We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valamar Club Tamaris
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tar
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It was indeed great vacation thanks to this beautiful hotel!
Peaceful place for family trip. A lots of facilities for kids. Really nice service. Territory around the hotel gives you an opportunity to have marvelous promenade after delicious dinner.
The only thing that needs to be modified in my point of view is wifi coverage.
Thanks a lot for unforgettable vacation :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeLebeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comment. It is a great honour for all Valamar Club Tamaris staff to read that we have fulfilled your expectations. It makes us proud and gives us motivation to develop our service on even higher level.
We are really sorry that WIFI was not on the desired level, but we are glad to inform you that for next summer we will have WIFI through all hotel.
In hope that you will visit us again, we wish you all the best.
Valamar Club Tamaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    102
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
201
75
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent 8 days in this hotel in August 2013 in the Casa Palma brand new grand family apartment. Our twin boys were 7 years olda last summer. To summarize: I highly recommend the place for anyone with kids.

A few insights: this hotel complex lays a small peninsula and consists of several parts with ona rather wide price scale. Accordingly, you can find on the complex law cost, basic apartments as well as stand alone, private villas all under the Valamar brand but different names. Our selection of the Casa Palma apartment was perfect - within the complex this block is in a quite part, surrounded by pine trees. The building and the furniture was indeed brand new, spotless. The apartment was very spacious for us (we were 4), two spacious bathrooms, terrace, separate sleeping room for the kids and a "bedsitter". Aircom worked perfectly. The outdoor pools are great - our kids prefer freshwater to the sea so the large, clean activity pools were used heavily by them. The beach is in a few meters away - given that this is a small peninsula (you can go around the coastline within c. 40 mins), you should be able to find a spot to your liking - there is the peninsula end with the opean sea as well as more quiet, secluded parts. The beach is in fact pebbly - there si a small sandy part but that is artificial and very small so do not count on that.

We went by car and this made a very good holiday - every day we toured the surrounding area which is very nice indeed (Porec, Pula, Novigrad, Rovinj) - the hotel's location is very good from that perspective as well.

Now one "negative" remark: thi is a huge hotel complex with an immense volume of guests. So when you will have your meals be preared for a huge crowed - there is no problem with getting meals, it is just that it won'n be an intimate holiday feeling when you are in the restaurant. The food is ok, a wide selection - although it could be somehow more varied. So, to sum up as far as Casa Palma is concerned I highly recommend the place for families with younger kids.

Room Tip: 1st floor parkview (overlooking the park at side of the building and NOT the parking area) - from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor. It is a real pleasure to read such a positive review about our Casa Palma. We are all very happy that you’ve noticed all efforts that we put in to make our guests satisfied.
For your next visit let me recommend you a dinner in restaurant Valeta or Taverna where you can have a tasty menu in change for dinner in main restaurant.
Kind regards,
Valamar Club Tamaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms though not well equipped for a family.
A little too far from anywhere which may also be considered as an advantage.

The kids loved it.

The maintenance level was a little low and the service was not too friendly as we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avital H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Avital,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period. I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.
I'll use this opportunity to thank you once again and invite you to visit us again next year.
Sincerely yours,
Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varadero, Cuba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Positive:
Kids Club - the staff there was absolutely amazing, our kids loved it. If we come back this will be one of the top reasons.
Resourt Layout - Very spacious and family friendly, resort is fenced so kids feel safe. Indoor playground and activities for rainy days. Large outdoor playground, lots of options for kids, nice activity pool. Fitness room is great.
Staff - very friendly and attentive.

Could be better:
Food was OK but a bit bland, would have expected a bit more for a 4* resort. No salmon available for breakfast. No diet coke available during the meals. Long queues for the grill, since they only place the meat there when you arrive, and then you stand around for 5 minutes until it is done. Would be nice if chef could adapt to demand and place stuff on grill autonomously.
Animation - very noisy and intrusive. Guests at the activity pool in the late season consisted of families with small children, however the animation team attempted to force a techno party spring break on us. Please adapt animation program and volume to match the season and guest profile.

Negative:
Cleanliness of pool area - garbage and glasses/cups (partially from the previous day) were not collected. By the afternoon, kids were running slalom between coffee cups, cocktail glasses, baby diapers and other junk.
This item has already been mentioned several times in the reviews here, and the management response always promised to "improve staff training" - obviously it did not work!!!
How hard can it be to have someone walk around the pool every two hours and collect the garbage/dishes?

Overall I would still recommend this hotel, however I hope my comments help to improve further.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Max,
on behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment. In the case of the food/drinks and pool area with animation we will do our best to develop our the quality up to your total satisfaction. I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.
Sincerely yours,
Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just came back from our 2-week stay at the Valamar Club Tamaris and are overall satisfied with our stay. We had the all-inclusive package and stayed in a family suite in a side complex.
Points to consider are:
Service: Very good. Very nice and cordial employees, especially with children. Valamar is a rather big chain of hotels in Crotia and you see that it is well managed and the employees are well trained. Nearly everyone speaks Italian, German or English.
Facilities: We did not try everything, but what we used was in good condition. Although the complex is not the newest, the management does a good job in keeping everything in excellent shape. Everything extremely clean (pools, rooms, etc.)
Beach: That is the weak point. The water is not really crystal clear and the beach is quite small - besides you have to share it with the camping site
Restaurants: Main restaurant very good and good variety of food - after one week you are getting a bit bored with the food, but I guess that is normal. The Istrian restaurant was nothing special - we did not try the fish restaurant
Pool Bar: That was the second weak point. Selection of drinks rather poor - quality as well (although not part of the all-inclusive package). No snacks available.
Kid's Club: Very good. Starts already with babies until 17 years - offerings for everyone and nice employees.

Overall a recommendation, although beach and sea were under our expectations.

Room Tip: Main building is rather noisy in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus_Lombardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Markus,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. We took this really seriously and we have immediately added the point into our training-program in order to develop our service quality and courtesy up to your total satisfaction.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.
Looking forward to meet you again.
Sincerely yours
Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Brilliant situation, friendly and extremely competent staff, splendid food, lots of activities, very good parking facilities, kids clubs, mountain bikes at disposal, this "villa" formula, which includes air conditionning, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathroooms, a private terrace, sat.TV, fridge, kitchen, internet access, etc. is highly recommandable ! A superb hotel for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Mr. HenriE77,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our villas. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We'll do our best in trying to follow the same route further on, by continuosly improving ourself.
I'll use this opportunity to thank you once again and invite you to visit us again next year.
Sincerely yours,
Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very big place with 3 main hotel complexes. Rooms are rather small but still ok. Nice swimming pools. Food in restaurant is very good but restaurant is quite crowdy in the high season. Our son went to the Maro club and he really liked it (big thanks to the animators in the club!!) even when he did not speak the languages of the other children (son is Dutch speaking). Overall, recommendable place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkinkela, General Manager at Valamar Club Tamaris, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Bart,

thank you for being our dear guest, for your fabulous words and for choosing our Valamar Club Tamaris for your vacation. We are pleased that you enjoy our rich buffet our swimming pools and our Maro Club.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations.

With the hope to see you soon, kind regards.

Dario Kinkela
General Manager
Valamar Club Tamaris
Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tar
6.5 mi away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
10.5 mi away
Resort Belvedere
Resort Belvedere
#1 of 7 in Vrsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
7.0 mi away
All Inclusive Hotel Laguna Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aminess Maestral Hotel
Aminess Maestral Hotel
#1 of 14 in Novigrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Valamar Isabella Hotel
1.2 mi away
Aminess Laguna Hotel
Aminess Laguna Hotel
#2 of 14 in Novigrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Tamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Tamaris

Property: Valamar Club Tamaris
Address: Lanterna 6, Tar 52465, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Tar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Club Tamaris 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading resort in Croatia for families, active holidays and entertainment The award winning Valamar Tamaris Resort is located within the beautiful and green Lanterna peninsula, featuring a well maintained park with mature oak and fir trees together with Mediterranean shrubs that line the meandering pedestrian walkways and well kept beaches. The whole resort has a local character and a family friendly feel, with fantastic entertainment programs for children within the Maro Club and a great choice of activities for adults. It is ideal not just for families with children, but also for adults who enjoy sports and active holidays. Accommodation choice within the Valamar Tamaris Resort is varied: Club Hotel Tamaris, Casa Palma exclusive apartments, family rooms in Casa Agava, villas and luxury villas, including a unique and recently renovated villa within an old lighthouse. All guests, regardless of their chosen accommodation can use the wealth of facilities and services of the resort - excellent restaurants, swimming pools, tennis courts, other sport facilities, as well as any of the entertainment programs for children or adults. The resort is especially proud of its enthusiastic, friendly, helpful and highly praised staff who are dedicated to helping each and every resort guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Club Tamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Tamaris Hotel Tar
Valamar Hotel Porec
Valamar Hotel Tamaris
Valamar Club Tamaris Croatia/Tar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing