so good on this occasion.
I have to say that my second meal was very tasty and my husband was disappointed that he was not able to have the special menu like me. This was because there was only one dish per course on the specials menu and unfortunately he didn't like the starter. the owner refused his request to choose an alternative starter.
My husband did let the owner know that the food was not good and she offered him some alternative food/desert and schnapps on the house. He didn't take her up on her offer but she did not charge for his meal.
The first meal we both had was five star but the second meal only two star because of lack of willingness to offer an alternative starter with the special and my husbands subsequent choice of meal being so disappointing. Therefore I have rated our overall experience as only average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacq45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In love in Antika..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Antika what to say more..we had been visiting in mid April,the food was of exceptional quality with local fresh ingredients being the order of the day and presentation matching the ingredients and the flavours were sensational. The table service was discrete and not rushed at all and it was a very pleasent dining experience with excellent food and wine,the service was top shelf and the chef was most welcoming so we sat inside "The house of food" we finished our monkfish in vine sauce after what we got best dessert we ever had:was mix of chocolate,banana&mint icy sorbet..absolutely heaven.Other restaurants should take note of this establishment because it truly sets a high benchmark in every respect.
We will be definetley see u again next year!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arsene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good treat on Hvar Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We knew there would be wine tasting in Stari Grad, the opposite side of Hvar town on the Hvar Island so we drove there. Just at the point when we felt disappointed after we knew that wine stores were only opened in evenings, we accidentally found this restaurant in an antique alley. Absolutely no regrets of going there: the grilled tuna was juicy and the sauce was good. Love the way they made the surface grilled and the inner meat a bit raw. The frutti di mare and the octopus salad were very delicious too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrPercyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antika also viewed

Stari Grad, Hvar Island
Stari Grad, Hvar Island
 
Stari Grad, Hvar Island
 

Been to Antika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing